Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

The American [Blu-ray]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£14.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 29 October 2016
It is a good film. Shot well [no pun intended]. Lovely music and the Italian countryside it's filmed in is breathtaking.
A nice easy watch with a few twists. Will watch it again at some point for sure. I would recommend it to friends.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2014
Must admit i have in recent years had mixed feelings in regards to 'George Clooney' movies, many have in my opinion been disappointing, and then, he gives us a 'gem'
often film trailers show the one or two scenes that make a film look better than it is overall, however i'm pleased to say that this film is as good as it looked.
In my opinion this film is one of 'George Clooney's' best role in reletively recent times.(Another being 'The Decendants')
He plays 'Jack' who 'constructs' precision weapons for 'hit's'
Throughout the film you do get the feeling, despite having gone to a remote Italian town, that he's being watched, he is a target.
He falls for prostitute 'Clara' (Violante Placido) and wants this to be his last job, but will he be allowed to step down.
The film is a tense affair that should keep you interested.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 August 2017
Fantastic movie. Probably one of my favourites of all time. Clooney is simply brilliant in this, probably his best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 April 2011
The American won't appeal to everyone - especially anyone looking for a straight thriller. Although it has all the trappings of a thriller (hitman on the run, one last job etc), that aspect of the plot is treated almost incidentally which at times can be frustrating. It's more the story of a man past redemption looking for redemption and if that sounds like watching paint dry, then this probably isn't the film you're looking for. The strongest aspect of the movie is the nuanced performance from George Clooney who manages to keep the screen alive with glimpses into the inner state of his world weary hitman, portraying a man truly alone and adrift with no emotional ties to the world. The symbolism of his growing connections to both the local priest and hooker may seem heavy handed on paper but it fits in the context of the film pretty well. The tension hiding in the plot does come to the fore towards the end of the film but by then it's too late to entirely shift either the gear or the tone and ultimately it all feels more allegorical than it probably should. I enjoyed this movie but, with it's slow pace and abandonment of most of the hollywood trappings we've come to expect from a film with this subject matter, it may leave you hungry for more action - especially when the few action scenes in the movie are so strong. Overall, with the right expectations, great movie - a slight rebalancing of action/emotion would have made it a 5 star movie for me, but 4 stars means I really enjoyed it and will watch it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2015
Chilling...slow...me like
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2015
What a rubbish movie sorry GC.Only brought it through a friends advice never again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2011
THE AMERICAN (2010) is a peculiar amalgam of a slow-moving drama interspersed with action, violence, and moderate sex. It is not the usual vehicle for George Clooney to display his acting talents. His movies frequently involve wit of some kind but not this one. 'The American' starts off with a shock which alienated me towards him from the start. But, don't get me wrong, that doesn't make it a bad movie for me, when the protagonist doesn't have my empathy.

George Clooney plays the role of Jack (aka Edward) - let's call him Jack - who is an assassin hiding out in a cabin in Sweden with his lady friend. But men are after Jack and he escapes alone to Rome where he rings his contact, a craggy-faced guy called Pavel. Pavel makes arrangements for Jack to hide out in a quiet village in Italy where he can keep his head down and keep out of trouble. He tells Jack to talk to no one and to not make friends. Jack wants out but Pavel has one last job for Jack, to craft a custom-made weapon, an extraordinary gun, but he 'doesn't even have to pull the trigger' this time, Pavel tells him.

So, Jack sets about his task, making his high-spec super-refined weapon in his rented room from bits and pieces found in a garage and elsewhere. Jack, ignoring Pavel's advice, makes friends with the local priest who sounds like The Godfather and 'confesses' to having a problem keeping his 'body parts' in his cassock. Jack, the assassin, tells the priest he has never done anything he hasn't had good cause to do. Oh, that's ok then. Jack also stops himself being bored by making friends with a number of the local prostitutes - the place is crawling with them, for such a small village too. Obviously there is a recession and day jobs are hard to come by there.

A beautiful woman is to buy the gun. But a guy keeps watching them. And soon Jack can't tell his friends from his enemies. Could he ever?

Laughing apart, I enjoyed it. It was unexpected and in a way a refreshing change from gung ho heroics.

Based on a novel by Martin Booth, available at Amazon.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2011
If you're expecting a brash American blockbuster with George Clooney wise-cracking his way through it, think again.

This ia a very European film, beautifully observed, beautifully filmed, slow moving and sometimes low on dialogue. George Clooney gives a superb, subdued performance as the insular assassin hiding out in stunning Italian countryside. The Italian and Belgian leading ladies are also superb - and ever so sexy.

I feel this is a marvellous film, one of the best of 2010. However, I accept that some movie-goers would have preferred a brash guns-and-explosions American extravaganza, and those people are likely to be a little puzzled and perhaps even slightly disappointed. This film probably has more in common with "Cinema Paradiso" than with "Ocean's Eleven". A teen movie it ain't.
33 Comments| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2015
This is such a great movie. The key character role is subtly played by Clooney. The locations are breathtaking and Anton Corbijn's direction is beautifully understated - easy to see that a photographer is 'at the helm'. The movie has all the atmosphere of a classic film noir, and is full of suspense, right up to the last scene. I love it (despite not being a big Clooney fan).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2016
This has the pace and mood of a European film of the 1970's rather than a modern American movie, and is all the better for it.

Clooney's character, Jack, is a cold- blooded hitman and begins this moral tale by shooting a woman he has just slept with in the back.

Part of me wanted to like Jack simply because it's George Clooney but the truth is he's not a good guy. But even bad guys have opportunities for redemption.

Jack hides out in a remote Italian town and is befriended by a priest and in turn befriends a beautiful prostitute. Without truly knowing what kind of man Jack really is both priest and prostitute sense he has some dark secret in his heart. The question is, can he be saved by the power of love before his past catches up with him? Or even if his past does catch up with him, can love save him anyway? The question is not so much romantic but rather more spiritual. The butterfly motife throughout the movie, particularly in the final shot, gave me my answer.

Beautifully photographed, well written and acted by all concerned, this is a modest gem of a movie. Car chases, gun battles and explosions are all absent, but never missed. A solid four stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)