Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
81
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.65+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 March 2011
The orchestrations on this recording are sublime, the choice of songs perfect and Wynne's voice so beautiful. As well as the power one would expect from an opera singer, Wynne's voice has a gentleness to it which melts the heart. E Lucevan Le Stelle is amazing and enough to make a grown man cry - I know that because it brought a tear to the eye of my husband! It is a beautiful cd, one to play loudly in the car but also one to play quietly whilst relaxing on the sofa with a glass of wine in hand. A very classy cd indeed. Pure quality.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
I am sorry, but I think"Georges" in his review must be listening to a different c.d. as was I
No way could this gentleman be compared with the late great Mario Lanza,
This c.d. is o.k., but compared to the maestro, no way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2017
The CD was very nice when played. Only downside to it was a crack in the outer casing near the hinge so if you are not careful when opening the case it drops on the floor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2016
My Mum loves it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2011
This is a great CD. Unlike some of the other 'opera singers' doing the rounds, this bloke is a real singer and it shows! His voice is so powerful, yet sensitively used! Excellent orchestral arrangements and the voice is well recorded!
This is a lovely collection. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2011
Wynne Evans has headed the lists of the most hated man in television adverts. He is the vocalist with the curly moustaches and in your face delivery.

Apart from obviously having quite a sense of humour he is also, away from selling a website, a magical professional tenor vocalist produced from years of study and training.

In an interview, Wynne Evans paid tribute to the late, great Mario Lanza and made no bones about the fact most of the tracks on this CD were previously recorded by Lanza. So what's the difference?

Quite a big one. Lanza had a harder, more diamond edged vocal mitigated by a warm, smoky accent. Wynne Evans, by contrast, is as precise as Lanza but with more characterisation allied to the lyric content and a sweeter tone. You get the sense with each song he instantly drops into the rôle. Two tracks, one following the other illustrate this well. The first, 'E lucevan le stelle' from 'Tosca', is frankly, beautiful. The vocal acting is quite different. Lanza sings from the torment of Cavaradossi's anguish; Evans from the same but with a more convincing gentleness in the Tosca 'moments'. The following track is a medley of 'Core Ingratio' and 'Torna a Surriento'- the ice cream songs as they've come to be known, particularly in reference to Pavarotti's concerts. In these, Evans is every bit Lanza's equal and these renditions earn their place on this CD. I think the greatest contrast between Lanza and Evans is that Evans is by far the better vocal actor. That isn't to say if Lanza were around today this would be so. Standards were very different when Lanza was recording. There were 'concert' voices and 'opera stage' voices and one of the reasons opera got such a bad press was the acting skills didn't match the sublime vocal ones.

In fact, there isn't a single track on this CD that won't please. My favourite, partly because it's rare to hear a male vocalist take it on these days, is 'Over There'. Fans of James Cagney's portrayal of George M. Cohan will remember he wrote this during World War I when the US army joined Britain's war against the Kaiser. Within months it was the most popular song at the music halls usually sung by a winsome beauty.

Wynne Evans' version has wonderful diction, is deeply evocative creating a real sense of the atmosphere of the old music halls plus an enthusiastic backing choir. It's fun and its inclusion works well with the more earnest tracks such as 'Ave Maria' and 'The Lord's Prayer'.

I would like to hear much more, for instance, Giordano's 'André Chénier', or Leoncavallo's 'Pagliacci'. In the meantime I've no hesitation at all in recommending this collection. It is 'easy listening', but the best kind to be had.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2011
This guy has the most beautiful voice I have heard since Mario Lanza who I adored. But this guy I think just beats mario because the recordings are much better for a start plus the emotion in the voice. Listening to him I can honestly say brought tears to my eyes. This guy is pure genius with his singing. Is he married? lol .... I could marry him just for his voice. Beautiful, wonderful, can't think of enough great words to describe this guy's voice.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2011
Like most of the reviewers, my first introduction to Wynne Evans was via the Gocompare commercial. The character is ludicrous (he is of course intended to be), but it was immediately obvious to me that the voice was something else. Later on he was interviewed on RTÉ Lyric FM and was revealed as a Welshman with a warm sense of humour and as I suspected, a truly fabulous voice. I have to say at this point that the tenor voice has never held very much appeal for me, partly due to over-exposure on radio of such numbers as "O Sole Mio" and "La Donna e Mobile." Mr. Evans has changed all that. After listening to the radio interview I looked him up on Amazon and discovered his debut album "A song in my Heart." The sample tracks on the Amazon website are a great help in listening to a preview of the numbers on the disc. His singing seems effortless, including those incredible top Cs. This apparent ease is of course the mark of all truly great performers. That's it - I was bowled over and could not wait to order. What a production this is, with a whole variety of different numbers and beautifully arranged orchestral backing. The disc now has a home in the CD player of my car and is a wonderful accompaniment to my every journey. Give us more!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2011
Wonderful songs, beautifully sung. An added bonus - the notes reveal a grounded family man, young enough to enjoy this well-deserved success and old enough not to be carried away by it. His Mother would have been proud. If you only buy one CD this year then make it this one. You will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)