Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
19
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2012
With Daniel being an archeologist I thought I knew how this story was going to develop. I was so wrong. I now know that I could never be an author because I do not have the creativity to develop a plot which keeps you hooked. The ability to build relationships and characters that are likeable and beleievable. Characters who are not major but whose contribution to the story tells you more than you could have possibly of thought.
Thankfully I know a good read and Harper Fox has written one here.
Suspense and intrigue and one man's guilt makes for one hell of a good story.
I will be reading everything by Harper Fox in the future. Enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2011
I'd almost given up on this genre, M/M romance. The majority are basically pornographic, weak plot, weak characters and poor writing. Not so with this Harper Fox novel.
A great thriller/mystery story with protagonists that just happen to be gay. Thouroughly enjoyed it and will now look up other novels by this author. British and based around my local area, Wiltshire/Dorset.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2011
I was quite sceptical when I saw the authors name, being that she was an unknown to me. When I started to read the story I was. Immediately drawn into it as if I was a casual observer in it all. The story took me on a roller coaster of different emotions. The one thing that I was puzzled by, was what was the reason for the suicide!
Anyhow, it was a fantastic tale and I would eagerly buy another from this author
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2012
I agree with other reviewers that this genre can be disappointing if a reader's looking for plot, believable characters, clear motivations and a credible romance, so thank heavens for Harper Fox. I've only read excellent books from this author and this was no exception. It had a cracking pace, a denouement I didn't see coming and all the complex ends tied up in a very satisfying way.

The two main characters were realistic and the romantic thread was moving and erotic by turns.

I'm currently working my way through Harper Fox's books and thoroughly enjoying all of them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
I chose this three star rating because the story began well as a love story with a mystery attached and this was intriguing. The descriptions and characters were well describe and interesting. The inner world of the main character was well drawn especially when things began to go wrong. The emotion of the main character was intense and I found it gripping. But then. It all unraveled. While it was an exploration of love, loss and grief it worked well. Unfortunately the mystery part became far fetched and by the end it I found it very silly. The important thing that the characters were looking for ended up microwaved. And that solved that. Well if it was so darned dangerous that it could be eliminated in a microwave oven why the fuss? I am not averse to a good chunk of steaming sex either but this book bogged down in it, sex, grief, sex a bit more sex and then some more grief. It was a bit like being force fed. Even in the most improbable places and times sex got in the way of the adventures tension. Now I am thinking about this book it is more like a first draft idea than a full blown story. It is as though the first half was well conceived but the second half was not worked through. I can't say more because I would need to tell the story and that would spoil it for those who want to chance it. Personally I would look for something else.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2011
The Salisbury Key

This is a great read - combining some of the best adventure writings in the way of Scott Mariatti or Andy McDermott with a tremendous love story. No reason why the gay community cannot have some good love stories - we fall in love too.

Well thought through, fast pace and takes you on a whirlwind trip with one or two shocks along the way.

Thoroughly recommend it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2012
I really enjoyed this story and have re-read it. At the beginning Daniel seems immature, but that may be because he is with a much older partner. But as things develop he seems to grow up and take control of his life, once he meets Rayne. On the second reading I did find myself skipping the sex scenes which are quite detailed and not for the faint-hearted.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
4.5/5 This is a fantastic story, and so closely and cleverly written, reminiscent of the way Chris Quinton writes. Harper evokes memories in me of summer holidays spent near Stonehenge when I was little, and the signs all around for unexploded ordnance. It was scary then and it's just as scary now. I hated the way Jason committed suicide, and as the story unfolded I still stand by that summary, ROFL. He should have been brave and stayed, not left it to... I wont say any more, no spoilers... Some little twists, and the last third of the book seemed kind of sudden as it happened. But, I recommend this for being a bloody good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
Thank goodness for Harper Fox who realises that M/M romances do require plots, good characterisation, good grammar and memorable narrative twists and turns, which keep your interest, as well as the odd steamy sex scene! The said sex scenes are never gratuitous and often so tender that you feel like screaming to writers of F/M romances to take notes. Her descriptions of Salisbury Plain and the scenes underground are beautifully written treats and continue in her book 'scrap metal' where her descriptions of Arran are just wonderful. I've already downloaded more of her works and am looking forward to reading everything by her.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2011
Interesting plot, well written, sexy (without the gratuitous anal obsessions of some - esp American - M/M writers). I even re-read it and enjoyed it as much the second time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)