Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
121
4.5 out of 5 stars
It's Kind of a Funny Story [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 100 REVIEWERon 10 March 2017
I enjoyed this film, but my partner didn’t feel able to stay with it long enough to properly appreciate it in my opinion (hence 4 stars, rather than 5).
But, whether you like it or not, you have to admit that the story line is different from most.

Craig (very well played by Keir Gilchrist), is a 16-year old college student who has recurring nightmares about committing suicide, and feels that the stresses on him are so great that actual suicide is highly likely.

For the sake of his mother, father and young sister, he checks himself into a psychiatric hospital, but finds that teens are mixed with adults on the ward, and quickly feels that he doesn’t fit the more extreme psychological behaviours exhibited by most of the other patients.

Too late though. He cannot be released for a week, and during that time, he learns a thing or two.
In particular, “If you’re not busy being born, you’re busy dying”.

I have to give special praise to the performances of Zach Galifianakis who plays Bobby (an adult patient), and Emma Roberts who plays Noelle (a self-harming teenager).
And the disco/dance performances from the group of patients are uplifting to say the least. The Performance to Queen’s ‘Under Pressure’ is both appropriate and well worth watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
Very amusing, well made, sound performances, with some nice music. If you are bi-polar watch it on one of your good days and don't get too serious about the issues covered.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
I found this film by chance. As I have experienced severe depression I wanted to watch it. I have to say it was better than I expected. Sad, sweet, moving and sometimes very funny. Not everyone gets a real life happy ending but it puts your problems into perspective. There's always someone worse off than yourself. Grab the good times with both hands, "Life is to be enjoyed not endured..."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2017
I never read the book but the film it's really good. I can't judge but I think that could help people in getting over the situation. Sometimes we though we are the only one in a particular situation. I'ts not!!! Just take a breath touch the ground and push you up again. Life it's like wave, you go up and down but you always grow up again. So never gave up!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2016
Normally I don't write reviews for films, but I had to make an exception for this film. It's a really sweet, heart warming film. If ever you've been stuck in a hard place, this film hits on some of those notes but suggests solutions for making things better.
The key point it really emphasises is that just one individual can make the world of a difference.
Give the film a try :)!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Something everyone should watch. A great film with a good balance of happy and sad. Helps understanding of dealing with mental illness. Really enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2017
Excellent drama written and acted with compassion
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
I really laughed it was very funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
I LOVED this movie! Real, raw, deep, inspirational... Makes me reanalyse what intellect really is and how various illusions that we cling to ourselves build walls called depression or just sadness... Many thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2017
Enjoyable, funny and poignant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)