Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
31
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
26
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 November 2016
A gift for my WW1 enthusiast partner. Really first rate productions. I was delighted that interviews with veteran nurses taken from a immensely moving documentary "The Roses of No Mans Land" was included in this as I haven't been able to find the original documentary. Many of the veterans stories and the commentary moved me to tears of pride. These people were the real Great Britons.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2015
When this series was aired on TV I missed a lot of the episodes so thankfully I can now watch this excellent and moving tribute to the brave men who went to defend democracy and especially the many who did not return. Excellent and at times heartbreaking hearing the experiences of the 'Last Voices' now sadly no longer with us but their cheerfulness was an inspiration despite the terrible ordeals some of these heroes went through. Should be promoted in this anniversary time of the two world wars which took too many young men and lost a generation to the folly of War.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
This is a brilliant documentary and it was worth every penny.

I've only watched the first disc so far, but I am very impressed and would recommend it to anyone thinking of buying it. It is so nice to see history from the point of view of the men and women who were actually there.

It is both horrific and moving to see and hear what those poor people endured and suffered. A war to end all wars? If only it had been... But as Celia Johnson said in "This Happy Breed" (another brilliant DVD) - 'There will always be wars as long as men are stupid enough to want to go to them...' (or words to that effect).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
This is essential viewing for anyone interested in the First World War. First hand accounts, not historians or commentators.
Only here can we begin to touch the past, only here can we begin to understand what it was like. Stories from
ordinary people who were so really quite extraordinary in their sense of service. Most illuminating, perhaps, are the different accounts of why men enlisted, what they thought they were fighting for, and what they thought of war. This is real.
And special.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2011
Excellent series that is comprised of interviews with people who had first hand experience of World War I. Combatants, children of combatants, civilians working on the home front this series has moving interviews with them all, most of whom were 90 years or older when the interviews were conducted. A terribly moving testament to bravery and stoicism I would consider it vital viewing for anyone looking to learn not only about The Great War, but about humanity.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
great
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2016
brilliant and moving, really well produced, an absolute must see dvd
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
Wow. I bought this to show to my coach passengers on way to Battlefield tours. It's very clearly not entertaining, it's stunnily thought provoking. Excellent product.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
Brave men all... A wonderful tribute that sums up what it must have been like throughout the four years of war on the Western Front...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2012
I have been trying to get this for several years. There are some great characters amongst those interviewed.

Highly recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)