Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 22 March 2015
Extraordinary is an overused word. In this case it's right in the money!
Well done to Mr James Caan (do you know his birth name?) Whether it's the powerful story of his family and integrating into UK culture, or his more recent adventures in the Dragons Den, he doesn't disappoint.
As I say, this book had me crying with sadness and happiness as well as genuinely laughing aloud. Read it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2016
I have read all of the dragons books and found this one up there with a few the top 3. Really enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2016
Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2015
The first half is better than the second, it goes through more basic business strategies and how he built up his business. The second half tails off a little bit
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2017
I absolutely loved reading this book could not put it down.it has everything business,life,highs,lows and happiness thank you very much james.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
Great read! He talks to about his personal life as well as the way he works in business. Would highly recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2008
As a non-entrepreneurial woman, but not of the `certain age' who, James tells us with rather touching surprise started writing to him when he began appearing on Dragon's Den - approaches from women of all ages were, I would have thought, an occupational hazard for multi-millionaires - I found this book a terrific read.

From the moment he left school, and walked out of his shocked Muslim family's home at 16, without waiting to take his O'Levels, until he took a late `gap year' at the age of 42, James never stopped working. He was driven by a desperate desire to prove to his dearly loved, but shocked, disappointed and briefly estranged father, that his decision had been the right one. He writes: `I had to prove to dad that I could make it without him. That was the only thing that would make sense of what I had done. I had to prove him wrong.' He made his point, but it was a tough road, and not one for the weak. Sometimes he lived on cornflakes for several days at a time, and after being a cosseted Muslim son, even fending for himself was a shock to his system.

What came across most strongly for me when reading about his progress was that although he was clearly bright, his main assets were that people liked him, he was amazingly quick to learn from just watching other people at work, and he always followed his father's teaching that "successful business is not about good transactions, it's about good relationships."

His love for his wife and two daughters shines like a beacon through this fascinating book, which tells of a life that now encompasses such contrasting events as dining with princes and stumbling through Kashmir after the devastating earthquake, seeing scenes that he says `no one should have to see.' The interesting point here is that he didn't `have' to see it, he chose to go there and see it, to try and find ways in which he could help the situation.

The inside look at the making of Dragon's Den is fascinating, but not as fascinating as the amazing journey that enabled James Caan to take his seat there. Don't miss this book.
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2008
I read a lot of business biographies and this has to be up there as one of the best. It includes real insight into how and why James has made the decisions he has throughout his career, and doesn't flinch from explaining the (very few) mistakes and failures along the way. His enthusiasm and drive come through strongly. This is a great starting point for any would-be entrepreneur as well as a good booster for those of us already out there. Woven through the book is a moving human story revolving around James's relationship with his father. In all a very compelling read as well as an excellent source of business advice from someone who really knows his stuff.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2008
This book was excellent, James takes you through the journey of his business and personal life in a very easy to read and informative manner. Full of great tips and hints that can be used in all aspects of life.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2008
This book is absolutely brilliant. James' life and story is an inspiration for anyone who wishes to be successful in business and life. Its a very inspiring read that left me charged up at the end! Whoever reads this should also read Duncan Bannantyne's book.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)