Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Arcade Fire Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
14
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 July 2014
I must admit its taken me awhile to discover this band,i mean i was aware of them,just never got round to checking them out.They started of as a more traditional black metal band but began incorporating other elements to the music,ie post rock,almost commercial in some aspects,but in a good way.Some of the tracks are very catchy,this would usually put me off,not so with this group.A lot of the lyrics seem to be about life experiences,relationships etc,depression,unyet it is a very uplifting record.Even though there will be no more Woods of Ypres records due to the death of the man behind the project,there is plenty to appreciate here.If I were to choose one comparison it would be Deafheavens cover version of Mogwai,Cody.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
I have only been a fan of this band for a year or so, after hearing tracks off this and their next and last album. Both this and their next album are of a similar feel and full of really strong songs which are haunting, and melancholic. Fans of their earlier work may not like this change in direction from their earlier black metal material,and visa-versa, but personally, I much prefer this album to their earlier stuff as it has much more of its own personality than their more generic black metal material.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
i come across a woods track on youtube and liked it so bought this album,,
the best album purchase ive ever made,, tis a beautifull doom/heavy metal cd,,
recomend this cd to every one,
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
This has got to be one of the finest musical creations on the planet, not only has it got great doom roots, black metal influence, a folky feeling and a gothic undertone, it is some of the late David Gold's (R.I.P) finest work! The price for this bit of beauty is very good on Amazon too! I highly recommend any new Woods Of Ypres fan to buy and listen to this album back to back, and would label it as a must have for any long term fans. And if you are just getting into doom metal? Look no further as you have found the perfect starting point. Great album and an insanely talented musician and songwriter taken too soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
An amazing record by an amazing band, their mix of doom, death metal is fantastic, sad that the singer Dave Gold was taken from us far to early, he will most definitely be remembered for his genius musicianship and out standing writing, this is probably my favourite album by Woods of Ypres, but all their albums have been knock out for me! Anyone collecting vinyl, you can still buy their work on limited edition vinyls, well worth collecting! RIP Dave Gold!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2015
woods of ypres have released a classic album here that further develops their melodic morbid metal that is catchy and provoking and deep,a real piece of excellence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2012
well this another great band from canada good metal ,i do not think we will hear much more of them as the lead singer was killed / but their music is great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2012
A truly incredible album from what must be the most underrated band ever.
How desperately sad we have been denied more masterpieces like this from David Gold following his untimely passing a few weeks ago.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
Great album. My son was very pleased with this.Very lucky to get hold of it through amazon, as often happens.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
Great album! Delivered within the timescale. Very happy :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)