Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
19
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 January 2001
Carl Hiassen's writing technique by far outshines any other mystery writers in his class. With such an aptitude for characters and entwining plots, he is a modern day Dickens. "Trap Line" is a story of intrigue and pure comedy which is so tongue in cheek and well written, we wonder how he has remained a secret for so long. With the success of "Strip Tease" (both in writing and on the big screen), it is surprising, nigh on unique, to see that Hiassen has not been fazed by success: his succinct style and the daunting, but equally hilarious reality he portrays renders the reader incapable of putting his books down. An amazingly captivating book for those dark months ahead and a smile-a-page, what more can you ask for?
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2015
First time I have read a Hiaasen/Montalbano production. I love Hiaasen so much & usually laugh out loud with the lunacy of it all. I thought it would not & could not match up. I really enjoyed it but missed the really ridiculous characters(usually one main fruitcake). It was thoroughly enjoyable but Bill must have a 'normalising' effect on Carl. Loved the comeuppance the Chief of Police got! Definitely worth a read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
I'm pretty new to Carl Hiaasen, I bought Sick Puppy/Skin Tight from a charity shop and there's been no going back since! I though I'd have a look on the kindle store and found this book and really enjoyed it. It's easy to read and a witty, fun book. I'll definitely be reading more Carl Hiaasen books!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
This is the seventh book by Hiaasen I have read and though not as funny as many it still pulls the reader in, makes you want to keep reading, paints deep pictures of the main characters and concludes well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
The villains get all they deserve in any Carl Hiassen production in many inventive and comic ways as possible! Love it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
I've always enjoyed Carl Hiaasen's books since discovering him in Double Whammy. In this earlier book you can see all the traits that make his later books so entertaining.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
As genre fiction, not awful but not great. A straight-through read but a bit formulaic, characters somewhat stereotyped and not as witty as one expects from Hiaasen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
As usual Carl Hiaasen delivered another excellent book with great characters. Could stop reading once I started! Got another one lined up ready to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
Pacy and well described but seemed to die off too quickly at the end
Characters well filled out and to get sympathy for a smuggler is an achievement
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2015
he has always been a great writer and funny, have not finished reading this yet but it seems more serious than other books of his which I have read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)