Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
36
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.99+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Clare wrote one song, While, and co-wrote another, One more, both of them excellent. The rest of the album contains tastefully-interpreted covers of songs from diverse sources, illustrating Clare's eclectic musical tastes. Some of them sound more or less how you would expect from Clare, but others may come as a surprise.

I was particularly interested to hear what Clare had done with It's not unusual, the old Tom Jones classic. I've also heard Jackie Trent's much slower cover of that song and I felt that arrangement might suit Clare better. In fact, Clare's interpretation comes somewhere in between pace-wise but adapted for jazz, and it works brilliantly. Because I was looking forward to hearing this track and Clare lived up to my expectations and then some, it is my favorite track here, but there is plenty else to enthuse about.

Clare has included some relatively modern songs, among them being Why (Annie Lennox), Chasing cars and Sing it back, as well as another sixties song, Care of cell 44 (Rod Argent). Among this group of songs, I only recognized Why, but Clare chose these songs well. I may even look for the originals one day.

The remaining songs were around even before I was born, but that's OK because I've learned to love a lot of those songs. Clare is a lot younger than me and she clearly enjoys them too. The oldest of them (The Salley gardens) is now more than a century old, but it's a great song. Love is the sweetest thing (a Ray Noble song from the thirties) is as up-tempo as this album gets. I like Clare best on the slower songs, but a bit of variation here and there never does any harm.

Among the other brilliant tracks here is A nightingale sang in Berkeley Square. The recent revival of interest in Vera Lynn's music may have brought this song to a new audience , although it wasn't included on Vera's chart-topping compilation. Clare's recording is more or less what I expected of her, but apart from confirming her impeccable song selection, I'm glad she recorded it just in case there are fans out there who still don't know this song. The nightingales that inspired the song have long since departed Berkeley Square, but the song is timeless.

Clare has recorded several albums now and this one maintains the very high standard that I have come to expect from her.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2011
We were lucky enough to see Clare live this week in Worcester.Yes she can swing, but wow!! Can she sing modern clasics. Pulling every heart string in the process. Clare sounds fantastic live. We bought the album and it is stunning. Just buy it!! You will not regret it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2011
As the previous reviewer said, this has something for everyone and everything for all those who enjoy great singing. Clare's voice is silky throughout songs from the late 1890s (Down in the Sally Gardens) through to the brilliant and haunting "Chasing Cars". She brings something new to even the best known British classics (We'll gather lilacs is almost certain to bring a tear to your eye)and all periods are well represented here. The arrangements by Grant Windsor are individual and unusual and the backing musicians, including Simon Little, Ben Reynolds and Pee Wee Ellis are brilliant. This is a cd for all times of day - some to enliven you, others to remind you and the originals by Clare, Field and Windsor to intrigue you. Go and buy for yourself and family and friends - it won't sit on your shelves but will be in your cd deck or on your iPod being played.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2011
If you are expecting a c.d. of swing jazz I'm afraid you are in for a disappointment. Britain's "Queen of Swing" (Time Out) has opted for a subtle "in the wee small hours collection". There are only four up-beat songs on this c.d. However, the remaining twelve tracks show off Clare's amazing vocal talent. The collection is British except for William Butler Yates's "The Sally Garden"(Irish) and Moloko's "Sing It Back"(Anglo-Irish). The four up-beat songs are "One More (Baby Be Good To Me)", "It's Not Unusual", "Love is the Sweetest Thing" and "Sing It Back". The first three of these songs swing along nicely and have excellent new arangements by Grant Wilson Clare's piano-organ accompanist, musical arranger and producer. Clare's cover of Moloko's "Swing It Back" was one of the highlights of her "Great British Songbook" tour last year. Her studio recorded version is just wonderful and exciting. Clare herself wrote the tracks or collaborated on "One More(Baby Be Good To Me)" and "Whole(It Isn't Like Me)". These two tracks show that Clare is a very talented songwriter. The track "He Was Beautiful" a cover of the Cleo Laine/John Williams (a lyrical version of Stanly Myers 'Cavatina' from the 1978 film 'The Deer Hunter') is, I suspect, Clare's tribute to the late John Dankworth. Her interpretation of the lyrics is sensitive. She projects a sad longing and gives a beautiful mellow rendition. I must admit I'm no great fan of Noel Coward but I was quite pleasantly suprised by the lovely arrangement of "If Love Were All" which highlights Clare's soft mood vocal. "Care of Cell-44", "Chasing Cars" and "Why" show off both Clare's vocal ability and superb interpretation of lyrics. On these tracks her singing is intimate and sometimes slow as honey and her phrasing projects an optimum effect. " The Sally Garden" Yates poem is set to music by Herbert Hughes. It's one of my favourite poems ...take love easy, as the leaves grow on the tree, but I was young and foolish, which my darling could not agree... Thank you Clare. Just Superb. The last two tracks on the c.d. "A Nightingale Sang In Berkley Square" and "We'll Gather Lilacs" are of course two great British popular music standards. Clare's appealing and distinctive singing voice gives these two songs fresh life. Frank Sinatra recorded these last two songs on his 1962 album "Sinatra Sings Great Songs From Great Britain". Clare has found more great songs and they are on this c.d.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2011
We've always been big fans of Clare and have seen her live several times and love this her latest offering. It's a more random selection of tracks with covers of modern classics than her usual standards selection but she brings so much style to what she does it raised it above the usual.

We love it!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2011
I've been a fan of Clare Teal on her Radio 2 show for some time so when I say this CD had been released I went out and bought it. The selection of songs is eclectic but her voice and the arrangement suit them all. Worth buying if you are a jazz fan or if you just like easy listening music.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2012
Have always liked Clare and have seen her live on a few occassions. This is a lovely CD with a great selection of songs sung with feeling.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
A present for my husband. We really enjoyed it. Ligfhter listening than the others, but great all the same. More pop than jazz.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2012
Having heard Clare Teal sing on Radio 2's mix up day I thought this CD was a must. Its fantastic and very easy to listen too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2011
There is something for everyone on this. Great songs, excellent arrangements all beautifully sung by Clare who is without doubt the best female singer in this country. Every song style is made her own and spans the eras with songs like 'Berkeley Square' to Snow Patrol's 'Chasing Cars', also taking in the beautiful ballads 'Why' and you must hear Clare's rendition of 'He was Beautiful', it brings a tear to anyone's eye. It will also have you bopping away to Moloko's 'Sing it back', 'Love is the sweetest thing' and Tom would be proud of Clare's version of 'it's not unusual'. This cd is a must in any collection for those who expect high quality singing and great songs. Just playing it will make you stop everything to listen to her wonderful voice. Don't miss out on what is the best cd released this year.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)