Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
18
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 April 2013
I personally think that Frankie Howerd is one of the greatest comedians ever and this movie, the second in the 'Up' series just goes to prove that. A guaranteed 'must see', equally as good as 'Up Pompeii', a real classic. Anne Aston is gorgeous, just as she was on 'The Golden Shot' but also proves that she has good acting and comedic abilities, if you buy/watch this movie you are in for one hilarious one and a half hours...enjoy!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
If you love Mr Howerd then you will like this, i Bought it to complete my collection and am not disappointed
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
Love Frankie. This is a saucy innuendo filled chuckler. If you love the carry on films you will love this.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
This film starts well, with a good title song and a decent credit sequence. Even the first ten minutes are pretty solid. However, this is all short-lived. Soon enough a rubber 'droopy' lance appears, and is followed by a protracted sequence where a giant magnet is used to disarm an opposing jouster. You get the picture. The story meanders off to the crusades (leaving room for the obligatory party scene and attendant staged wardrobe malfunctions), returns to England, and completely runs out of steam. The contrivance of a camp Robin Hood is done well enough, thanks to the excellent Hugh Paddick, but is done to death in an effort to pad out the action to 85 minutes. The Up Pompeii film is good, the sequels are not. Mind you, I still bought it. More fool me.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
Frankie Howerd at his best in this one. First saw this as a movie some forty years ago. Still get a laugh after all these years
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2012
A dull spin off of Up Pompeii is what we get here Howerd plays Lurkalot (Get it?) in his usual persona (titter ye not etc....) which would be fine if the jokes weren't so predictable (men charging door with battering ram door being opened, men crashing through window etc..., bit like a Carry On without Sid James, only not as funny!) and plain not funny in places. Up Pompeii always worked best as a half hour blast the spin off film failing to maintain the gag count through feature length. This film suffers from being the left overs of what wasn't a great idea for a film in the first place.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2015
Adore this film from my childhood and wasn't disappointed to watch it again in adulthood. Ridiculous and silly, right up my alley.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
I remember when I saw this first time around a first comedy feature from a first class artist a purveyor of laughter
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2016
it is not shakespeare but it has sexy women and sexy jokes. a big bawdy boop-a-pool-lo-za
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2015
Good old bawdy comedy I especially liked the way Robin Hood is played
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)