Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
68
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 November 2014
Great cd for a great price. Arrived quickly. Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
Great songs. Seen Katy b live and loved her songs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2016
fantastic first album by this young talent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2011
It took me a while to be taken by Katy Bs magic! But finally this summer i completely fell in love with all of her singles and after watching her videos on NME, Chart Show TV etc. Absolutely brilliant talent.

With all these new releases by artists being hyped up to the max, here entered Katy B with her stellar debut On A Mission in a very "it is what it is" attitude and really she lets her music speak for itself. From the beginning riffs of Power On Me to the end of the album it never lets up. Always a rhythm, vocal style or production piece to take you by storm! It is a proper Dub Step/grime underground London scene album BUT with a very kinda retrospective out look. It is also very Dance Pop outlook. Katy manages to take lots of elements of Dance Pop and mix it up one heck of a lot for a general appeal!

Also what i found intriguing is the fact that she recorded the music in her late teens - 20 years of age. Quite remarkable i say this because the production is expert! and her vocals have this euphoric feel good energy behind them like she has been in the industry for years! and that takes some doing....in fact fellow British Icon Florence Welch is the only one to grab those mature levels from the get go in her respective debut in 2009 with Lungs. So it is very rare.

In terms of the music itself, I think a load of lovers of underground style, and something "different" will embrace the album, also lovers of mainstream Pop will really embrace On A Mission no doubt about it. Katy B on Perfect Stranger and Go Away evokes this raw vocal, synth Dream Pop that does match up with some perhaps Early Madonna style euphoric Pop (Borderline, Physical Attraction from her debut) While Lights On presents a very Funky bassline like a 70s disco time travelled to the current grime scene (Ms Dynamite makes a surprisingly welcome return to the scene here and adds to the spark!) Why You Always Here presents this Neon House style progressive dance track you would find from 1991-93, Witches Brew is a subdued Winter classic Dance song, macabre and very unusually brilliant like PJ Harvey if she embraced dance elements. While Broken Record and Movement are quirky little songs that have ehr singing over playback style and re-wind....absolutely brilliant.

As far as it stands i would definitely say that On A Mission surpasses a load of more mainstream female artists this year (gaga, Jessie J, Beyonce, Britney....all solid albums but....) On A Mission has this flow and gusto that is so brilliant!

And absolute 10/10 Dance album to blast at any time of the year. For escape, for summer memories, chasing away winter blues...On A Mission surpasses promise and is one of the most brilliant "fundamentally British" Dance albums i have heard in years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2014
Superb entrance to the world of music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
Great album, so many memories!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2011
I must admit, I did approach this album with caution. My concern was, is Katy B simply another artist trying to be a copycat Rihanna? The answer, to my pleasant surprise is no. I would actually go as far to say that this is my favourite album of the year so far. On a Mission is able to combine R&B, Dance, dubstep (apparently... I can't actually say I'm completely sure what that is yet...) & Pop with ease. Compared to recent albums from Britney Spears for example, this is in a whole different league.

Standout tracks for me are 'Power on Me', 'Katy on a Mission', 'Witches Brew' & 'Broken Record'. But to be absolutely honest, there is not a weak track on this album. The best way to describe these tracks would simply be, 'a breath a fresh air', perfect to listen to now the weather is finally looking up.

Although this album won't necessarily be for everyone, I would still highly recommend it. Regardless of your own personal taste in music, give it a go, you may well be pleasantly surprised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
top album by a top chick :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2016
great product arrived quick
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2014
Amazing album from Katy B
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)