Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
102
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

These compilations are always worth a glance, as re-releases often on offer at a bargain price, this, only £3.00 currently on
this site.
Though it is probable that most collectors will almost certainly have all that can be found on-board spread between several
Compilations such as this or indeed upon individual artist's albums or singles, having so many favourites to play on just the
two discs is often a bonus in listening-pleasure terms.
Glancing through the track listings there are one or two numbers released by U.S artists that were indeed a hit for them on
home territory but here in the U.K were covered by artists over this side of the Atlantic and indeed hits for them.
Those that bought many of these tracks originally as singles (vinyl) back then will also know that some of the songs were indeed
found on the B-Side of the release.
However, overall, this is a worthy collectable at this bargain price as a way of hearing many superb hits on the one collection
with numbers such as (on disc one) - 'Only The Lonely' - 'Roy Orbison'......'Your'e Sixteen' - 'Johnny Burnette'.......'I'm Sorry' -
'Brenda Lee'......and......'He'll Have To Go' - 'Jim Reeves' (and on disc two) - 'Are You Lonesome Tonight' - 'Elvis' (which when
released raised a few eyebrows, seemed a change in style for the 'King' however it only went to prove he was equally as good
singing love-songs and ballads as was he with 'Rock')......'Please Help Me I'm Falling' - 'Hank Locklin'......'Put Your Head On My
Shoulder' - 'Paul Anka'......and.....'Tell Laura I Love Her' - 'Ricky Valance'........just a small sample of the great tracks that can be
found upon this 2-Disc Collection.
With many great memories from the late 50's and early 60's its surely has to be worthy of a glance........
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2011
GREAT SELECTION OF OLDIES FROM LATE 50S - 1960 EVERY ONE A TOP 10 HIT GREAT SOUND QUALITY
YOU HAVE HEARD THEM ALL BEFORE ON OTHER COLLECTIONS ;BUT THIS A WELL PUT TOGETHER ALBUM
50 GREAT TRACKS ALL ORIGINAL AND AT A GREAT PRICE'SO IF YOU LIKE THIS ERA OF MUSIC THIS IS A MUST
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2014
The songs and music of these two CDs are so enjoyable. I just love the music of this era. It is so relaxing and takes me back to my teenage years. The selection of tunes is terrific. There are some "B-side" songs but they are also very enjoyable. Makes me feel young again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
In Springsteen's 'Thunder Road' he makes a reference to "Roy Orbison singing for the lonely, hey that's me and I want you only..." If Bruce knew you could pick this CD up at Sainsbury's for an embarrassing £3 then he could buy a copy for everyone in New Jersey. I agree with the earlier reviewer - these melodies will endure for centuries while much of today's corporatist hogwash will fade by next decade. With Presley, Eddie Cochrane, Buddy Holly, Gene Vincent, Paul Anka and many more classics you really can't go wrong. A selection of sweet mood changers that really does make you thank your parents for inventing the 50s/60s. Teenagers of all generations always had their heartbreaks and growing pains but with a soundtrack of heartfelt honesty to cry your eyes out to you know your parents lived in a genuine, less cynical era - and had something special. Three steps to heaven!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
This cd really cheered me up, great compilation of songs, would recommend to anyone, especially like me ,getting on in years

i could remember all the words, not like the modern songs, i bet in 30years time they will not remember words to todays songs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
Good quality reproduction. Good value too. Would deserve 4 or 5 stars if there were fewer duplicates in this series of CDs.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2014
This album made up of 50s and 60s hits is a breath of fresh air. Packed with nostalgia and all tracks are the original hits by the original artistes, none of those re-recordings.

There are a lot of compilations out there with this type of music but this album stands out as it is well put together and the sound quality is brilliant.

It really does tick all the boxes for me and at a very low price, an autorip thrown in for free and even free p&p this is well worth a few clicks, money well spent and a real treasure.
This album will be played often.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
Loved this cd brought tears to my eyes but the songs where beautiful,would recommed it to any one wish there where more cds like this.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
These 'Petticoats ' cd are really good listening.So good to hear the weepies and the ones we liked to smooch to when we were younger.Nostalgia reigns !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
Very good CD's not too many repeats which makes it good as not often do we get the late fifties and early sixties together would definately recommend this product to early seventy year olds as the mixture suits this age group
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)