Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 30 September 2017
Found this dvd super cheap as it was second-hand and still works perfectly. Decided to grab it as I had heard mixed reviews over the quality of the recent re-release on blu-ray. I have loved this show for many years but never got around to buying my own copy. Such a feel-good show. Super happy with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 November 2016
I'm one of the lucky few to have the Original DVD release from back in the day so was egger to get the Blue Ray Upgrade

Essentially EVERYTHING that was in that release has made it over including the OVA and bonus Features in glorious 1080p,
HOWEVER the Live Action Adventures of Sharaishi and Minour are on a DVD so remain unchanged from before

The Packaging and Artbook are really high quality (NO Tight Packaging)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2011
back when i purchased lucky star i was looking for somthing to kill some time so i decided to purchase a few animes at random. lucky star was ironicly one lucky purchase. the show is filled with great comical aspects. now i was offset from the show as alot warned me it has no real story line to it which is actually true. now before you knock it (i almost did) just give it a try. although lacking a plot line the anime manages to keep the episodes fresh and origonal whilst always keeping you interested in the show as well the odd random events which occur you will notice how deep and addicted you get into the show.
the show consists mainly of the characters listed:
Konata-chan ---> konata is a realistic high school student, she doesnt want to waste summers studying and night doing homework. the main character of the show konata is a great laugh, she is addicted to anime/manga and loves relating life situations to her video games. she is everything real you see in a highschool student topped of with one amazing funny side
Kagami ---> kagami is the older of the twins, though she seems quite serious she is a more intellergent student who cares for her studies. kagami always being alone in school (as chance has it she isnt ever in her main friends class) she is motivated to study well and do well, dispite her serious self shes a great person when mixed with konata as there relationship brings laugh after laugh, kagami is also quite a cute charcter as she develops into the show and has a true amibition for real life (such as boyfriends)
Tsukasa- tsukasa is the younger twin of kagami, tsuksasa is extreemly shy and nervous alot, but her true self is rather spacey and light headed, she loves cute things (ironicly matching her cute personality) and is simular to konata as shes spacey and find homework a drag. Tsukasa is actually the oppisite to her twin kagami but this doesnt effect the strong bond the 2 hold. Kagami is one them character you just wanna hug day in day out. being clumsy as she is it also creates a great atmosphere with her around
Myuki- the addorable intellergent brains of the group is mayuki-san, with her constant dental fear around you can assure she spends most her life in the dentist. mayuki although a main character has a slightly smaller role than the others but by all means doesnt exclude her, she is a intellergent girl who is apparntly a real beauty and cute girl. dispite intellergeance she is one really clumsy girl.
when these r mixed u end up with hours of comedy that is this dvd box set. anyone who enjoy a comedy or just high school animes will love this boxset. its one thing i have never regreted purchasing
WARNING- you might get hooked on the show and feel really sad as it comes to a end.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 3 May 2011
A really simple animé that most people will appreciate, the storyline is about a bunch of girls that attend a Japanese high-school, it follows them throughout their school days as well as holiday breaks and other events.

There are four main characters who all have their own unique personality which will guarantee for you to love them:

*Izumi Konata; Probably the most childish out of the group, she's extremely good at sports however would rather spend her time watching/reading anime & manga aswell as playing a lot of video games, she personally is my favourite character out of the bunch although I find them all very funny.

*Kagami; The more responsible character out of the bunch, she loves to study well to get the best grades and takes things rather seriously, although she does have a soft side to her.

*Tsukasa; The younger twin sister of Kagami, she's not as smart as her older twin and is really bad at sports, she extremely friendly and can seem a bit of an airhead.

*Miyuki; The most polite and well mannered person out of the group, she's supposedly the "most attractive" girl, she's very smart and wealthy but has an exceptional amount of fears which give this animé many hilarious scenes as well as being very clumsy.

This animé is great to relax too and will give you many laughs throughout the whole season, by the end of it you wont want it to end! Although I would like to note that this animé may not be suitable for younger kids as their can be a few adult references thrown in, but all in all I really enjoyed it.
44 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 May 2011
This collection of the brilliant `Lucky Star' anime contains all twenty-four episodes of this random and entertaining series as well as the forty minute OVA. I have to say that there are very few anime that that I have enjoyed as much as this series as it is brilliantly funny throughout. I do also think that this one of the first series I have seen where I prefer the anime to the original manga.

`Lucky Star' is best described as an anime about nothing and mostly involves a bunch of schoolgirls talking about random stuff and as such won't be to everyone's taste but personally I think it is quite simply brilliant. The series is extremely funny throughout, has some nice animation and the characters are all very well developed. The collection includes both the English and Japanese dubs, and I must say that the English dub is easily one of, if not the, best dub I have heard from an anime series (I especially like that they keep most of the Japanese honorifics). The OVA is only in Japanese but it is still very entertaining to watch, even if my DVD did keep freezing up because of the amount of subtitles on the RPG scenes.

One thing I would say is that, although it isn't strictly necessary, it would be best if you have at least a basic knowledge of `The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya' before watching as there are a lot of references to that show. As well as this there are quite a few references in the show that I had to look up, despite how long I have been watching anime.

An otaku favourite, `Lucky Star' definitely deserves a full five stars and while I would say that, while it probably isn't for everyone, every anime fan should watch it at least once in their life.
22 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2014
With a title like 'Lucky Star', many people would probably wonder what this series is even about - especially as it really has nothing to do with luck or outer-space. Well, it's like this. 'Lucky Star' is about 4 (later 10) high school girls, who talk to each other about normal everyday things (e.g. the dentist, what type blood they have, how best to eat a chocolate cornet, and what they did with their old school uniforms after elementary school). That's it. And, amazingly enough, this is exactly what makes 'Lucky Star' one of the most ingenious and well-loved animes ever made - to the point where some would even call it 'legendary'.
Unlike most animes that focus more on fantasy or over-the-top humour, 'Lucky Star' aims to be as realistic as possible to its audience. This is done most effectively through the portrayal of its main characters. Each of them is individual and loveable in their own right. But what makes them most memorable is how they relate to real people and their personalities: Konta is the otaku fanatic, who hates studying, and loves gaming, manga and anime; Miyuki is the walking encyclopaedia, who is polite, well-mannered and explains things in great detail; and Tsukasa and Kagami are the fraternal twins, who share different interests, and are about as unalike as sisters can be. Plus, more relatable characters are introduced as the series progresses. If you were to watch the 'Lucky Star' episodes, chances are you'd recognise at least one character, or scenario, that you've experienced or encountered yourself: e.g. having a good idea, but forgetting it later because you didn't write it down straight away.
Another thing that's good about 'Lucky Star' is the way it uses pop-culture references over fan-service. Normally, animes would resort to showing a lot of big action sequences or 'slightly' inappropriate moments to keep fans interested. 'Lucky Star' does give some moments of fan-service, but not too much to the point where the series relies on them. Instead, fans are treated to things they can recognise, and it helps to make the series feel more believable. Examples of some pop-cultures referenced in the series are 'Pokémon' and Loisia May Alcott's 'Little Women'.
One final thing I love about 'Lucky Star' is the 'Lucky Channel' segments at the end of each episode. These are entertaining and unpredictable to the point where they can work well enough on their own. Half the time you don't know whether to love Akira, hate her, or love to hate her, because she can be cute and loveable one minute, and then spiteful and depressing the next. Either way, you can't help but feel excited to see her - and wish she was part of main segment of the show.
Judging by the fact that every amazon review for 'Lucky Star' (so far) has been 5/5 stars - and that it's been sold so many times the website has run out of copies - it's not hard to see that this series is an absolute must-have for any fan of anime. It's a shame the box set is no longer available on amazon (in Europe), but the episodes are available on YouTube. If you're truly a devoted fan of anime, it's highly recommend that you see this series, because it's the standard by which most other animes are compared. Some may think the concept is a little basic and lacks a plot. But when it comes right down to it, the simplicity of it is what makes it a masterpiece. Put it simply, 'Lucky Star' is so simple, it's actually genius.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2017
Bought it from other seller, but must leave my review here aswell to warn potential buyers. If you want to watch this anime then go and stream it. If you buy this Blu Ray you will get worse quality then you would get on DVD. Buying USA release wont solve anything since both versions are broken, here you can see screens comparing DVD, YouTube and Blu Ray release quality: https://www.amazon.com/review/R349H3CFAI9VU7/ref=cm_cr_dp_title?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B01EIW2RMO&channel=detail-glance&nodeID=2625373011&store=movies-tv
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 September 2012
This is a brilliant series! I loved every minute of it; I'm only sorry that it ended!

There isn't much of a story to it (that isn't a criticism!); it just follows the day-to-day lives of the characters, who are four high school friends; nutty 'otaku', the diminutive, blue-haired Konata Izumi ('Kona-chan'), who also works part-time in a 'cosplay' cafe; intelligent and cute Kagami Hiiragi ('Kagamin') and her non-identical twin sister, the clumsy but lovely Tsukasa (who both have purple hair), and the pretty and bespectacled Miyuki Takara ('Yuki-chan'), who has pink hair, and is the epitome of 'moe'. The series (which comes from the same people as the 'Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya' stories) contains many and frequent references to other anime and manga (mostly courtesy of Kona-chan, and much to the chagrin of Kagami, who thinks she is crazy!), so I would probably say that non-fans of the genres might find it a little hard to follow; the significance of many lines of the dialogue probably being lost unless the viewer knows what they are talking about.

Each episode starts with a superb series of dance moves by the girls (somewhat reminiscent of the closing animation of the Haruhi Suzumiya series) which you come to find out is actually them rehearsing for the end-of-term festival, in which they perform a cheer-leader routine, seen in full in the last episode of the series, and which is mega-cute and cool!

The 6 DVD's contain all 26 episodes, which have English and Japanese audio, and 1 OVA (with Japanese soundtrack/English subs only).

I gather from digging around on-line, that there won't be any more animes of this story - a great pity - but I would highly recommend any fans of the genre get hold of this; it is a great series, and highly enjoyable; it is gentle and bonkers, and just totally lovable!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2012
This was my very first anime i ever bought, after a friend introduced me to the world of anime.
All i can say is this is one of my favourite anime's so far (i've only watched about five or six complete anime series, but that does not matter).
Even though there is no story line as such the show still manages to make you carry on watching,
making you laugh and cry (well almost!), there are a lot of slight references to other anime's and games (The melancholy of Haruhi Suzumia, to name just one.)
I would highly recommend buying Lucky star, you will not regret it and it is completely worth the price. The only bad thing is at the end of the series you will be wishing for more episodes!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2017
The Picture Quality ist not very good, lots of jagged edges and color bleed. I bought this to support the Industry after seeing it ... elsewhere ... Sadly this Blu Ray "Collectors Edition" somehow manages to be a downgrade from what I previously saw in the 720p version... Good Job providing an inferior product, just don't be surprised when your sales disappear if you continue operating in this way
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse