Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
14
4.5 out of 5 stars
Wo warst Du?
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.97+ £1.26 shipping


on 22 October 2017
Despite the German title given to this version of the dvd, it's a film made in Spanish entitled "En tu ausencia". It is masterminded by Ivan Noel, who wrote the guidelines for the script (which is largely improvised by the, mostly amateur, actors), directed the photography, trained the actors and wrote and played the intensely beautiful and profound music. Just as interesting as the story itself is the discusssion in English between Noel and the principal adult actor about the making of the film. I'm wondering what became of the brilliant young protagonist, Gonzalo Sánchez Salas, who by now must be in his early twenties and does not seem to have continued in an acting career. I would thoroughly recommend this unusual and very moving film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2016
Much better all round than Hollywood rubbish
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2015
Excellent quality dvd movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2014
This i seen on youjube and it is a very well made film set in Spain seen through the eyes of a young boy age 13 and its a classic for all those with a open mind open heart based on this young Pablo a great film everyone should see and enjoy. A great story about what this young boy is going through one not to miss. A boy who lost his dad to death and is looking for someone to fit in his dads place who to trust who not to and gossip injustice a great fab brill film im going to by very soon. Set in beautiful Spain
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2016
Well made, excellent film. Sensitively shot.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2016
A beautifully filmed coming of age story
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2017
This was a writer/director’s first attempt at a feature film made on a practically-zero budget. He took a cast of amateurs and let them develop the dialogue through improvisation. Oh, and the principal character was a young teen with no prior acting experience.

It should have been a disaster, but Ivan Noel’s raw talent and sheer chutzpah as an author, cinematographer, drama coach and musician (he also wrote the haunting original score) spawned this thought-provoking, compelling drama. It’s a film of outstanding visual beauty (helped by the rural Andalusian backdrop) with some great (at times chilling) performances from the neophyte actors.

This is not an action movie. It’s a subtle tale, at times gentle, at others disturbing, with a climatic twist that hits you from behind. Of course it has its share of continuity errors and plot-holes but in terms of low-budget independent cinema, it ranks in my all-time top 10.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2013
I fell in love with the characters, and the atmosphere of the film, it was beautifully scripted and so very honest. It will be a film I remember for many a long day and would reccomend it to my discerning friends, it's my film of 2013. Excellent.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
I brought this film from amazon when I watched it it was so powerful film as in a nice film the acting was good I recommend to anyone
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2015
What a weird film, I have no idea what the writer was trying to say. I thought it was a bit long drawn out and I could have told you the story in two minutes. it was about hypocrisy and of secrets, which were really just normal every day life in small villages. The scenery was amazing and well shot. A good advert for Spain, but not needed . The young boy was pleasing to the eye, as was the girl. I knew a girl very much like her.. It was not a good film though, a chapter showed trees with string, going from tree to tree and with colours, why. The film was just so frustrating, I watched it but not again
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)