Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 December 2009
I am an nexperienced knitter and I have few knitting books, but this one is by far the best, even if it is written in American English. Clear pictures, brilliant colours and extremely useful comments. A must for someone who wants to improve techniques and learn about colour composition, and wants to start experimenting with more challenging projects and creating own designs. Would highly recommend it even to beginners!
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2011
Her 3* review said most of what I would have written.

I expected more stitches. And, as she says, the colour palette used - after the great introduction to the use of colour - is generally dull and uninspiring. Chapter 3 is a shocker!(as far as colour combination goes)

But if you can see through the boring colour-usage you might get good ideas as the illustrations and explanations of the techniques are good.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2010
A thoroughly great book - not only are the patterns great, the advice is good - as an experienced knitter it was nice to have relevant information and advice rather than the usual half-book rehash of how to knit from scratch. Having said that, the advice is sufficiently easy to follow for knitters of all abilities to follow. Gorgeous illustrations, clear patterns, and good inspiration for your own projects.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2010
Plenty of colour illusstrations to help you blend or combine colours using small quantities. Good stitch guide to show how colour choices can be used. An excellent book for using up stash as well as creating really attractive items.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2011
This book is a great overview of colour knitting techniques, including the obligatory colour theory section at the beginning (it's well done, but colour theory is never that exciting). This book introduces colourwork techniques from basic stripes and varigated yarns through slip stitch patterns, intarsia, stranded work, twined knitting, shadow knitting and more. The chapter on finishing techniques is worth the price of the book however - techniques I've previously only seen on technical knitting blogs, explained and presented in an easy to follow manner.

This would be a great buy for an adventurous beginner, an intermediate knitter looking to add their own stamp to patterns, or an experienced knitter looking for inspiration or to brush up on techniques. The only possible downside is that the projects included call for yarn from a small US based supplier - though with the guidance on choosing yarns and colourways included in the book, finding suitable substitutions shouldn't be too much of a trial.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2012
Although this book is a paperback, the pages are thick, hardwearing and pleasantly smooth to touch. The print colours are very clear, important when the subject is about colour knitting. The focus of this book is about how to use stitches with different coloured wools rather than teaching how to knit or presenting really fancy designs. A clear graph for each patterned stitch is displayed on each page: the instructions couldn't be clearer. In addition to the stitches and advice on colour, there is information on design in general. I have found this book very useful for developing my own creative thoughts with the variety of wool that I have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
I knitted when I was very young, basic. Having just got into again, I decided to buy this based on reviews. Although it is promising, I feel that this book would benefit people who used to beable to knit all styles and have lost practise or for people who have more experience-this book got too complicated and algebra like early on despite my eagerness and commitment to learn. I have given this book a 3 star due to my personal experience of not engaging with it, but it is an incredible book so would recommend if your more of a confident knitter or fast learner. I am returning it and going to purchase Knitty Gritty: Knitting for the Absolute Beginner by Aneeta Patel.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2012
This is a very attractive and extremely useful book, providing plenty of practical advice and inspiration for using colour. I took it to my craft group where it was enthused over. Acessible to beginning knitters, it nevertheless provides lots of ideas for experienced knitters to develop their skills. Instructions are clear and very well illustrated. A glowing gem of a book, it makes your fingers itch to get knitting!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
the book goes from simple stripes to complex stitch and colour patterns. I got it becasue I wanted a guide to knitting with multple colours and how to do intarsia - it not only has that but lots of clever tips for fixing mistakes and finishing projects. Well illustrated and very clear instructions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2016
Very pleased with this book. It deals with all the aspects of colour knitting in which I'm interested and explains them well. There's very good advice regarding yarn types for colour knitting which is important for avoiding disappointment when investing in expensive yarns and a lot of time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)