Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
9
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 April 2011
Alligator Records are one of the great blues labels. Their artistes line-up is a veritable who's who of modern electric blues; performers such as Albert Collins, Buddy Guy, Johnny Winter, Robert Cray, Roy Buchanan, and my favourite Son Seals to name just a few. This, of course, is a disservice to the many other great artistes on Alligator, but there's not enough space to name them all.
The 40th Anniversary Collection is just a great selection of good blues from nearly 40 blues men and women spread over 38 tracks, and 2CDs. Also included is a 28pg booklet with brief biographies of all the featured musicians. This is "genuine house rocking music" as they call. Thank you, Bruce Iglauer, for your dedication to good blues. Buy it, listen and enjoy - you won't be disappointed. Nathan Beehl
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2011
I bought this album after to hearing a couple of tracks on Radio 2 and haven't been able to stop playing it driving my family mad!!
It has really kick started my interest in blues music and I have since bought CDs from artists featured on the album, Tommy Castro Hard Believer and Smokin Joe Kubek & Bnois King Have Blues Will Travel again both excellent.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2012
This Alligator compilation is so good that it is almost frightening.Heard most of blues men and women on this album but great to hear some new names I am not familiar with and to help even more with my blues education which seems to go on forever.The very underrated Janiva Magness is one particular artist I never got fully around to hearing but now ,after listening to the bluesy and quite soulful track ' Slipped, Tripped and Fell in Love ' I now have three of her excellent cds.Can't think of a bad number on here and all the recordings are absolutely first class.It certainly helps makes up for the time between listening to David Freemans excellent Blues and Boogie show on Saturday mornings on Jazz FM.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 May 2011
Wow !!
This is an absolutely fabulous compilation and is one where I have loved every single track
There's no real standouts as, unusually for a compilation, every track is first class.
I have been fortunate enough to see a lot of the artists on this compilation and they're all exceptionally good live.
To my mind most artistes in the blues idiom are better live and they don't make brilliant records but this is a wonderful compilation which would grace anybody's collection
Particular favourites are J J Grey & Mofro, Koko Taylor, Tommy Castro, Albert Collins and Tinsley Ellis but I could name half a dozen other artistes and they'd be equally as good.
Go buy it - you need this !!!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
Bought this as a present for my partner who is a big blues fan. He loved discovering new artists and all the information that went along with the collection. Definitely would recommend for anyone who loves the blues.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2014
Top class blues sampler. Great price and prompt delivery. Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2015
good mix of old and new blues
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2011
Wikipedia says: "Alligator Records is a Chicago-based independent blues record label founded by Bruce Iglauer in 1971. Iglauer started the label with his own savings to record and produce his favorite band Hound Dog Taylor & The HouseRockers, whom his employer, Bob Koester of Delmark Records, declined to record. Since its founding, Alligator Records has released over 250 blues and blues/rock albums." For this 2-CD compilation, a celebration of the label's first 40 years, Iglauer hand-picked and edited 38 tracks from the whole label roster with explainations on an accompanying booklet. It is a rather varied journey into the electric, feel-good-on-a-saturday-night blues sound that starts with a defiant 'I'm A Woman' by Koko Taylor, naturellement an answer to Muddy's 'I'm A Man'. And, of course, it includes a track by Hound Dog Taylor & The HouseRockers. This is an essential overview of the late 20th century blues. One star off for the packaging which is a fossil energy wasting plastic box like they used to make to accomodate 3 or 4 CDs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)