Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
51
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£16.69
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 November 2009
I loved this book. Its very informative without being too technical. It has given me the right information and good ideas to try. I have other books that go into too much depth and have recipes that are not a typical days menu. Gluten Free for Dummies is well worth buying for personal use or as a gift for sufferers of the disease and have problems with wheat/gluten.

I would recommend it to anyone and would recommend using Amazon. I received my book within days of ordering and despite being secondhand it was in extremely good condition.Living Gluten-Free for Dummies
11 comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2009
I was recently diagnosed with gluten intolerance but had no idea where to start, this book gave me all the info i needed and handy tips also. Highly recommended
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2009
Had no idea what coeliac disease was until my wife was recently diagnosed. Was mostly in the dark about what she could and could not eat, this book more than filled in any blanks and would recommend it to anyone in a similar situation.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2009
Very good book.It goes into detail about gluten free living and even gives tips about eating out and going to parties etc. Well worth the money.I found it difficult to put down. Thank you. Laurence.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2010
A very informative easy to read book on living with a gluten free diet. I have been diagnosed with Coeliac Desease for five years now and although I have researched on the internet and read up on the condition I still found useful information this book - an enjoyable read. A very well written book and I would recommend it to anyone who is a Coeliac or who wants to follow a gluten free diet for whatever reason.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2009
Living Gluten Free for Dummies (UK Edition)
I bought this for my dad who had just been diagnosed as coeliac (gluten intolerant). He is not one for anything medical but read this book from cover to cover and has discovered so much about his illness and how to cope with it day-to day.This book is easy to read and understand and I would recommend this book to anyone looking for an alternative diet away from gluten.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2009
this book makes a good index for finding all sorts of things coeliac sufferers need to know. theres nothing in it that can't be found elsewhere, but it saves you lots of time getting to what you want.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2011
I bought this book after my daughter was diagnosed with Celiacs disease. I found it informative to help me understand it and she is absolutely over the moon with it. It explains why this can happen and how to overcome the problem. To start she was quite upset and said why me. Now she has read about it and is able to control it she is much happier at the prospect of overcoming it and living with the new diet.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 October 2007
Not so very long ago, the vast majority of people had no idea what gluten was let alone how the mysterious substance affected the body. Those who were put on gluten-free diets for health reasons were pretty much left on their own as even most doctors and dieticians had no clue about which foods actually did or didn't contain gluten. Not only did this cause confusion but likely a lot of unnecessary suffering through the ingestion of gluten from foods that were thought safe, 100% gluten-free, and completely uncontaminated.

Information is slowly spreading to the general public and more and more people are aware that Gluten is in wheat. This true but extremely limited knowledge (gluten is also found in all sorts of other cereal grains, additives, and commercial products) causes many people to believe that they can be supportive of their gluten-free friends or family members by simply not serving bread- how about rice with a generous helping of soya sauce (also high in gluten).

Living Gluten-Free For Dummies simplifies the complexity of a gluten-free diet. This isn't one of those I want to lose weight diets it's an all or nothing lifestyle that has to be followed to the letter to produce the best results. The good news is that living gluten-free isn't about going without. There are plenty of gluten-free options.
22 comments| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
I read a review here that states that there is nothing in this book that you wouldn't find elsewhere (and even is simply common-knowledge). How staggeringly wrong this is!

This guide is both comprehensive and a God-send to those who aren't just adopting a lifestyle choice, but who's lives are changed forever with a diagnosis of coeliac disease. The authors give an authoritative account of what to do and how to manage a gluten-free lifestyle post-diagnosis. Also they spell out what the medical effects are if gluten is ingested, and they give great case histories that allow a sufferer to understand that they are not alone and that it is a blessing in disguise to know what's exactly is wrong with your bodily system so it can be managed and addressed. Of course there are those who adopt a gluten-free lifestyle by choice and this book affords plenty of good down to earth advice for this group too - but it is an essential well-written, well-indexed, well-researched guide for those who have to deal with a life forever changed by being informed that they have joined the ranks of the one in a hundred of us who simply cannot deal with gluten in our diet - to the extent that it can ruin one's health and cause a wide range of symptoms and other serious medical conditions.

Although "Living Gluten-Free for Dummies" offers a range of gluten-free recipes, this is not where it's strength lies. There are other much better cook-books out there that provide more imaginative and tastier recipes - but this in no way takes away from the merits of this excellent, comprehensive and good value guide.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here