Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 June 2016
I wanted a graphics card for my parents. They don't play games but they do wish to view high quality movies on their TV. This does that extremely well (via DVI or HDMI). whilst still allowing for a VGA connection to a computer monitor at the same time.

One word of warning though, if you wish to use this card on a silent running machine? make sure it also has a system fan to prevent overheating, as this uses (I think its called a heat sync) instead of a fan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2017
Nice little graphics card. Not powerful enough to handle any meaty games, but made a huge difference to the day to day performance on my media player PC. Small issue using HDMI on a Sharp Aquos TV, the TV intermittently goes blank as it thinks for some reason the screen resolution is changing. Very frustrating, but that aside have had no issue with these cards on any other device.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2015
Great! i can play intense graphic games like need for speed on maximum settings without any lag at all, gta 4 can also be played at lower graphics but no lag.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2017
Great card for productivity use in a office environment, the card is fanless so it will last forever without a fan to get clogged and siezed up. I install these for my clients in a financial company who regularly use them for viewing spreadsheets on dual monitors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
Needed a silent card for a PC build & this came up as the cheapest I could find. Simple installation & does the job I needed perfectly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2016
Ideal and cheap upgrade to windows 10. Make sure though you get the right card for your pc
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2015
AWESOME AS I BROUGHT FOR DUAL MONITERS AND CAN ALSO PLAY LESS DEMANDING GAMES (TDU2, BURNOUT)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2017
After less than a year of use it does not work anymore.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is the type of card that isn't going to blow you away with pure graphics performance (there are better ones from Nvidia and AMD at a somewhat higher cost)

But it is a cheap way to beef up an older pc that might be struggling with playing back HD video content
If you're updating an older pc maybe a single or even older dual core this card comes into it's own bang per buck wise. If you have onboard graphics then that will certainly be better here, but this isn't meant for playing the latest games (it can manage ok with lower res games a few years ago though) Or if you are happy to drop the settings down (AA is a big performance hit on graphics cards) you can even manage more up to date games at more modest settings (skyrim will play ok on this if you cut down the graphics and draw distance) 1GB of built in ram also frees up system ram if you are using the motherboards built in graphics.

The GPU supports H.264, VC-1, WMV, DivX, MPEG-2 and MPEG-4 HD as well as playback for Blu ray. Even on the single core pc's fitted with this card breathed new life into somewhat dated technology. A lot of users simply do basic tasks but would like to watch media in high def, and without stuttering on frame rates. I've fitted a few of these cards to older pc's and everyone has been very pleased with the improvement for a very modest outlay. The card is low power consumption, has a fanless heatsink so there is no annoying fan noises to distract.

It also adds HDMI, and DVI outputs for various monitors giving you the 3 main connections you might need

A recommended buy for anyone looking for a budget card, just bear in mind more serious gamers will need to look at higher more recent offerings
33 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2012
I have a beloved old studio PC which has been so extensively upgraded in the nine years since I bought it in 2003 that few of the original components still remain. One of those components - the dual screen graphics card - started dying on me last month.

It's a respectable enough machine running Windows XP Pro SP3 with a dual-core 2.4GHz CPU and 3.5GB of DDR2 RAM. It has been customised to run very quietly so a silent graphics card is perfect. I don't use my machine for serious gaming, mainly music production, watching DVDs and occasional video editing.

I am pleasantly surprised how versatile and powerful a GPU one can buy with such a relatively low outlay. This card has three outputs which is surplus to requirement as I only require two monitors. One of the outputs is HDMI which is a welcome step forward as I have long hated fiddling about with the screw-in VGA plugs and their thick, inflexible cables which put such a physical strain on the hardware in a tight spot.

Having physically installed the card (very simple and easy) the PC booted up in Setup mode having detected that I'd been fiddling with its innards, so I just selected "Exit Without Saving" and loaded Windows as normal. It loaded in low-res mode, XP automatically installed its own high-def audio drivers and then prompted me to reboot, which I did.

Easy. Didn't even have to use the CD-ROM.

The increase in performance with BBC iPlayer was unexpectedly dramatic. I have generally been very content with everything but my system has always had a slightly jerky playback with BBC iPlayer particularly on the HD material. The BBC iPlayer files are highly compressed and require a lot of real-time decompression and processing during playback which leads to a lot of frame drops and banding etc. Since the new card has been installed both standard and HD programmes on iPlayer have run as smoothly as a DVD without a glitch.

This card would seem to be the logical choice for the budget-conscious PC builder or anyone upgrading or replacing their older graphics cards. More versatile connectivity, smooth video playback, digital audio output via HDMI and a silent component. I would probably get something more rugged if I spent a lot of time playing games or used this as a video editing computer but this is more than good enough for regular multimedia PC use.
11 Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse