Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 16 February 2016
Duffer was made in 1971 by Joseph Despins and William Dumaresque and is one of those films that has ‘cult’ written all over it but has dropped off the collective conscience. It tells the lurid story of a confused – and possibly mentally ill – young man who lives with a masochistic older gay man. He is also in love with a friendly prostitute called ‘Your Gracie’

He swings between the two, torn by his own wants and the need to satisfy the craven aims of the older man. This is coupled with the two film makers next outing some five years later in 1976 with the completely different – ‘The Moon over the Alley’. This is an entirely different affair altogether. Duffer could be seen as experimental in many ways from the ‘sound design’ – early electronic, to the lack of any dialogue. All the action is spoken to the mic and virtually nothing synchs with the on screen action. This can be seen as an alienation device but I would urge to stay with it.

‘The Moon over the Alley’ though is a much more human and accessible affair. Filmed in the Portobello Road area of London when it was going through a time of great flux. The film centres on a dilapidated and condemned boarding house. The occupants are a mixed bunch and we get to meet all of them and their stories as well as the other locals.

This is punctuated with songs and they are all really good. This is part soap opera, part social commentary and part musical. Now that seems to be a lot to take in but it really works. The characters come so much to life that I was left wanting to know more. There is violence, no sex but the inference thereof and fashion to be avoided. I absolutely loved it and have been thinking about this ever since. These films are recommended to all fans of the history of cinema and those who like a time capsule of a film for a forgotten England.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
What a load of old rubbish. In duffer, the woman must have been the producer's wife or something. She is overweight & really brings any point to this film. This is not a CULT film, it is a CRAP film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2011
Overall I've really enjoyed the BFI Flipside series, however lately I've found them a little samey - frothy but cautionary tales of sexually permissive 60s London. Not so this release which blew me away with its taboo busting and surreal daring - not so much Flipside as teeming underside of the rock of 70s British cinema. Duffer is the most striking - 75 minutes inside the head of a mentally unstable teenager who oscillates between a thunderthighed prostitute called Your Gracie and a sadistic gay predator called Louis Jack. There's lyricism in this film - lovely images and haunting music, but beware, its as intense and nightmarish as Eraserhead and I found it seriously disturbing. The other feature, The Moon Over the Alley, loses the oppressive darkness but retains the surrealism and invention. Really a series of viginettes set around a down at heel Nottinghill neighbourhood, this has characters breaking into (mainly dubbed) song throughout and is a nicely shot time capsule to boot. Heres hoping Flipside has some more of these darker and genuinely surprising bon bons to show us.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
This has got to be one of the strangest, weirdest and most compelling films I have ever seen. It takes a while to adjust to the voiceover/commentary dialogue. Best viewed with someone else in the room to share the madness. Worm enthusiasts will love this!
The companion film 'Moon Over The Alley' is also a strange kettle of fish....lots of singing intertwined with mini kitchen sink vignettes topped off with a dollop of violence and some light gang-raping at the end! There's not much else to say really......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2011
I don't really like to write negative reviews, but if you decide to purchase this DVD on the strength of the previous reviewers' glowing recommendations prepare to be disappointed.

First let's start with Duffer. I can't put into words how appalling this film is; so I won't.

If, like me, you have found BFI's Flipside series enjoyable, and want to collect the set, you will probably buy this.

Unlike my fellow reviewers I don't believe this is one of the greatest films ever made. It is by far the poorest Flipside release so far.

Why not try another Flipside release that warrants a fantastic review.

Bronco Bullfrog (Blu-ray + DVD)
Deep End (DVD + Blu-ray)
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2016
Great TV from 1960s history. Beside the lives of characters there is also a very real view of life in London at that time.Duffer + The Moon Over the Alley (BFI Flipside) (DVD + Blu-ray) is dark yet entertaining view of extraordinarily ordinary lives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2011
This film is one of the most frightening films I have ever seen, but it's like a car crash (and I mean no disrespect in that manner), you cannot take your eyes off it. It's an amazing, dark, wonderful, threatening, hopeful, depressing movie.

It's so well done and when it finishes you cannot believe what you just watched. Required viewing, highly recommended.

This also introduced me to the late Kit Gleave, who plays Duffer, and found out he wrote a trilogy of fantasy novels which are available here on Amazon.co.uk. Buy those after watching this film.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2016
GREAT!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2014
brilliant and original
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)