Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 10 January 2013
Having been recently educated to the benefits of bike maintenance and cleaning I looked around for a bike stand
This one was half the price of any shop bought stand.
It is robust and I would recommend it 100% to anyone looking for a stand it is better than all my expectations and arrived very quickly.
brilliant product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 September 2015
not quite as stable as I would have hoped
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 July 2013
Considering the price, this stand is superb. Far cheaper than the competitors, it is well made and robust. Makes all maintenance tasks that little bit easier and it folds away very easily.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2013
Much more substantial than it looks in the picture. Makes cycle maintenance so much easier. Only issue might be whether the plastic clamps stand the test of time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 November 2012
Fair for the money,but I feel it would not take prolonged use.3 or 4 times per annum is about it.Main fault is the bolt holding the shaft for the jaws.The locking bolt is too short and pulls thro the soft black plastic clamp.Needs to be 10 mm longer and a washer behind the Allen headed bolt.The whole jaw assembly fell off with my bike attached.!!!!!
Some scratches on bike but they matched the ones already there !!!!
The delivery company tho were perfect
I think other reviews have had similar prob..Shame as it spoilt a good product.
22 Comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 March 2011
When I was looking to buy a bike stand, (first one I would have owned), I had got it down to two chooses. This one and one that was £30 more expensive. I opted for this one mainly due to the cost factor. All in all I have not been disappointed with it. It has helped me fix my families bikes far more quickly and effectively, (with a lot less stress).

The clamp that holds the bike is very good, I normally use it on the seat post. This puts the bike at a bit of an angle but that has never been an issue for me. It folds down nicely and fits in the corner of the garage without any problems. I didn't think the tray would be much use but it has turned out to be very helpful. Although it doesn't fit snuggly to the upper poll, (I have had to put a little bit of cardboard behind it to keep it in the same place).

The bottom clamp / bracket (where you tighten it to hold the poll in place), doesn't seem to always hold the poll fully and the poll can end up on the ground. This again has not been an issue for me as I have been working on it outside and the feet fully extended has not been an issue, but if you were doing it in a confined space that might not be so great.

It is sturdy and holds the bikes well even if you are pedalling them quickly to test the gears or chain. It makes cleaning the bikes a lot quicker and easier to get into all those little spots.

Overall I am happy with it and liked the price. I imagine if you paid a fair bit more the quality would be better but I can not knock it for the price and would recommend it.
11 Comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 August 2012
First I should say that the delivery was beyond expectation. I live in France and ordered this from Black Dog Bikes through Amazon UK on a Sunday night (so to all intense and purposes, it was Monday morning), the repair stand arrived on the Wednesday morning, that is top service.

It took little longer than 5 minutes to set up the stand and the bike hanging from its saddle post. This stand with its four leg quadpod design is not going to topple (make sure you set one of the legs dead centre front) even if you put some pressure on the bike.

My bike is a tourer and it took the weight easily and you get no more movement from the stand and bike when turning the peddles than on a Park Tool stand. The grip of the clamp feels secure and is fully adjustable for many frame sizes. The stand shown in the Amazon photos has a turning knob to do up the clamp, but I must have the latest model because the clamp (as did the two telescopic tube clamps) came with a quick release handle (see my photos on Amazon UK).

My only criticism is the tool/parts tray. In its self the tray is OK, it has a magnetic zone in the larger dish and is large enough to take nuts bolts and the like, it even has holes of varying size to accommodate some smaller tools, screwdrivers and hex keys etc. The problem is the diameter of the circular clamp, it is too wide for the upper tube and if attached where it is meant to be attached blocks peddle rotation, if the bike is at a tall working height. This though is easily remedied by adding a rubber shim to the upper pole and clamping around this.

Over all this is the perfect stand for the amateur bike mechanic, at home. It is right for the job and at an unbeatable price. Highly recommended.
review imagereview image
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 July 2011
This is my first cycle maintenancy stand although I have seen others in use. On opening the box, the quality of the finish stood out as looking good as did the constuction which was sturdier than I had expected. The spread of the feet is much wider than I had thought it would be meaning a very stable work platform. The instructions were plain and easy to understand; often for this type of product they look like someone has used google translate, badly!

Overall I would heartily recommend this product for the home mechanic - I hesitate to say professional use as some of the fitments to the legs look like they could be easily damaged with prolonged repeated use.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2012
Strong sturdy frame, however, the clamp part needs to be alot stronger as its made out of quite flimsy plastic, but i guess you get what you pay for and in my case, it'll do! If you're a serious biker and regularly use a stand, it'll be worth spending that little more.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2012
I have owned this product for about 4 months and have found it very useful. It felt solid with the legs spread out and allowed for easy all round working. The concept is great the ability to adjust height, the magnetic tray etc.

However today whilst replacing the rear deraileur and chain on my bike. The bike suddenly landed on the floor the stand was still upright. The front part with the clamp had come off. Thinking I had not tightened enough I set about putting it back together only to have the bike fall to the ground again. This time I noted that were I had tightened it the bolt had gone through the plastic. I have used some large washers and a longer bolt in the hope to spread the load over a larger area and keep the clamp in place. It seems to be working, but for how long.
11 Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)