Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 8 March 2014
This entertaining volume is about the diverse subterranean goings on through the stratus of history that is London, it's style is jaunty and entertaining and at the same time educational in a way that makes you learn but not realise you're learning,because you are having too much fun to notice!
I couldn't put it down.
Recommended reading, even if you don't usually read this subject matter!
You will be educated and entertained by this excellent book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2017
An exceptionally interesting book, particularly for someone who was born in the capital but no longer lives there. It takes but an instant for memories to be evoked! One of the better books on London and a must have companion to The London Encyclopaedia.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2005
It is a very wordy book, each chapter is an essay. The type of articles you get by a broad sheet journalist who is not limited by space and not in a hurry to tell the facts. It is a different perspective. Concentrating on trips he has made to the various subjects; down the sewers, bits of Roman wall under buildings. etc.
What it does not have is any photos or maps. The lack of any maps especially I found annoying. They would have helped illustrate the articles and for the reader to find them himself.
The author must have put a lot of time into researching his data, I just found the style annoying to read.
This is a view of London you will either like or dislike.
I edged towards the latter.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2004
This is the first book for a very long time that I simply haven't been able to put down. This should be compulsive reading for every Londoner! Stephen Smith has managed to bring to vibrant life the world beneath our concrete and glass city. History has never been so vivid with the sights and sounds of London gone by echoing in every page. The only down side is that it has made me aware of a whole world I am not allowed to be part of existing just a few metres beneath my feet (that and peering into every little door and window on the tube).
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
Lots of good information in this book but the writng style hardly grabs you, There are better books on this subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 February 2017
This book is definitely a book which varies in content. Rather than being a strictly historical book detailing subterranean London, this is the story of the writer's wanderings in underground London. In fact, it is the story of his wandering around overground London as well as underneath it!

I am not a London scholar but I did know a fair amount of the information provided in this book. There wasn't much which I felt was really new, unusual or ground breaking. Many of the tours around London and sites that the author had visited are available to anyone who takes the time to investigate. This is very much a shallow ground covering of the fascinating topic of Underground London.

I did, however, like the author's style of writing. The author is someone who knows how to write in an entertaining and interesting matter. Though it must be said that if there is a tangent, the author will happily stride off on it recklessly leaving behind the true subject of the book! Interesting though these many tangents were (such as the beating of the parish bounds which was definitely above ground!), they weren't really in keeping with the supposed aim of the book.

I did enjoy this book though it was lacking in quite a bit of detail and really only skimmed the surface of the subject. I feel that this book really deserves a 3.5 overall.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2005
News reporter and author Stephen Smith goes below pavement level in London, allowing the reader to vicariously explore burial crypts, dug-up plague pits, sewers, excavated Roman walls, remnants of Henry VIII's tennis courts, poncy wine cellars, secret government bunkers, the bowels of Parliament, and forgotten corners of the Tube.
For me, the the most intriguing chapter dealt with that subterranean environment most obviously accessible to the tourist, the London Underground ("Mind the Gap!"). Did you know that the most prevalent litter in the system, cleaned up during routine housekeeping between 1:00 and 5:00 AM, is human hair blown from the heads of thousands and thousands of train riders every day? Then, there are all those wallets plundered and discarded by pickpockets. And, though it won't be on my Must-Do short list for my next visit to the city, Smith's slog down the northern outflow sewer was gratifyingly informative.
However, UNDERGROUND LONDON is an uneven read. In the chapter dedicated to Anglo-Saxon artifacts, the author first describes a modern day ceremonial ritual involving holding a small schoolboy by his heels over the Thames while he beats the water's surface with a stick, and then goes on to describe the confiscated oddities to be found in the cellars of Her Majesty's Custom House. The connection between these and Anglo-Saxon period seemed forced. And the chapter in which Smith visits an underground vault of safe deposit boxes could just as well have been penned in the above-ground strong room at my local bank. No revelations there.
Perhaps the narrative's best features are the brief lessons in London history, past and recent, that Smith provides as background to the central theme: the evolution of city sanitation, the medieval plague epidemics, the theory and practice of the Thames Barrier, Henry VIII's obsession with tennis, the use of Tube stations as bomb shelters during the Blitz, and the British government's renewed interest in secure bolt holes after 9/11.
A criticism of UNDERGROUND LONDON has been that it includes no photos. Normally, I'd agree. But, in this instance, I'm not sure that the majority of Smith's subjects would've provided opportunity for interesting or instructive visuals. Somehow, a shot of the now-buried Fleet River churning along at the bottom of a well in Clerkenwell, or that of a disintegrating coffin in Kensal Green cemetery, doesn't seem necessary.
For those who love London, UNDERGROUND LONDON will be an occasionally rewarding ... um, travel essay. I'm awarding four stars simply because London is where my heart is. Otherwise, it would rate three, or less.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2010
I noticed from other reviews that this book by Stephen Smith has been rated anything from one to five. The clue to the content of this book is in its' subtitle 'TRAVELS BENEATH THE CITY STREETS'. This is more of a collection of anecdotes about the author's quest to gain a better understanding of London by looking under the city streets rather than an attempt to provide comprehensive archeological and historical details of what is under there. Thus, its not a traditional book on history as such. However, there are plenty of interesting facts. For example, I was intrigued to find out that the reason Muswell Hill does not have a tube station is because a plague pit was found during tunnelling.

The book is divided into chronological chapters, from Roman into modern times, with two introductory chapters at the beginning, explaining why the author became interested in this subject and how he commenced his search (the sewers). The over-riding theme is to show how much London is a city literally built on history, and how the old intertwines with the new. For example Smith descibes a Roman wall that has been integrated into a car park, and a door located under a subway in Merton, leading to the ruins of an abbey.

Smith's dry sense of humour permeates the book throughout, and several times I found myself chortling out loud. The chapter on Saxon London was somewhat weak, but overall I found it entertaining enough to keep turning the pages, and there was enough information to increase my understanding and knowledge of London. However, those who prefer a more traditional approach to history may not get so much out of it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2009
This is not a serious book about Subterranean London. If that's your bag try Richard Tench and Ellis Hillman's book. This is a more light-hearted, journalistic piece, which wouldn't be fine if the author had a sharp eye for telling detail and the wit of a Bill Bryson. Unfortunately he is equipped with neither.

Some chapters are better than others (was I alone in wondering what the beating of the bounds - including regatta ceremony on the Thames - had to do with underground London?).

All in all it was a struggle to find enough enthusiasm to finish it. Given the errors pointed to by other readers I wonder how much garbage I assimilated in having done so.
11 Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2007
I picked this book up on the spur of the moment, and was pleasantly surprised by what I found to be a fascinating and highly enjoyable tour around some of the capital's unheralded subterranean features. Smith is an interesting and likeable guide, treating the subject with a deft, personal touch that makes the book stand out from drier 'straight' histories. This, combined with the diversity of the information he provides, makes this an excellent and accessible overview for general readers, and one that I'd highly recommend to anyone with an interest in London and its history.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)