Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
140
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 September 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Liked the series so just what I wanted
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
A*
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
Fab series loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2012
9 Years and the the farmer became a man, a superman. The pack and bonus were very good. Good deal
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2011
Smallville Season 10 is the culmination of a 10 year journey which set out to follow the life of a young Clark Kent as he accepts his destiny and becomes Superman. So did Smallville go out with a bang or a whimper?
I for one love the final season of Smallville....whenever you are trying to finish off a story it can be difficult especially with a character as iconic as Superman and with the weight of 10 years of expectation but amazingly it manages to produce an end that is befitting of a superman.
This season really is all about how Clark Kent finally becomes Superman and almost every episodes deals with this acceptance of destiny. The season kicks of where season 9 ended with Clark Kent falling to his apparent death....this episode kicks off the season on the right note, with nods to the past seasons as well as hints for what the future holds. This season has so many memobrable episodes such as Homecoming, the 200th episode that is one of the best episodes have ever produced, other highlights include: Supergirl, Harvest, Abandoned, Luther, Icarus, Fortune (one of the funniset Smallville episodes ever!), Kent and Booster. You can see just by the number of episodes listed just how good the final season was.
However, what could make of break this season was the two part Finale in which we fianlly see Clark Kent embrace his destiny. I believe that this episode is one of the best finales ever produced, it is important to remember that Smallville is more about Clark Kent then Superman and as such this character takes the focus for the majority of the episode and it benifits for it. These episodes also include the return of Lex Luthor and I think that the scenes between him and Clark are perfect. Also, when Clark finally puts on the suit we get to see more Superman action then I'm sure anyone was expected. And the final scene is a perfect way to finsih the story.
Tom Welling has played Clark Kent for 10 years and every season we have seen him grow as and actor and a director and I think that he has managed to bring new life into this character and took him in a truely unique direction. Although, this show wouldn't be what it is/was if it wasn't for the rest of the supporting cast especially Erica Durance who in my mind is the best Lois Lane that the screenhas seen and thanks to her acting she has become just as much of the Smallville story as Clark Kent himself.
Thank you Smallville for 10 great years and for breathing new life into a an inconic character...you will be missed!
0Comment| 59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It has been a long journey, none initially involved believing the series would last ten years. What a tribute to all concerned that the show so caught the imagination, surviving bumpy patches to go from strength to strength!

For the last season the producers have pulled out the stops, with reminders of all that has gone before (opening credits included) and final preparations for the story of Superman as we know it. There is a way to go. Clark Kent remains The Blur, powers restricted because of self-doubt. He has yet to fly. Still to come are the nerdy bespectacled reporter and the instantly recognizable superhero. Then there is arch foe Lex Luthor. He had been killed off. How convincingly to resurrect?

Admittedly not everything works (one episode in particular truly awful), but generally throughout there is much to admire - good scripts, a cast on fine form, gloriously OTT villains, spectacular effects.

Especially enjoyed was the series' 200th (subject of a twenty minute bonus). The Reunion at Smallville High proves a pivotal episode, Clark set on course by somebody most unexpected.

Throughout Green Arrow plays an important role, often with his shirt off. Actor Justin Hartley also impressively directs Ep.19 - Oliver and Clark forced by Zod to engage in gladiatorial combat.

The series pays homage to other television and film renderings. Fans will recall paralysed Christopher Reeve's moving appearances. Now Lois Lane's mother is played by Teri Hatcher, herself Lois in "The New Adventures of Superman". There are even glimpses of the costume featured in "Superman Returns".

From the start Tom Welling has excelled as Clark, caught between two worlds (and two fathers), struggling with inner torments in his quest for a true identity. That eventual discovery proves well worth the wait - the climatic sudden surge of power awesomely dwarfing all that has gone before, a seemingly invincible enemy despatched within seconds. At long last Clark IS Superman, appropriately attired and soaring on high as crowds applaud. John Williams' theme music for the films triumphantly rounds off the series. Great.

Despite occasional wobbles, the series overall has been a triumph. This final season does it proud. It would seem churlish to award less than five stars for the enjoyment given.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2011
One of the best seasons to date, and a true tribute to the superman legacy. Different in a way from the movies with Chris Reeve, mainly because the entire season basically revolves around Clark Kent as the main character, and not superman...
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2012
You are buying this, probably, because like me, you've been watching Smallville from the start of season 1. It has been a brilliant journey. Over the last 10 years we have watched Clark Kent grow from a kid, (well there was the baby Clark too I guess!) to an adult. Now in Season 10 we see Clark become Superman. The only downer, and it is a major one for me, is that it's over! Smallville is done and gone, and that is sad. I would very much like to have seen Tom Welling as Superman in the forthcoming movie reboot along with the Lois of Erica Durence who, like Clark, we have come to love. I watched Smallville with my daughter the first time around as the shows were released (on DVD initially obviously) and recently we watched the whole Smallville Series 1 to 10 almost back to back. It's just as good the second time around and I know you will love this final season which gives closure on Smallville and a new beginning for Superman.

As far as the Blu-Ray version of this Smallville 10 is concerned I really can't fault it. It is region free. Along with Season 9 it has the ability to resume playback from where you last were. Something which was a frustration before. The picture quality is great as is the sound with DTS HD Master 5.1 (English) available on this disc as opposed to only Dolby Digital 5.1 on previous discs.

If you have been following Smallville, they you are going to buy this anyway lets face it! But rest assured you will not be disappointed by this Blu-Ray version.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2013
Series 10 wrapped smallville up nicely, some great episodes culminating in a 2 part finale which I genuinely enjoyed!
Thats the nice bit out of the way, now to reflect.. so so many questions! did we really need to see 10 dragged out series? What was the point in lana lang? Did pete ross just disapear an keep clarks secret then? Why did they get rid of lex luthor? An spoiler alert... why why why did we not see tom welling in the superman outfit? After playing clark kent for 10 years youd think the writers would show him more respect.
Anyway all that aside I enjoyed smallville an the superman theme at the end of the finale always gets the hairs standing
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse