Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
49
4.8 out of 5 stars
Price:£34.09+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2013
I am afraid I don't have the correct taster's terminology to accurately describe just how good this rum is. However, I first tried this on a trip to the carribean some years ago and was pleasantly surprised at just how smooth (& sweet) a traditional spirit can be. I have since discovered, not surprisingly, that the Eldorado 12 y.o. has won the Gold medal at the Carribean Rum Taste Test (held in London) a mere 7 times. IMHO it is unsurpassed except by other El Dorado products, the 15 & 21 y.o. Which have won similar accolades.
I have tried this on some "Single Malt" experts and they were a delighted as I was!
Don't let the price put you off this really is nectar and worth every penny *****
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2016
Bought this rum for my dad for his birthday. We both love it, it has a great flavour, very smooth. It's now his new favourite and has been added to his collection. His friends have all remarked on how great it is. The 12 year old rum is much better than the 15 year old one. Just a heads up!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
I have only been drinking rum for a couple of years but I can honestly say that of the 1/2 a dozen or so quality rums I have tried that El Dorado 12 year old is one of the smoothest rums I have tasted . Some rums seem to leave a sort of earthy or smoky taste in my mouth but this rum is superb .
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2015
Truly delicious. Had some in the Carribean 10 years ago and have remembered ever since. When you tell people you can drink it neat with ice they don't believe you till they try it. Saw it yesterday in the Lithanian Duty Free and bought a bottle (26.90 euros!). Forgotten just how nice it was and didn't realise quite what a good price that was - wish I'd bought more. Still good value at £34 especially if you get free delivery.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2016
Awesome golden rum! I can't recommend this particular brand and aged-year highly enough. Perhaps I shouldn't be so positive so I can keep it all to myself? Really though, for the money it just doesn't get any better than this. It is as it states though a darker demarara, Caribbean in-style.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2016
Amazing sipping demerara rum for the true connoisseur. What this rum is lacking in character is well compensated by it's nose and mellow and soft mouth. Perhaps the best pick of the El Dorado series on the price / quality combo. Will be certainly buying it again. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2015
I have had some friends around and tasted both this (£30) and Ron Zacapa Centenario XO Solar Gran Reserva (£90), and everyone agreed that the El Dorado was a far better tasting rum with much more complex flavours despite being 1/3 of the cost of the Ron Zacapa! It is a bit on the sweet side with hints of toffee, vanilla, tobacco and a little wood. It is a truly wonderful rum and I would highly recommend it. Just please do not use it as a mixer, it is far too nice to be wasted in that role!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2016
Nice enough drink, but not worth the money in my view. There are better rums at this price. I much prefer Flor De Cana 7 year old, which is far superior to this. I was expecting better from El D if I'm honest. Probably won't buy again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2016
When you first pop the cork you are greeted by sweet, fruity/spicy tones and perhaps floral notes?! There is something there that I can't quite describe.

In the glass, it isn't quite as dark as it's older brother and is lighter than in the bottle. .

Tasting: Again sweet, fruit and Oak (but not as prominent as you would expect from a 12 year old)... you can tell they are ex bourbon casks used to age. This, for me, is a sipping rum and a very good one at that. Though some may find it a touch sweet (those who hate additives in Rum).

This is robust enough to mix though why would you?! If you do, try not to drown it with sugary liquids as I have mentioned this is sweet already.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2016
As a Rum enthusiast I always have a bottle of El Dorado 12 in my collection. Excellent value for money and still can't make up my mind if I prefer more the El Dorado 12 or the Diplomatico Exclusiva Reserva
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here