Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

1.5 out of 5 stars
11
1.5 out of 5 stars

on 19 January 2012
DONT BUY THIS.
Its a cheap imitation at Talihina Sky. It includes talking heads from three entirely random and irrelevant women who have a) no basis for their opinions except "i think" and b) have lower iq's than this dvd's box, "the band is evolving like a seal" is just one of the non sequiters that awaits after this purchase.

The video footage has been plundered from the internet and youtube so if your interested just surf around.

But do NOT buy this. There is not real content and just sweeping statements which are mostly ill-informed or just plain wrong.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2012
As a massive kings of Leon fan when I saw there was a new DVD release I was excited, upon its arrival I sat down to watch it, I was disappointed. The commentary is like a constant drone with intermediate interviews with a couple of women, one who looks like a Kings stalker and the other seems to know nothing about the band bar what you could find out with two minutes on Google.
Footage is from second hand sources with now quotes or even music from the Kings of Leon themselves. I think the big clue lies in the small print on the DVD cover "Unauthorized Documentary" anyone handy with a pc editing kit could put this film together then go outside and interview a couple of their friends, oh wait I think that's what this DVD is.... Good job it was cheap.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2012
I am a massive fan of the band, and my lovely husband bought me this as a surprise birthday gift, so I feel so guilty having to say that this is truly AWFUL!!!!! The facts are this:

There is NO music by the band used anywhere in the documentary, not even a snippet of a single.
There is NO interview footage, not even clips from those already publicly available.
This is simply a man reeling off badly researched facts for 45 minutes, interspersed with photos and the odd clip from a music video, still voiced over by the narrator.
The makers couldn't even be bothered to film it in colour.
The only commentators interviewed are a couple of fans, one who doesn't even know the names of any of their songs other than 'SOF' or 'US'.

My lovely other half was sadly ripped off by this truly horrendous production, please don't make the same mistake!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 March 2012
This is a very poor excuse for a documentary - it contains no orginal material, no Kings of Leon music and has nothing to recommend it. Buy Talahina Sky instead!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2012
This was an impulse buy . Its very boring , none of the bands music or comments are in this documentary . Its hurried and its just someone making money off the back of the band
Don't buy it , its rubbish!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2012
I can't place enough emphasis on the word "unauthorized". It's because of this that Rick Herold has created what is more or less a slide-show of images, with an incredibly drab narrative to go over it. There is absolutely nothing exclusive or unseen, and anything included which isn't shown in the far-superior Talihina Sky documentary is merely fan media such as mobile phone photographs and YouTube videos.
On the up side, I've rated it 2 stars instead of 1. The documentary as a whole is incredibly informative. If you listen well, there's a lot to learn, and as far as I can remember it's pretty accurate.
But, back to what's bad. Of the very little video footage it contains, the overwhelming majority of it is interviews with three or four 'fans', which are some of the most tragic examples of people I've ever seen. Whereas the information provided by the narrator is generally alright, this cannot be said for the interviewees. One girl claims she likes Kings of Leon because their lyrics are so fresh and clean, and they never swear. Not a clue. "I danced around your folk and soul, I danced to all your f***ing soul." That's only one example from the top of my head. Most, if not all, of these fans are the type who think KoL began with Only By The Night, and if you asked them what they thought of Spiral Staircase they'd tell you they prefer straight ones.
To give a real picture of how unprofessional and shoddily put-together this DVD actually is, read the back of the case. "Kings of Leon has revolutionized modern music with there soulful brand of rock." It still shocks me how incredibly poor that writing actually is. If you can't spot the mistakes, then please stop reading this review - you're probably one of the fans I mentioned before.
Overall, I'd say if you want to learn the story of Kings of Leon, this DVD can teach you it. But it's not entertaining, it's not gripping - it's cringeworthy at best, and although the narrator is trustworthy, you need to know enough about KoL in the first place in order to figure out what's bull and what's not from the fans. If you want to learn the story of Kings of Leon, this is an option, but goodness gracious me, make it your last option. Whereas it could have used its lack of bias to a distinct advantage, Iconic has failed, and has absolutely nothing on Talihina Sky.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 June 2014
Cheap knock off. some shocking moments EG someone calling the band the King of Leons twice. CALEB been reffered to as Cleeb and coleb? Buy the Talihina Sky on Blu Ray and then the LIve @ 02 Arena you will not be dissapointed like i am with this DVD, and im not even a quarter through. dvd didnt come in original wrapping and no insert inside. plus fingerprints and a slight scratch on the DVD!
good job it was only £6... otherwise id have sent it back !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2014
This DVD was ok. There was a lot of information but not sure how accurate the information was as one of the guest speakers kept pronouncing the Lead singers name wrong which was very annoying. There was no music either and not sure who the people where who were talking about Kings of leon as it didn't tell you. I would buy Talihina Sky instead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2012
THIS IS THE BIGGEST WASTE OF MONEY, THE INFORMATION IS NOT EVEN CORRECT. I DUNNO WHO THE CHICKS ARE GIVING THEIR OPINION OR WHY THE MAKERS OF THE DVD THOUGHT THAT ANYONE WOULD CARE WHAT THEIR OPINION IS. IT SUCKS!!

NO KINGS OF LEON MUSIC
NO INTERVIEWS
NO NEW INFORMATION.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2015
please don't buy.... buy Talahina Sky instead from which most of this footage seems to be cut. adds NOTHING new save for interviews with two random fans.... utterly pointless.... not even any KOL music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)