Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
71
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£7.57+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 February 2012
I bought Benvenutti al Sud after seeing it at a small Italian Film Festival at the Phoenix cinema East Finchley. It is one of the wittiest and entertaining films, and I loved it because it is about life, no shooting or killing. The main character is a man who works at the Post Office in Milan, and as his contract is coming to an end, he desperately tries to extend it and stay in Milan. Well he doesn't and he is sent to a small town south of Naples.
What the film is trying to show us is the difference between the north and the south, to start with the language, then their way of life and the attitude of the southern Italians towards life. The script is great and the actors are superb. One comes out of the cinema with a new energy to face life. I think that if anybody who is depressed should watch this movie instead of taking anti-depressants. It is beautifully hilarious!
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2012
Hesitated about ordering this DVD because no mention of English subs on either the box or publicity. Thanks to the previous reviewer, who said it had English subs, have now bought it - and indeed it has.So would be purchasers of this DVD version of the film can do as I did. Thanks again to previous reviewer.
11 Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
It's not slick, the production values aren't great - but that's its charm.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2017
Such a funny dvd you have to but. The one going south is funnier than the North but still a fab film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2015
Great movie. First one very funny, Second one was okay but not amazing. Well worth it for just the first one though!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
A really funny film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2016
All I could have expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2011
I would give this film 6* if I could : )) .This is the South meets the North , and old stereotypes and differences between those two parts of Italy seen through the eyes of both; northerners and southerners.
When main character Alberto learns that he is going to be transfered at work from the North, near Milan to the South, a small village near Naples he initially gets scared, and his family, and friends all add to his fears telling how bad and dangerous life and people are in the South.On top of that people in the South speak a dialect completely incomprehensible to poor Alberto, who speaks proper Italian.As he settles here and gets to know locals and his staff at work he learns that life here is positively different, slower ,more relaxed and people friendly and open, and that not everyone is a cammorrista. The fim is a comedy with a lot of funny situations ( which some might seem to be a little exaggerated but are really good fun),bilingual dialogues( bizzare!)and wonderful neapolitan music , with breathtaking sea views!! I simply love this film and yes , I would recommend it : ))))). English and Italian subtitles provided.
11 Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2011
A very good comedy, but it is an adventage to be a bit familiar with italian culture. Some knowledge of the italian language will also help understanding the humor.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)