Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
407
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 September 2013
Very different and quite scary in its own way. Captures the obsession of striving for perfection and letting nothing stand in your way
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
I really enjoyed the film but a bit strange in parts . This was bought as a present for my daughter and she really enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
Bought this DVD for my girl friend she likes it, brand new wrapped, great price and it arrived when I was told thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
Good DVD - needed it for an English Language project - quick service and value for money. Arrived well packaged
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
10/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
not bought for me but my girlfriend and yes she likes it I just tolerate it but still worth watching
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2011
I was amazed and mystified by the glowing reviews of what I thought was the worst nominated movie of the year.
A bunch of us - some of them dancers - sat down to watch this film and we were overwhelmed by the avalanche of clichés that came crashing on top of us: the agony of dancing (split nails anyone?), the sacrifices, the wicked pushy mother, the stupid ballerina who can't seem to become a woman, the horny choreographer and - gasp - the agony (yes, more) of performing Swan Lake... The clichés, the clichés.
We howled at the silliness of it all - almost as if it were bad comedy. Roman Polansky tackled the same theme in a far better film back in 1965. Anyone see Repulsion? Dated yes, but still vastly superior to this one.
And yet the Black Turkey received nomination after nomination and Portman won award after award for playing a paranoid and hysterical dancer who... becomes even more paranoid and hysterical. Does that deserve an Oscar? Not in my book, but I imagine that they simply could not resist a 90-minute mad scene.
And as for Aronofsky... Well, I guess he is an acquired taste. He served up a very tasty and promising morsel a few years back: Requiem For A Dream.
And then he gave us The Fountain, The Wrestler and now Black Turkey. I suppose me and many of my friends must be missing something; nevertheless I think I'll pass on his next film. My advice is: spend your money getting a good film like The Fighter or The Kids Are Alright or any other film, actually.
55 Comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Great value, only 1.27 in total! And great movie, with several interpretations of the ending!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2016
Although this film had very good acting in, it was unexpectedly surreal hence the 3/5 rating
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)