Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
102
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 March 2011
In four episodes, Neil Oliver summarises thousands of years of human colonisation of Britain and takes us on a sweeping geological and archaeological journey. With excellent computer animations, visits to spectacular sites, fabulous vistas, original artefacts and interviews with specialists, Oliver entertains and informs. He maintains interest and momentum even though there is so little known about this period of history with no identified individuals, no known events or dates, and the lives and beliefs of the people having been extrapolated from a limited number of artefacts and sites.
As well as the fabulous sites such as Carnac, New Grange and Stonehenge (to name just some of the the best known), Oliver himself is a star of the series, with his full screen facial close ups to add gravitas to his words; his wry humour and his trademark flicking behind his ears of his shoulder length hair. However, his excitement and obvious interest in the people, places and objects is infectious and at times moving.
There were a few worrying moments when Oliver joined "new agers" for the summer solstice at Stonehenge but almost immediately he took this event to a more serious level. Apart from some exaggeration e.g. "this was the greatest natural disaster the earth has ever known", referring to a 10 metre tsunami off the east coast of Scotland, Oliver generally maintains a serious historical narrative.
This is an entertaining and informative series.
33 Comments| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2011
This is another excellent BBC History series this time exploring the ancient History of Britain from prehistoric times to the Roman Invasion of 43 AD.

Neil Oliver is excellent in presenting this series and his enthusiasm really rubs off. It's amazing to me how advanced Humans were thousands of years ago and the organization and manpower needed to construct places such as Stonehenge.

An interesting series and I would highly recommend this to lovers of history and archaeology.
44 Comments| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2017
Initially got this as I wanted to start learning more about British history in depth and decided that if I was going to do this I was best to start right at the beginning. I was looking more forward to getting to material on Romans, Vikings and Tudors etc where I thought it would be more interesting and that this would be a bit basic in comparison. How wrong was I! This DVD is excellent and guides us through a mysterious time that is so far ago but yet has real human input we can relate to. I thoroughly enjoyed this and now reckon that I won't enjoy the rest of the stuff as much as this it was that good. Neil Oliver is excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2016
Awesome , an amazing set of documentaries by Neil Oliver about the history of ancient Britain , had me hooked from the first disc I found these really interesting and i whent and purchased the book he wrote aswell would highly recommend
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
The series is one of the best and was followed up[ by a very good book which expands on the material on the DVD's. There has been at least one major discovery on Orkney since this was made but it would that's the problem with anything that's broadcast a year or two ago and it would be unreasonable to expect it to be up to date. Overall well presented, and a sound coverage of the material
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2017
Great product great price delivered on time Thanks you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2014
Excellent and informative! This is Oliver's best DVD and is based on his excellent book. Much better than his Coast appearances which are too much Oliver and not enough coast!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
Great show, really interesting without becoming tedious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
This series explores early British people and they lived and pretty amazing stuff to watch. My only issue this is not offer in USA too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2011
Neil Oliver's TV career continues to excel with this great archaeology series which focuses on a much neglected period of British history, namely the stone age & the bronze age. This is a great introduction to the subject and Mr Oliver (with great enthusiasm) interprets the archaeological evidence to piece together the early settlement of the british isles and the early development of british society. If you enjoy programmes such as Time Team, then this is the series for you.

5 out of 5.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)