Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
22
The London American Story 1960
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 17 February 2016
very good a few duff tracks but thats to expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2014
Another gem in the 'London/American' Music-Series well worth a glance, as mentioned before there are
one or two flip-sides included within the track-listings.
These were truly the songs we were buying back then, the American-Artists were very much a part of the
chart-scene in 1960, though it's perhaps fair to say the series is missing one or two obvious omissions
such as 'The King' quibbles aside there really is a hat-full of great memories to be found on-board.
I'll highlight a few from each of the two discs to give an indication as to what can be found on the play-list
....on disc one........'Eddie Cochran' --'Hallelujah I Love Her So'........'The Everly Brothers' --'Let it be Me'
....'Duane Eddy' --'Movin' 'a' Groovin'........'Jan and Dean' --'Clementine'........'Billy Bland' --'Let the Little
Girl Dance'.......'Eddie Cochran' --'Three Steps To Heaven'........'The Hollywood Argyles' --'Alley-Oop'.....
and........'Roy Orbison' --'Only The Lonely'........just a few tracks of the tracks that may trigger a memory or
two for many........on disc two........'Gary Miles' --'Look For A Star'........'Duane Eddy' --'Because They're
Young'........''Johnny Burnette' --'Dreamin'........'Johnny and the Hurricanes' --'Rocking Goose' (one of the
first records i ever bought)........'The Drifters' --'Save The Last Dance For Me'........and.......'The Venturers'
--'Parfidia'.......again just a few of the great sounds of 1960 to be found on disc two...............i have quite
simply just pinpointed half a dozen or so of the tracks that can be found on-board disc two.
Though i have many of the track listing on different compilations or indeed artist albums the play list on-board
is different which freshens things up some, though i have to say many numbers on-board are not instantly
recognisable, though when playing them many will remember the numbers from that time.
Although i've owned this and the others reviewed today probably from the early days of re-lease until now
i'd not really listened to them......put that right now..........this one can be bought for just £4.50 currently on
the Amazon site..............if you like the tracks i've listed check out the full play-list on it's Amazon page.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2011
Overall, I really liked this set. The track selection is imaginative with a good mix of big hits, smaller hits and rarities. As with all these "out of copyright" releases you have to accept that they are not usually sourced from the original master tapes but only "Where Or When" by Dion and the Belmonts betrays its vinyl origins.

I do have a couple of niggles... let's face it I wouldn't be the miserable old curmudgeon that I am if I didn't have a couple of niggles!

This is supposed to be tracks released on the London American record label in 1960 but two of the tracks are not. "Hot Rod Lincoln" by Johnny Bond was not released in this country because of the problems of advertising (it mentions Lincolns, Cadillacs etc) so Mr Bond re-recorded the song for the UK market as "Hot Road Jalopy". This CD has the original US version.

Second niggle? Shirley & Lee's "Let The Good Times Roll" is the original 1956 Aladdin version not the 1960 Warwick re-recording that was released on London.

As I said, only little niggles and - to be fair - the versions used are superior to the ones that should have been included (IMHO).
11 Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2011
There are some who'd say rock'n'roll was dead by the end of the `50's but this still remains a pretty strong set right through. However very little "traditional" rock'n'roll was charting. The trio of original rockers, Domino, Berry and Lee Lewis were still producing strong material as can be heard in this set but little of it was seeing chart action - the stone classic "Walkin` to New Orleans" only got to 19 in the UK but did reach 6 in the US. Eddie Cochran seemed to be moving on from basic rock to both more poppy and also more complex material but he was another to leave us, in the month of April and on the A4 near Chippenham, Wilts.

I asked in my review for the `59 set, was another big name to emerge? I didn't answer the question but judged by the admittedly limited, evidence of that set, the answer was no. But in 1960 one did. About half way down the track listing you'll see "Only the Lonely" from the other guy with glasses, and black ones this time. I don't think I appreciated quite how sensational Roy Orbison was at the time but it's certainly crept up on me over the years.

Another "biggie" appears in this set and that's Charlie Rich though Charlie is one I feel, who never quite realised his potential even in his relatively successful years. Still he left us plenty of great music.

Elsewhere in the set we get some good instrumentals from Duane Eddy (don't know if they used the right versions), Johnny & the Hurricanes (who did appear in `59) and the Ventures (would we have had surf without them?). We get a touch of R&B cum soul from Shirley & Lee with "Let the Good Times Roll". We get the second coming of Johnny Burnette, this time as a fairly tough pop star rather than a rockabilly pioneer. We even get some Chicago R&B in "My Babe".

But we also get Bobby Vee, Brian Hyland, Johnny Tillotson and Anita Kerr (Anita Kerr?). Is this the way things were going? It's possible that the window London American had on America was beginning to be too constrictive. There was a lot happening in the US of A that we weren't seeing (or actually, hearing). In particular it's unfortunate that London American didn't have distribution rights to King/Federal and Duke/Peacock or we would had a better feeling for the sort of music James Brown and Bobby Bland were producing and how R&B was turning into soul.

Thankfully in this set we do also get the Hollywood Argyles and "Alley-Oop", a record which had the spirit of rock'n'roll even if it wasn't rock'n'roll as we know it!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2013
Five CD double albums "The London American Story" 1957-1961 were ordered 18/04, with estimated delivery (to a UK address) on four, given as 25/04 to 26/04. These arrived in two packages - one from Discs4all, the other from Amazon UK on 23/04. The fifth, which had had a warning "may require two extra days", arrived from Amazon EU on 25/04. All well within estimate - excellent service from the suppliers.

Sadly there proved to be a defect on 1957 Disc 2, where there is a muffled "finger snap" like sound, on tracks 13-25, although there is no visible mark on the surface of the disc. A replacement arrived the day following my reporting the fault. Amazon had invoked Premier Delivery, although the originals were ordered with free postage. Excellent response.

See full review under The London American Story 1958.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2012
From the past some great songs. The early rock & roll was dominated by the London American label & this set shows why. Every single track enjoyable & great to remember those wonderful days of yester year.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 April 2013
as in others i have bought this is fantastic and remind me of how great the music of the sixty' was and still is enjoy listern when beat and music was king
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2013
This is another great compilation from this series of CD's. All the tracks are original recordings and the quality is excellent,brings back lots of good memories from this era of popular music and a must for anyone who wishes to get these tracks in their collection.The supplier provided an excellent service and I am delighted with my purchase, unbelievable value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2015
There are some absolute classics in this collection with only a couple of duff tunes (e.g. Mr Custer by Larry Verne). 1960 and 1961 were my two favourite years in the early 60's and they defined my teen years. A wonderful purchase, not to be missed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2011
If you collect London American or oldies this is for you
Two cd sides packed with goodies from London's 1960 year catalogue
50 tracks in all, either hits or not so well known stuff, but all good.
Ricky Nelson Eddy Cochran, Dion etc
All well presented with a small booklet of information and at a very small
price. It leaves Ace's year by year issue standing. I can't wait for the next
yearly issues fron One Day Music
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)