Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
39
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2011
Pure chance led me to this but I am so glad I ordered it - it is stunningly beautiful.

Good service - arrived quickly and a good price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2016
Wonderful music! The first disc came with the wrong CD booklet (Mahler Symphony 5) so I returned this (at a cost of 13.25€ from Austria). The replacement disc arrived on the day I had returned the first, STILL with a Mahler 5 booklet. Given the cost of returning from here I will just have to put up without the booklet. Is there any way of getting a replacement book for this disc? It would be interesting to read of the restoration of this work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2016
The problem here is that Decca only supplies Dolby Digital tracks on the DVD. Sadly, Decca just isn't together when it comes to multi-channel HD issues. So the sound is not as sharp as you would wish. But the project is imaginative and ear-opening. Striggio is not simply second-rate context for the Tallis, but a composer of real merit who uses his massed forces to great effect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
If you love the Tallis - you will love this even more, what a great musical experience. I am hoping that an opportunity will come where I can perform it. This is quite mind blowing. Trouble sleeping? Listen to this, it will really will soothe your troubled brow and ease your troubled mind.

This is a marvellous experience of pure clarity and beauty
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
Marvelous music! The beautiful and perfect fusion of more than forty different musical parts (sixty parts in Agnus Dei!) elevates the spirit up to God
It's an excellent set (CD + DVD) very warmly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
Not the least of the interest which this work generates is the story of the loss and fairly recent rediscovery of the manuscript in Paris. Technically, the recording is really good and the DVD is a great bonus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2012
I had never heard of Alessandro Striggio and this Mass in 40 parts before. This is a really great piece of music. Congratulation to the Faggiolini. If you like music of this era, you will love this record.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2016
The CD of Striggio's 40 part Mass (on Decca) is excellent. However, the sleeve notes are for Mahler's 5th (on Deutsche Grammophon) which is rather disappointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
I am very happy wit this purchase the cd is indeed in excellent condition and the music is powerfully very good. I'm pleased to commend this cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
This mass is amazing, very stirring and uplifting. Very worthy of it's popularity and very well sung by all the parts.Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)