Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
11
4.5 out of 5 stars


TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 16 December 2015
Still love this album. Major Lazer / Diplo has a great ear for picking vocalists/collaborators and working them into the overall sound. From
some very funky modern reggae, to grind and some crazy little skitz, Lazer mashes up the sounds into a cohesive record that has good variety
but still flows from start to finish with some banging madness in-between. I love how upbeat the album is and how much energy it has, it's pretty hard to listen to this and not want to move about to the awesome bass lines that swing from dub to dancehall with very strong and slick production. An awesome album for a hot summer, move about to, work-out to or just have playing to start a night of with friends...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2009
Bought off the back of 'Hold the Line', the first half of this album is great. And it doesn't suffer from the shoddy production that spoils a lot of new Reggae for me.

Top quality tunes, bar a couple of skits that will be skipped after a few listens.

[The second half isn't as instant as the first, but it does benefit from repeated listening.]
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2011
....absolutely right, and I will tell all my colleagues at the psychiatric hospital where I work; Guns don't kill people: lazers do. In the meantime, Major Lazer saves lives by swing. Great record! With MIA and Santigold to boot. Buy without fear.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2010
It's a fantastic mashup of various styles and I love every tune on the Album, except one which is a little too vocoder heavy and a little bit commercial, the rest of it however is booty shaking madness.

The bass lines are heavy, the tunes catchy and there's enough variation on the Album to keep it fresh after repeated play through's.
I purchased after hearing "Pon De Floor" and didn't expect to like the rest of the tunes quite so much.

Honestly, the freshest Album I've heard this year.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
Occasionally crass, occasionally questionable, occasionally obnoxious. Lyrically, no different than most rap music and very much tongue in cheek in tone (listen to What U Like and you'll know what I mean...). The music provided and produced by Diplo (and the many dub and reggae artists) is just, in short, banging. Its perfect for starting a night out, partying, gymming it.
For those who want to try some dub and dancehall (as opposed to dubstep) and to those wanting to listen to what's coming out of the caribbean, this is a great place to start...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2012
No, it's not your usual, boring cd full of poptunes to make as much money for the artist as he can!
It's a crazy cd full of refreshing tunes with bleeps, tunes and all kinds of noises!!!
First time we listened to this cd was in the car on holiday, we both enjoyed it with a big smile!!!
You will feel better after listening to this cd!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
I bought this as i had lost (or someone stole) my original copy. Sooooo many wicked tracks on this album Cash Flow, Pon De Floor, Jump up, Sound Of Siren, Bruk Out, Hold The Line to name a few. You cant help but dance non stop to this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2011
This offering from the major has to be one of the most playable dancehall albums of the decade it's by far the most varied body of material that's been released recently and proper entertaining from start to finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
some cracking tracks. Some not so hot. C'est la vie. Turn it up, let it go
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 20 December 2009
Major Lazer is a collaboration project from Diplo and Switch. If you know Diplo or Switch you'll know that this album will be full of squelchy heavy beats, acid noises, unexpected jumps and arse-wobbling bass. That's true, but it's mixed with big doses of reggae and dancehall rhythms. The whole thing was recorded in Jamaica and you can hear it.

So on paper it's a pretty exciting project, especially looking at the amazing list of guest vocalists and the fact Afrojack and Crookers help out. But in practice it never quite takes off. "Pon De Floor" is a highlight but apart from that the whole thing feels very 'samey'. Some terribly uninspired and sexist lyrics are disappointing.

The whole 'Major Lazer' concept is fun, but wasted. It feels like a parody of the Gorillaz idea (fictional characters front the 'band') but it ends up basically not being funny, it falls flat.

Solid grooves and some very slick production, but sadly not a great end product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Know No Better
£4.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)