Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
29
Two Sevens Clash
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£4.99


on 18 June 2017
I have compared Culture's greatest album with the vinyl original and wow the re master is fabulous Anyone who has lived with this record since 77 must aquire it immediately for the second cd When I Roy steams into I'm Not Ashamed echoing Prince Buster then life is complete or even begun if it's the first hearing!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 March 2017
"Two Sevens Clash" is up there in the pantheon of greatest reggae albums and has been since its original release and championing by the late great John Peel.

I first heard it 25 years ago based on it's reputation and was blown away by its beauty, innovation, production and life affirming message. It came out at the height of the 'Punky Reggae Party' and is such an outstanding work the message spread and hasn't relented.

What's remarkable about this album is that it's Culture's debut but sounds astonishingly assured and is expertly delivered. The apocalyptic message runs right through the album's lyrics along with references to the Rastafarian faith and Caribbean history. Despite this it retains a universal appeal and message through the quality of the songwriting and wonderful harmonies. In a long line of great releases this is still Joseph Hill's crowning glory. Production wise this is the legendary Joe Gibbs at his very best. The depth of sound and the 'feel' of this album is remarkable given the limits of the recording equipment used. It sounds especially magnificent on vinyl where the bass is truly liberated.

As for the tracks themselves, the album starts with "Calling Rasta Far I" setting a very high benchmark for harmony, melody and delivery and doesn't let up. It's followed by "I'm alone in the Wilderness" surely one of the greatest roots reggae songs. The title track explains the theme of the album and is sublime. "I'm not ashamed" "Black Starliner must come" and "See them a cone" contain strong Rastafarian spiritual themes delivered in a way that is truly uplifting.

If you haven't heard this album I envy you as discovering it is wonderful. If you think you don't like Roots Reggae try this. After 25 years I still return to this album regularly and for me it's not only the benchmark for Reggae albums it would also be a Desert Island Disc as I'll listen for life its that great. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 May 2012
Culture's 1977 debut album Two Sevens Clash was, for me, the highlight of a period, roughly covering the mid-1970s to mid-1980s, when the public profile of reggae music in the UK was at its highest, bringing with it an outstanding set of artists and record releases. Whilst many British bands from this era were establishing themselves, such as Steel Pulse, Matumbi, Aswad and (my favourite) Misty In Roots, and (rightly) casting aside such reggae-copyists as UB40, it was (of course) from Jamaica that the truly authentic sound (and, undoubtedly, the best music) was emanating. This music covered quite a wide range of reggae styles, from the more populist sounds of the likes of Bob Marley and The Wailers, The Gladiators, Denis Brown and Gregory Isaacs, through to the heavier (often more dub-based) sounds of the likes of Tapper Zukie, Dillinger and U-Roy. For me, however, no band combined these two elements more effectively than Joseph Hill's band Culture and no record from this era bettered their album Two Sevens Clash.

Produced by the legendary Jamaican producer Joe Gibbs and featuring the equally famous rhythm section of Sly Dunbar (on drums) and Robbie Shakespear (on guitar), the album contains 10 songs, all of them successful in providing an outstanding mix of Hill's impassioned lead vocals, lyrics infused with spiritual yearnings and protest, and backed with brilliant melodies and hooks. It really is something of a thankless task trying to pick highlights from such an outstanding album, but if pressed, I would highlight the brilliance of I Am Not Ashamed, I'm Alone In The Wilderness, See Them A Come, Jah Pretty Face and the masterpiece that is the album's title song.

I should stress that this album is not just an album for reggae aficionados, but is essential listening for anyone with an interest in (good) music.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2014
It's true that reggae albums often fall short of the quality and consistency expected of rock albums (although for the life of me i can't think of one right now... ice on fire?), and this is to be expected considering how prolific the artists were. Mostly, they released hundreds of songs for numerous producers, many of which were great; many, not so great. However, Two sevens clash is fantastic. Its the sgt peppers of reggae, it might not be your favourite but its the best, anyone can see that. So buy the culture 4 disc box set on vp records, its cheap, good sound quality and I think one of the discs has a twelve inch version of jah see them a come, which is great.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2017
I wondered if the second disk of extras would add much to this classic album but they actually make you hear these familiar tracks afresh.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 April 2009
Firstly, and foremostly Joseph Hill was a legend, a genius and a great ambassador for world peace. He lives on through the music of Culture, probably no more than through this incredible album of pure beauty. The lyrics are sung with exquisite passion, the music and melodies are so uplifting that it is impossible not to get swept away. Joseph had that rare ability - to sing of oppression and social injustice with a smile, but without diminishing in any way his statement of intent. This album sat proudly next to my Punk collection back in '77 and it's as outstanding now as it was back then. But don't stop here, Culture made around 22 albums. Save your pennies and get Culture'd.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2015
I have been meaning to get a copy of this for a long time having owned a vinyl compilation of Culture and seen them live.If you like roots reggae this record is one of the best.Cannot recomend enough
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2002
If so, you'll be sure to find consolation in the words and music of the song of the same name in Culture's legendary CD. Nothing much can really be added to the global praise of this near hypnotic music. It belongs to the period when reggae was truly King. Yes, in the 1970's we came close to Natty Dread Taking Over. Not standard dancehall ragga so it merits a high level of mental attention. It's as close as reggae ever came to a spiritual mass for the living (with a few other instances of Jamaican inspiration, for sure). Jah Arise!
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 March 2002
One of the best ever roots albums. These sounds were everywhere when released,and crossed over making this album popular with dreads and punks alike. Championed by john Peel and part of the soundtrack to 1977 if you wernt there then get this to get da flava,if you were then get it to remember. The best in roots harmonies.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2014
Classic album of pure roots reggae. You can't beat Culture. Inspirational lyrics and a tuff beat make this some of the best roots you will hear
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)