Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
7
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 October 2002
This marriage of classical music with folk-singing is achingly beautiful. If you heave heard "Chants d'Auvergne" by Canteloube then you have some idea how sweet and melancholy this is. The large chamber orchestra plays melodically and the singing has the bright clarity of Kathy Jordan (lead singer of Dervish). The story of Granuaile, the female pirate, would make a good feature film as well. Add to that the occasional folk fiddle, harp, uillean pipes and choir, and you have an hour of beautiful music. You thought that they don't make 'em like this anymore.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
I bought the CD some years ago - then lost it, although I still have the cover and sleeve-notes, so I purchased the mp3.
Davey and Connolly tell a magnificent story.
Their superb music paints a memorable picture.
Visited Clew Bay and Achill about 5 years ago, bought the book 'Granuaile' by Anna Chambers, (ISBN 978-0-7171-4582-9.)
Read that while listening to some tremendously exciting music.
I have always admired Shaun Davey's music. Rita Connolly has a powerful and engaging voice. The collaboration with Liam O'Flynn ... the best of Uillean Pipers ... is inspired.
Truly glorious!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2012
I've owned my copy of this for years, and I never tire of it. The whole suite is outstanding, Shaun Davey's exceptional skill as a composer, combined with Rita Connolly's incredible, magnificent vocal performance create perfection in music.
Having researched the life of Granuaile, sometimes known as 'Ireland's Pirate Queen' for years, I find that this music illustrates her life story very clearly, with fact as well as legend referred to. I can easily drive around Clew Bay and the surrounding parts of Counties Mayo and Galway (where Granuaile lived) for several days listening to this music, and never feel anything other than how perfectly it suits the surroundings.
I would urge anyone with a love of traditional and orchestral music to listen to this, as the two are beautifully combined. You do not need to be already familiar with the life of Granuaile described in the lyrics, but I think you will find your interest caught very quickly! For those who already know something of her, you won't be disappointed!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2011
This album sounds fresher, newer and more brilliant with each play. A real Celtic icon. Rita Connolly has a voice that is to music as Van Gogh is to painting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
read a fantastic book on Granuaile and cant even give it away yo anyone. having the music tell the storey give a much more visual picture as the music dictates the mood. great cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
I bought this album on a cassette several years ago in Waterford so I was delighted to find I could still get it as a download.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2016
Excellent album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)