Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
12
Wycliffe and the Dead Flautist
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99


on 23 September 2017
Couldn't put it down. loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 September 2017
An entertaining crime novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 July 2017
Very much the same as the last couple I have read. A bit disappointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 January 2007
This is the 4th Wycliffe novel I have read - I was introduced to him by my late father with whom he was a firm favourite and I completely understand why. Wycliffe is a calm character detecting in Cornwall and both of these factors are important to the charm of these novels. Burley's characters are complex beings though not extreme and therefore believable; Wycliffe is a dedicated family man but determined in his sleuthing. This book is excellent. A complicated set of characters in a close-knit and very attractive setting grips the reader from the start. Wycliffe's mental foraging into academia both via his characters and his own quiet thinking set it above the general genre. In this he reminds me of Colin Dexter and the Morse mysteries. I read this quietly over 2 days of snatched sittings and I loved it. I've already located my next pleasure with Wycliffe - it's going to be Wycliffe and the Quiet Virgin.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 26 January 2012
An estate manager of the Duloe estate is found shot dead in his cottage in an apparent suicide though it soon becomes clear that he could not have pulled the trigger on the gun. Earlier in the same evening he had been seen sitting in the same chair and playing his flute.

Wycliffe is puzzled as, even though he is sure it was murder, he cannot find anyone who could have committed the crime unless everyone is lying about their whereabouts and their relationship with the dead man. A former maid employed by Lord and Lady Bottrell is found to be missing and this provides a secondary mystery for Wycliffe to unravel which may or may not provide the solution to the murder.

This is a carefully plotted mystery with many layers to it and many convoluted and complex relationships both past and present. Wycliffe is his usual self - best left on his own to put all the apparently unrelated fragments together to make a cohesive whole. Can he work out what is going on before anyone else is murdered? If you like your crime novels written in the classic mould then give this series a try - they can be read in any order but the first one is Wycliffe and the Three Toed Pussy (Wycliffe Mystery)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Another very interesting read. Mr.Burley had the knack of keeping one guessing right to the end, although this mystery wasn't too difficult, therefore I give it a four star rating and recommend it to all Kindle readers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 November 2015
excellent book. I really like it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2014
Good price. Good delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2016
good service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 February 2016
classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse