Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 8 September 2017
I ploughed on with this in the misguided hope that some decent reading would have to arrive at some point to account for the 4/5-star ratings. Poorly written: characters are sketchy : I like to able to visualise what I'm reading; here It was like I was in a dark room. I'm a fan of Agatha and Hamish, but these TM books are garbage.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2017
fun, charming, amusing little trifle, full of stock characters and stock plots, but well written, well paced and sweet...worth the money, and the (short) time it takes to read it...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2017
one of the best books I have read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2017
Another good fun story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
I have read many M C Beaton books and I enjoyed this as much as all the others.

Fast moving story line that keeps you interested.

Liked the heroine and would to read some more in this series of books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
A good start f or the series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
another great story from a great writer, the series and the characters are brilliant cannot get enough of them. a brilliant read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 March 2011
Hannah Pym has worked her way up to the top of the servants pile, making it as Housekeeper to Mr Clarence. When her employer dies Hannah is shocked and delighted that he has left to her the remarkable sum of £5,000! What to do with such riches? Hannah decides to set out on adventure by boarding the Exeter Fly, a stagecoach that she has watched every day passing by her employers home - I suppose it's the Regency equivalent of wishing you were on a plane off to somewhere exotic!

Hannah's adventures are written in a light and entertaining style. The coach is first held up by a highwayman and later the passengers are all stranded at an inn in thick snow where Hannah really comes into her own! The eponymous Emily does deserve seeing a bit of cold hard reality, as one does quite want to slap the silly young thing to start with! Of course all's well that ends well and the romantic entanglements are resolved!

I look forward to reading the rest of the series!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 26 February 2011
This book is the first in the Travelling Matchmaker series. Having enjoyed M C Beaton's Hamish Macbeth, Agatha Raisin and Edwardian Mystery series I decided to try this one as well. I thoroughly enjoyed it and read it in one evening. Hannah Pym - housekeeper - is unexpectedly left a legacy of five thousand pounds by her late employer.

Hannah lacks excitement in her life and for years has waved to the stage coach which passes the house where she works. Now she is a comparatively wealthy woman she decides to travel and having found herself inexpensive rooms, above a bakers, she sets out on a journey to Exeter.

But it is winter and the journey is far from straightforward involving as it does highwaymen, deep snow and various other hazards of a typical journey through England at the start of the nineteenth century. Hannah's fellow passengers are all far from being what they seem and there are some ill assorted couples who Hannah vows to rearrange.

I loved Hannah - practical resourceful and an excellent judge of character. The other characters are interesting as well - Lord Ranger Harley, the obnoxious Captain Seaton, the down to earth Mrs Bradley and Mr Fletcher the lawyer among others. This is a feel good story and I will definitely be reading the other five books in the series. There is humour, good dialogue and well drawn characters - what more could anyone want from a book on a cold winter's evening?
22 Comments| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 11 October 2012
I have spent a couple of days fully entertained by M C Beaton's excellent period piece with its colourful array of characters and detail of the surroundings. I liked in particular the picture of the gentry and the servants and the rogues that inhabited the countryside. All told a wonderful yarn that kept my interest from start to finish and such a change from Agatha Raisin and her modern day exploits.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse