Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
39
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 August 2017
There are lots of India travel vlogs online which are great but these films by Caroline Quentin take the learning to a higher level.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2017
Worth watching really interesting . Caroline is so good. Quick delivery recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
I love this series especially when Caroline meets the snake catcher.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
This is a made-for-television film in three parts, and is very good, well worth a look. However, the picture quality is not good, too soft and unsharp; below the standards one should expect, even for a DVD as opposed to a HD version. That said, it's no worse in this respect than many other DVDs, but there are far too many DVDs on the market with poor visual quality. Is this a ploy to persuade people to move to BlueRay HD? Some films are not worth the extra expense of HD, but that's no excuse for poor DVD technical quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This three part series is good in parts. Firstly the photography is amazing. If you turned off the soundtrack, the filming is so outstanding that it would stand up in its own right. If you know India and love the country you are really are going to enjoy Caroline Quentin's amazing 4,000 mile journey. If you have not been there, but have a lively interest it will pique your interest and make you want to visit.

Interestingly the route is not totally predictable. Starting in the North, the tour completely bypasses Delhi and Jaipur the pink city, which is arguably a mistake as there is plenty of interest there. There is a brief, tourist orientated stop at the Taj Mahal, but then we move on to Jodphur which is perhaps not the most predictable staging post.

Caroline Quentin's commentary varies. Sometimes it can be described as excellent, particularly when giving an overview of places she is about to visit in classic travelogue fashion. At other time it does not work so well. The references to her craving for her hubby making bacon and eggs in Devon and the WI in Tiverton are doubtless intended to be down to earth, or possibly humorous, but really grate and are completely out of tune with the wonderful surroundings she is travelling through - happily these comments are confined to the earlier part of the series. However, she does seem to have a real empathy with the many interesting locals she meets and the people do add lot to this series and to a large extent are what makes India. In general the commentary seems to improve as the tour progresses.

This is not a totally candy covered appraisal of India. We see the pilgrims bathing in the Ganges and get a nitty gritty description of what is floating around in the water. Although we see the tourist sites, like the Taj Mahal and the Golden Fort in Jaisalmer, we also visit the surrogate mothers' clinic where rich westerners pay poor Indian women to carry their babies and we see the slum families living under sheets of plastic who, despite extreme poverty, care for the local stray dogs.

So to summarise, this is a series which I would highly recommend. Whilst you may criticise the delivery, India is a wonderful country and to a large extent this captures the essence.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2012
We really enjoyed this. Caroline Quentin's fresh view, her enthusiasm for joining in, and her obvious enjoyment of all she saw and experienced made this a very enjoyable jaunt through India. She asks questions, explores, and gives us a slightly different angle than other travelogues I've seen.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
I found "A Passage Through India" to be quite interesting and colourful with good picture quality and sound.
Nevertheless the remarks or comments throughout the filming were in my opinion so exaggerated and unnatural to the point of being absurd.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
being myself on business in India an excellent presentation of India today. Recommended to all who are planing to see India. .
Congratulations to Mrs Quentin.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
This is an absolute brilliant dvd & well worth buying. We did see some of this on tv but sat & watched the dvd in total silence - you could hear a pin drop we were so captured. An excellent purchase & worth every penny & more. Hope she does another "Passage".
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)