Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
125
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 June 2012
I 'assumed' as I liked Peter James' Roy Grace novels that I might enjoy other works. Wrong. This was poor- an unoriginal and irritating mish mash of The Omen and Rosemarys Baby.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2008
Phenomenal! I lived this book and i defy you as a reader not to experience the truth as well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2009
This my 1st Peter James book, I have got to admit I got it due to such positive reviews on Amazon. When I 1st started reading it, I really thought I had made a mistake as thought abit slow, I didn`t want to quit it though. Boy glad I didn`t, it got me hooked, I couldn`t put it down..it keep me on the edge of my seat, it was mind blowing & kept me desperate to know what happpened..(don`t want to give away anything) must say though Kundz is seriously weird. When I completed the book it left me creeped out, however upset it was finished. So a warning has to be given...this book is addictive & an excellent chilling read. If you love chilling, occult books you will love this. Looking forward to more addictive Peter James`s books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2009
When I realised the plot involved devil worshippers, I wondered how plausible it could be. But the tension builds up right from the beginning and what happens to the characters seems completely plausible. I read this book very quickly, with bated breath and couldn't put it down. Even if you don't believe in pure evil, this story shows that many people do, and the lengths they will go to further their aims. It makes you wonder about the source of evil doings around us, and how vulnerable we may be to them unknowingly . The writing is intelligent and informed too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2015
I really enjoyed the read and the more you got into the book, the more exciting it became but if I am being really honest the ending was a real disappointment and do agree with another review that it was left so unfinished you would expect a sequel to follow hence only giving it 4 stars. One point I would say is, don't let it put you off Peter James books as they are normally a gripping read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2011
I'm a big fan of Peter James. I love the Roy Grace books and have since been working my way through his other offerings. Although many of his novels (including the Grace ones) are a bit far fetched and feature 'convenient' plot resolutions, the overall reading experience is very good. Up until the last 20 pages or so I enjoyed The Truth, but the abrupt ending completely fails to explain any of the preceding mysteries and I just ended up feeling I'd wasted my time reading the book! I'm now a little cautious about bothering to buy the two remaining PJ novels that I haven't read!
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
Thanks to reading the start of the Grace series many years ago and loving his style of writing I have tried many of Peter James's more supernatural themed standalone books over recent years. This is one of those books and I really loved it. I am waiting for the price to become more reasonable so I can get it on kindle to be able to reread it. It's quite annoying to have to pay twice for the same content but in different formats. Anyway this story was really good and one of his best standalone supernatural thrillers and I look forward to rereading it one day soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2014
Having read all the Inspector Grace series, I went back to try some of Peter James' earlier stuff. Glad I did, thus was close to un-put-downable, an excellent story. Mildly disappointed with the ending but it seemed to leave an opening for a sequel which, as far as I know, has not yet emerged.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
I always enjoy Peter James, but I felt this one was so explicitly violent that it really spoiled what was a very good story. I also felt that there were far too many episodes of Susan suffering pain and it therefore became quite repetative. The main characters were well drawn, and evoked a certain amount of sympathy - an innocent couple caught up in an escalating situation from which there seemed to be no escape. The ending was chilling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
I have previously only read the Roy Grace novels by Peter James and thought I would try something else he had written. As usual the story kept you moving and guessing but I did not enjoy the occult aspect of the plot and found the ending rather unacceptable.
I'll stick with the Brighton Police in future!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99
£6.99
£2.99

Need customer service? Click here