Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
30
4.1 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 January 2013
It's full of practical suggestions about how should focus your efforts managing a project on the most important areas that will make it more likely your project will be a success. I enjoyed it and have used some of the ideas successfully.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
This book teaches you a lot of what seems obvious rules.
Having read the book, and practiced some of the authors tips, I have become a VERY lazy project manager,
with plenty of free time.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2015
Great value for money.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2009
Peter does an outstanding job of linking a simple concept, the lazy PM, to talk through the must activities of any project manager. What makes it interesting are the real life experiences that back up the theory.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2009
So, how to review a book on Project Management with cited references that include Pareto, Mowgli/The Bare Necessities, and Monty Python?!

Answer:- By applying the "Lazy" principles of the Book. So I would say buy it, read it, keep it close to hand, revisit it, apply it, and relate it to what you currently do.

Will you be a better project manager having read the book? - YES

Will it improve your work/life balance (an objective of the author)? - NOT CONVINCED, but you could well be happier which is a pretty good outcome.

This book is not a complete or detailed PM manual and makes a point of saying so.

The layout of the book applies the author's " lazy" thinking i.e. 100 pages or so covering all the material broadly organised into project start, middle and end; then, to help the lazy, bullet pointed on an 80/20 basis; then, for the seriously lazy, a further 80/20 summarisation of the summary.

The book is an easy read but underpinning it are sound and important messages and experiences.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2011
This book would be better if only the 6% list at the end was published. Nothing more than common sense and a couple of interesting war stories. More like how to be a lazy writer.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2011
This feels like a classic case of a great short story turned into a big book. It waffles and ambles through the same point over and over agaim. I'm glad others have enjoyed it, just wish I'd read a review like this before I'd spent my money.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2012
I remember reading this as an article about two years ago and thought at the time it did put forward the good point about ensuring that your project has firm foundations. The book has expanded on this article and does repeat the same points a few times but as the Kindle version is not expensive then it is still worth buying. The style of writing is informal and as the book is about 100 pages it does not take long to read.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2015
I'm a senior PM, the book is well written but its only one main idea on it. The rest you can find it in other books.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2011
I thought about buying this book but then I thought about the effort required to read it, so I decided not to.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)