Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
44
4.5 out of 5 stars
Sunset Express (Cole and Pike Book 6)
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99


on 4 August 2017
just finished reading it,what a cracking story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
Another excellent story well told.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2017
Totally addicted to Elvis.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2006
`Sunset Express' is the sixth in the Elvis Cole series and although it has lost some of its initial freshness it is still very good.

Cole is hired by a defense team to uncover if their client has been wrongly accused of murdering his wife. For once it all seems easy for Elvis as he uncovers some evidence that would suggest that an innocent man may be punished. However, is it all too easy? Perhaps justice in LA is less about who did it and more who can pay for it? Cole and his partner Pike must work together once more to uncover the truth that a trail of dead bodies is threatening to conceal.

'Sunset Express' is not the greatest in the series and for the first two thirds is distinctly average. We do get to learn more about Elvis' relationship with Lucy but as a whole the story is a retread of previous novels. However, it is the conclusion that pushes this book to 4 stars as once more Crais has created an exciting and enjoyable set piece. Coupled to this is the support we have for Cole as he fights against the injustices in life.

I would not recommend this as the first Elvis Cole novel to read but I would still rate it as very good. Perhaps the series will develop slightly in the future to revert this slow downward slide of a continuingly excellent series?
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2001
A little slow at the start, Craise manages to weave quite a tale out of seemingly disparate story lines. I stayed late at work to read the last thirty or so pages because I didn't want to wait until after the drive home to find out what happened!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 July 2004
If you have yet to begin the marvelous Elvis Cole series by Robert Crais, you've got a great treat ahead of you! Few series get off to a stronger start than Mr. Crais did with The Monkey's Raincoat, which won both the Anthony and Macavity awards for best novel while being nominated for the Edgar and Shamus awards as well. Stalking the Angel followed powerfully with classic noir style of the 1930s hard-boiled detective up against evil moderated with wise cracks. Lullaby Town updated the 1930s detective stories about Hollywood, and kept the same cynicism about Tinsel Town. Free Fall looked hard at the corruptibility of the police and found them wanting. Voodoo River added a love interest for Elvis to make him more vulnerable and appealing. And the books just keep getting better from there in their characterizations, action, story-telling and excitement.
Elvis Cole is the star attraction, the co-owner of The Elvis Cole Detective Agency. He's now 40ish, ex-Army, served in Vietnam, ex-security guard, has two years of college, learned to be a detective by working under George Feider, a licensed P.I. for over 40 years, does martial arts as enthusiastically as most people do lunch, and is fearless but not foolish. He's out to right the wrongs of the world as much as he is to earn a living. Elvis has a thing for Disney characters (including a Pinocchio clock), kids, cats, scared clients and rapid fire repartee. He drives a Jamaica yellow 1966 Corvette Stingray convertible, and usually carries a Dan Wesson .38 Special.
His main foil is partner, Joe Pike, an ex-Marine, ex-cop who moves quietly and mysteriously wearing shades even in the dark . . . when he's not scaring the bad guys with the red arrows tattooed on his deltoids, which are usually bare in sleeveless shirts. Although he has an office with Elvis, Pike spends all of his time at his gun shop when not routing the bad guys with martial arts while carrying and often using enough firepower to stop a tank. Pike rarely speaks . . . and never smiles. A standing gag is trying to catch Pike with a little twitch of his lips indicating he might possibly be amused. But he's there when you need him. He drives a spotless red Jeep.
Robert Parker's Spenser is the obvious character parallel for Elvis, but Spenser and Elvis are different in some ways. Cole is more solitary, usually being alone when he's not working. Cole is very much L.A. and Spenser is ultra blue collar Boston. Cole is martial arts while Spenser boxes and jogs. What they have in common is that they're both out to do the right thing, with money being unimportant. They both love to crack wise as they take on the bad guys. The bad guys hate the "humor" in both cases, and can't do much about it. The dialogue written for each is intensely rich.
Mr. Crais has a special talent for making you care about his characters, especially the clients and their kids. You'll want to know what happens to them. With a lot of experience in script writing, Mr. Crais also knows how to set the scene physically and make you feel it. He may be out finest fiction writer about physical movement. He gives you all the clues to picture what's going on . . . but draws back from giving so much detail that you can't use your own imagination to make things better.
On to Sunset Express, the sixth book in the series. The title refers life in the fast lane of the Southern California rich and famous.
The book opens with a fast-moving prologue in which a murder victim is found in the hills just off Mulholland Drive overlooking L.A., the police follow up, and the murder weapon used to kill Susan Martin is found near her home. The husband looks to be good for the crime. But he's Teddy Martin, celebrity restauranteur to the stars. That's a problem. As Detective Sergeant Dan "Tommy" Tomsic observes, "It's easier to cut off your own . . . leg than convict a rich man in this state, detective."
Elvis is hired by Martin's legendary defense attorney, Jonathan Green, to check out whether one of the detectives, Angela Rossi, may have planted the murder weapon at the Martin home. She checks out clean, and then Elvis is given suspect leads to follow up. One of the leads quickly turns up two dead suspects. Suddenly, Green and his associates are spending more time smearing Ms. Rossi and manipulating the press than they are finding the guilty parties. What gives? Angered, Elvis quits and looks to right the wrong.
Unless you've been away on another planet for the last 20 years, you will notice some parallels to the OJ Simpson case. The plot is quite inventive in working out the details in another way, however. In fact, this story is very much in the John Grisham school of dirty lawyer tales. There's not much mystery here, but a lot of good plot and character development. I graded the book down for insufficient mystery. In this story, it's Lucy who becomes a more complex and interesting character.
The main appeal of this book to me was Elvis sandwiching in a visit from Lucy Chenier, the Louisiana lawyer from Voodoo River, and her son, Ben. It made Elvis more real and appealing as a character.
This book is structured like a short story (the initial crime investigation) and three connected novellas (Elvis working for the lawyers, Elvis entertaining Lucy and Ben, and Elvis working against the lawyers).
After you finish the book, I suggest that you think about the dangers inherent in our society's cult of celebrities. Where could you improve your life by paying more attention to sound values than to what is popular on television?
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 July 2004
If you have yet to begin the marvelous Elvis Cole series by Robert Crais, you've got a great treat ahead of you! Few series get off to a stronger start than Mr. Crais did with The Monkey's Raincoat, which won both the Anthony and Macavity awards for best novel while being nominated for the Edgar and Shamus awards as well. Stalking the Angel followed powerfully with classic noir style of the 1930s hard-boiled detective up against evil moderated with wise cracks. Lullaby Town updated the 1930s detective stories about Hollywood, and kept the same cynicism about Tinsel Town. Free Fall looked hard at the corruptibility of the police and found them wanting. Voodoo River added a love interest for Elvis to make him more vulnerable and appealing. And the books just keep getting better from there in their characterizations, action, story-telling and excitement.
Elvis Cole is the star attraction, the co-owner of The Elvis Cole Detective Agency. He's now 40ish, ex-Army, served in Vietnam, ex-security guard, has two years of college, learned to be a detective by working under George Feider, a licensed P.I. for over 40 years, does martial arts as enthusiastically as most people do lunch, and is fearless but not foolish. He's out to right the wrongs of the world as much as he is to earn a living. Elvis has a thing for Disney characters (including a Pinocchio clock), kids, cats, scared clients and rapid fire repartee. He drives a Jamaica yellow 1966 Corvette Stingray convertible, and usually carries a Dan Wesson .38 Special.
His main foil is partner, Joe Pike, an ex-Marine, ex-cop who moves quietly and mysteriously wearing shades even in the dark . . . when he's not scaring the bad guys with the red arrows tattooed on his deltoids, which are usually bare in sleeveless shirts. Although he has an office with Elvis, Pike spends all of his time at his gun shop when not routing the bad guys with martial arts while carrying and often using enough firepower to stop a tank. Pike rarely speaks . . . and never smiles. A standing gag is trying to catch Pike with a little twitch of his lips indicating he might possibly be amused. But he's there when you need him. He drives a spotless red Jeep.
Robert Parker's Spenser is the obvious character parallel for Elvis, but Spenser and Elvis are different in some ways. Cole is more solitary, usually being alone when he's not working. Cole is very much L.A. and Spenser is ultra blue collar Boston. Cole is martial arts while Spenser boxes and jogs. What they have in common is that they're both out to do the right thing, with money being unimportant. They both love to crack wise as they take on the bad guys. The bad guys hate the "humor" in both cases, and can't do much about it. The dialogue written for each is intensely rich.
Mr. Crais has a special talent for making you care about his characters, especially the clients and their kids. You'll want to know what happens to them. With a lot of experience in script writing, Mr. Crais also knows how to set the scene physically and make you feel it. He may be out finest fiction writer about physical movement. He gives you all the clues to picture what's going on . . . but draws back from giving so much detail that you can't use your own imagination to make things better.
On to Sunset Express, the sixth book in the series. The title refers life in the fast lane of the Southern California rich and famous.
The book opens with a fast-moving prologue in which a murder victim is found in the hills just off Mulholland Drive overlooking L.A., the police follow up, and the murder weapon used to kill Susan Martin is found near her home. The husband looks to be good for the crime. But he's Teddy Martin, celebrity restauranteur to the stars. That's a problem. As Detective Sergeant Dan "Tommy" Tomsic observes, "It's easier to cut off your own . . . leg than convict a rich man in this state, detective."
Elvis is hired by Martin's legendary defense attorney, Jonathan Green, to check out whether one of the detectives, Angela Rossi, may have planted the murder weapon at the Martin home. She checks out clean, and then Elvis is given suspect leads to follow up. One of the leads quickly turns up two dead suspects. Suddenly, Green and his associates are spending more time smearing Ms. Rossi and manipulating the press than they are finding the guilty parties. What gives? Angered, Elvis quits and looks to right the wrong.
Unless you've been away on another planet for the last 20 years, you will notice some parallels to the OJ Simpson case. The plot is quite inventive in working out the details in another way, however. In fact, this story is very much in the John Grisham school of dirty lawyer tales. There's not much mystery here, but a lot of good plot and character development. I graded the book down for insufficient mystery. In this story, it's Lucy who becomes a more complex and interesting character.
The main appeal of this book to me was Elvis sandwiching in a visit from Lucy Chenier, the Louisiana lawyer from Voodoo River, and her son, Ben. It made Elvis more real and appealing as a character.
This book is structured like a short story (the initial crime investigation) and three connected novellas (Elvis working for the lawyers, Elvis entertaining Lucy and Ben, and Elvis working against the lawyers).
After you finish the book, I suggest that you think about the dangers inherent in our society's cult of celebrities. Where could you improve your life by paying more attention to sound values than to what is popular on television?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
Sunset Express is basically a variation of the notorious OJ Simpson case: a celebrity restauranteur, Teddy Martins, is accused of killing his wife. But his million-dollar-an-hour lawyers soon unearth claims from a couple crooks and an ex-cop that maybe one of the detectives planted evidence, which is when Elvis Cole (The World's Greatest Detective--HIS words, not mine), is called onto the case as a sort of independent body to investigate.

Aside from a slightly long and, ultimately unnecessary, prologue, the plot hooked me early on. However, about halfway through (and that's generous--a little earlier than that) the plot becomes obvious and loses its drive. Maybe Crais left around too many red herrings, or maybe I'm good at spotting these things ahead of time, but I soon lost interest; the suspense was killed by the predictability of it all. And as the novel neared its conclusion, the story kind of petered out anyway. On top of that, the actual ending in which Elvis Cole confronts one of the bad guys and vows to ruin his life seemed tacked on, as if the publisher wasn't happy that the book had been left with no definitive resolution.

Overall, it's a quick-moving, albeit average, slice of fluff. I'd recommend it if you can find a cheap bargain bucket copy, or if you've read other Crais novels before.

Otherwise, go straight to L. A. Requiem and don't look back.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 December 2010
I'm a fan and I think I have given all the other Crais books I have read 4 stars - this is the first time I have dropped to 3. Why? Well despite the usual strong characterisation, wit and charm, the plot here is thin and far too obvious. So you enjoy the journey but most things are signposted and expected so you are not sufficiently surprised.

Elvis (with minor support from Pike) is asked to check on an LAPD officer to validate corruption claims as part of a high profile murder case. After a while Elvis realises all is not what it seems.....

And while this is going on Elvis is trying to impress the lady in his life, but not everything is working out there either.....

So the usual ingredients but when baked together the final product is okay but not outstanding. Unusual for Crais but this is still very readable.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 30 October 2016
While I have had my issues with the Elvis Cole mysteries by Robert Crais, I’ve still found them enjoyable enough to continue listening to them on audio. I’m glad, too, since Sunset Express is the best in the series to date.

It’s been three months since we last saw PI Elvis Cole and his partner Joe Pike. They’ve been hired by Jonathan Green, something of a legend in the defense attorney crowd, as part of his latest case. Teddy Martin, a rich kid who has gotten richer thanks to his restaurants, has been arrested for killing his wife, and the Big Green Defense Machine is trying to find anything they can to prove his innocence. They initially hire Elvis to see if there is anything to the rumors that the cop who found the murder weapon plants evidence, but it isn’t long before Elvis is also tracking down tips that come into the tip hotline that’s been set up.

But something doesn’t feel right to Elvis, and the more he gets involved in the case, the more he feels that way. Is he helping an innocent man? Or is he being set up himself?

The plot of this book is a lot of fun. Things slow down for Elvis and us a bit at one point, but that is the only issue with the pacing. In fact, it builds to a wonderful climax that had me glad I had several hours in the car planned so I could see how everything played out. Plus, he didn’t have to resort to a dues ex machina ending to resolve things this time around.

In addition to Elvis and Joe, we also get a couple of characters who return from the previous book in the series. I was thrilled to see them, especially since it meant that, for once, Elvis didn’t have women throwing themselves at him. That’s been an irritant for me in earlier books as every available woman seemed to want to go to bed with Elvis. Anyway, we actually get several cameos from previous books, and that’s a fun touch. We also get some great new characters here that were created just for this story.

Even with everything else firing on all cylinders, the author still can’t stop himself from putting in a scene that serves little purpose except to increase the foul language count. Yes, I know people use it, but there is a scene where we didn’t need to hear it and does little more than pad the word count with swear words. That’s my only real complaint with the novel.

David Stuart took over as the narrator on this audio book. I must admit I had to adjust to his take on things and the characters, especially Joe Pike. But as I got into the story, I noticed the changes less and less. If you go into this book with no preconceived ideas, you won’t notice at all because he really did a great job with the narration.

When Robert Crais is on, his books are great. Sunset Express is a fantastic PI novel and addition to the Elvis Cole and Joe Pike series. Here’s hoping the next is just as strong.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse