Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
50
4.7 out of 5 stars
The King Is Dead
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 July 2011
A mild departure from previous offerings, being a collection of shorter 'songs', but still a fantastic album. Even better if you get the chance to see them perform it live.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2011
I love this album. It has been my constant companion for the last three weeks. Songs of real craft and beauty that have great lyrics and the music to bring them to life
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2011
If you love indie-folk-rock you must have this CD. A genuine deep-american soul lights the fire of an involving music that drags you singing and dancing. Can't help.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2011
After the Hazards of Love and the long song cycles of The Crane Wife, good to hear great straightforward songs done brilliantly, as usual.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2011
HEARD THIS ALBUM BY ACCIDENT AND IT JUST GETS BETTER WITH EACH PLAY I KNOW THIS ISNT TO EVERYONES TASTE BUT GIVE IT A GO
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2015
Fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2011
This was my first introduction to the band and generally speaking i thoroughly enjoyed it. My only slight niggle is a song about three in that is completely out of keeping with the rest of the album. Sounds like a very early R.E.M homage. I understand Pete Buck worked on this one, which highlights the influence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2011
What a great, fun album to listen to. its a million miles away from their last album but equaly good for different reasons. I am by no means a music analyst but just love a good song and this album is full of them. its a must buy for old and new fans alike
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2011
Whilst a good album, it does not stand out in the same manner as the previous ones. This is my least popular of all the Decembrists cd's.... its good, but once a standard of excellence is set fall below it and you can not expect 5 stars.... its to safe. . and if i dare say it.. a little dreary.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2011
After the glories of The Hazards of Love I was really looking forward to the new Decemberists album. Instead of which we get this bland, indifferent work.

I am very disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Picaresque
£11.26
Crane Wife
£8.40

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)