Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
40
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£19.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 March 2011
Firstly, if you haven't watched Part 1, go watch it now, and while you're at it read the manga too.

Naruto is back, and has some cool new moves...

This box set covers the first 4 box set volumes of Naruto Shippuden, which collectively cover the whole of the Kazekage Rescue Arc and all but one episode of the Sasuke and Sai Arc. The action starts straight away with a reintroduction to the series and two intense battles. Naruto begins to learn more about the sinister Akatsuki organisation, and gets sent on a mission to rescue Gaara from the almost comedic Deidara and Sasori. Both of these new characters are mysterious and evil, and lead to some epic fight scenes. There is a good mix of slow, clever step by step battles, and the more action intense battles. (Episode 26 is one of the most intense, epic episodes the franchise has ever seen)

Next there is the Sasuke and Sai Arc, an arc that introduces a few new characters, and more importantly reintroduces Orochimaru, Kabuto and Sasuke. Here we really get to see the Nine tails' power, and above all Naruto's determination to rescue Sasuke.

The animation continues to be fantastic, even better than part 1, as does the music.

So to conclude, this is a brilliant buy, and the price isn't too bad considering that this is 20+ hours! A must for any Naruto fans.
1212 Comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2012
This item certainly lived up to expectations for me, having seen all of the part 1 original series.
Shippuden continues the main story arc which is set 2 and a half years after Naruto left for his training with Master Jiraiya.

For those who know Naruto then this wont disappoint.
If you want a continuation of the story, and for the price its better value than individual box set purchases and of course takes up less space on your shelf, you get two great arcs with this set with all but one episode from the second. Plus you also have the options to watch in both English dub or in Japanese subbed.

The animation remains great and in my opinion the soundtrack far surpasses that of the original series aiding the dramatic build up between fight scenes, which is great particularly as we get to see some of the nine tails true capabilities and very heated battles, episode 26 is definitely one to name but a few in this series. The series is certainly darker than the first but still has some light hearted areas and the odd bit of slapstick thrown in here and there.

Overall a decent purchase for fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
These box sets are the cheapest and best way to watch Naruto Shippuden. This series is in my top 5 anime of all time & it's arguably the most popular anime right now. All anime fans have heard of this series & for good reason. This set includes the first 52 episodes and with no filler episodes. It's all story driven goodness here. The soundtrack is amazing, the action is jaw-dropping & some scenes will make you feel all the feels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
Case is broken inside so discs aren't secure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
Loaded up the first 54? Episodes has no filler, they really expanded the world which made this really awesome. The 2 things that ruin Naruto is fillers and flash backs. This box set has little of both. I highly red come t this, However the box sets after this contain fillers to the point of death. It's a shMe bit that's why I've skipped every filler episode via an online guid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2015
Extremely pleased! ordered on wed and arrived on fri! Can't recommend enough!
And as for the series its great! I've been keeping up with the series but wanted to purchase the boxsets.
Its a great value for money, including the first 52 eps
If you are interested in purchasing, definitely go for it. You wont regret it :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2011
I'll begin by saying, as far as value goes, this is definitely the way to go. I've been buying anime since back in the day of four episode sets at the price you get most box sets these days. I'm in Australia, where 13 episodes of Naruto cost more than I spent on this whole set. So needless to say, as someone who has watched a lot of Naruto, and knew what to expect, I definitely feel I got my money's worth.

If you don't know what to expect from Naruto, then you likely haven't seen the first series. Needless to say, you should check out the original series first, as this series definitely has an ongoing narrative. And it's a narrative that has been drawn out for as long as they could! Each episode on it's own generally offers very little to the story, with a whole lot of padding and unnecessary scenes. This was the case with the original series and it is no different here. Expect to see a lot of flashbacks, stare downs, internal monologues, etc.

That being said, for as drawn out and frustrating as the story can be, I really did want to keep watching, because I wanted to see where the story went. You don't get the full story with this box set, but you do get several story arcs. Another positive note is that it is almost entirely manga material, meaning that most of it is story related, and not just filler the anime often uses to fill in the gaps between manga chapters.

The story also has some likeable characters, not least of all the protagonist, Uzumaki Naruto, who, as stated in the anime itself, has something about him that makes you want to cheer for him. However, unlike much of the original series, it does not feature many of the secondary characters being involved in the plot. Rest assured though, I hear we get a lot of that later on.

In the end, it all comes down to whether or not you are interested in checking out this series. If you saw the first series and enjoyed it, then you can't really go wrong here. This is 52 episodes of the show at a great price. The sort of deal that makes me wonder how, as an anime fan, I managed to survive before discovering internet shopping!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
I love Naruto Unleashed and it's one those series where I've collected all the DVD's and have re-watched it several times. However, compared to Shippuden, Unleashed was only a warm up. Shippuden has much more in terms or fights, character development, drama and plot twists. Basically, if you liked Unleashed then you'll LOVE this!
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
Excellent start to the shippuden series. Great value for money, always buy the uk release of anime titles for the reasonable prices. I highly recommend this release to anyone who wants an official release copy of this at a decent price, especially Australians where buying the individual volumes would be easily $200.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
This is a great dvd set with better value than the American uncut box sets which only have about 13 episodes and cost almost as much as one of these European seasons. The only hurdle you have to get around is the region encoding, so I just play this on a pc. Looking forward to getting more! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)