Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
10
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 August 2005
I was driven to write this review, based on the 3 star rating provided by another reviewer. 3 stars? There are few albums that deserve an unquestionable 5 stars but this is surely one of them. Each & every track is a gem - Marc Almond at his quirkiest, most inventive and (at the time) substance influenced best. Personal favourites are "Mother Fist", "The Sea Says" and "Saint Judy" but the whole album is fabulous and lends us a tantalising glimpse into the lost, the lonely, the sordid and the bizarre. My only regret is that original plans to make this a double album were shelved, releasing extraordinary songs such as "Gyp the Blood", "Jackal Jackal", "Broken Hearted and Beautiful" and (Almond's solo best in my opinion), the hauntingly beautiful "Black Lullaby" as b-sides. If you buy this album, do yourself a favour and buy the subsequently released "A Virgin's Tale vol 2" at the same time - all the Mother Fist b-sides are on there; along with Almond's collaboration with the Willing Sinners (on MF), they make the perfect partnership. If Mother Fist HAD been released as a double album, it would even have eclipsed Almond's classic double offering "Torment & Toreros", recorded with the Mambas. Now go, buy and wallow in the fabulous drunken burlesque that is Mother Fist......
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 December 2002
When I first bought a CD player in 1987, this was the first CD I bought to play on it. It still remains in the top ten of my favourite albums, with a sound like no other music produced in the late 1980s. Each of the songs was recorded with the same band with an organic sound of strings, piano and other acoustic instruments; as far removed from the bombast of over-produced 80s pop as it is possible to get. My personal favourites are "There is a bed", an understated song to the place we spend a great deal of our lives, and "Champ", a beautiful reflection on former glories. Most interesting of all is "Saint Judy", a wonderfully lyrical exploration of the world of the Idol. The only song I occasionally skip is Ruby Red, in which the music doesn't live up to the promise of the lyrics. But if you like Marc Almond, you need this CD.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2012
This is, in my opinion, one of the best albums ever written, produced and executed. From the beginning to the fabulous end, this LP just shines! You coudl close your eyes and be in a world of back-rooms, run down seaside hotels, watching faded stars and sea farers - you can taste all this through these magical songs. Marc Almond at his best.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2005
i purchased this album on cassette when i was in secondary school, i can still to this day remember looking at the sleeve art work as i travelled home from school on the bus, thinking how cool it looked. it's a fantastic album and has been my favourite album for years. my favourite to the point of having "mother fist" tattood on me, haha, yes, it's true. it stretches from sounds of spanish gypsies to slinky jazzy intoxicated showstoppers. there is a kind of euro-folky feel to some of the tracks. "mother fist" is full of stories and tales. songs documenting the thoughts of characters who have lived on the seedier side of the tracks. it has romantic and gentle moments and all in all is a very lush and beautiful album. i hope i am never without a copy of this album and cannot recommend it enough. put it in your cd player, press play, pour yourself a glass of absinthe and get lost in a story or two, truly fabulous.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2009
"Mother Fist" is to Marc Almond what "Low" is to Bowie. The sound of an artist at his creative peak while in commercial freefall. Maybe the drugs did work after all, pure brilliance !!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2006
i gave a friend a copy of anthony and the jonstons , i am a bird now cd ,this friend is not a big music lover but was blown away ,my friend asked had i any more like this , after a lot of thinking about it , mother fist came to mind ,lyrically and sonically very different ,but the stories and emotions expressed ware quite the same .i think almond has recorded better tracks before and after this , but this stands as a whole album and as such is his best . it could have been recorded anytime past present or future , its timeless .for the anti almond type , this could change your mind
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This was the final album released by the Mike Hedges produced Willing Sinners & sounds far too overproduced now- but not in a good way like 'Sulk'!...'Mother Fist' is the rather pleasant sea-shanty opener- taking its lyrical cue from a Truman Capote short-story in 'Music for Chameleons'...'There is a Bed' is rather obvious & a bit dull; as is the sub-'Scott 3' inflected 'Saint Judy'. Nice to see the elegy to Ms Garland shows Almond was aiming high!...'The Room Below' is rather pleasant- a semi-psychedlic return to the gruelling second side of 'Torment & Toreros'...'Angel in Her Kiss' should have been a single- it's as catchy as the timeless 'Melancholy Rose'...'The Hustler' is more dull overproduced nonsense- 'Anarcoma' or 'Jackal Jackal' would have made more interesting listening...'Mr Sad' is a classic Almond song-despite the whistling!...'The Sea Says' predicts the more soundtrack based sound of songs like 'Frost Comes Tomorrow' or 'She Took My Soul in Istanbul'...'Champ' is hideous- far too many viewings of Saura films!...'Ruby Red' was the fantastic single- probably the finest single Almond had sang on since 'Torch'. Inexplicably, it flopped...'The River' is the best song here- Almond's songwriting was beginning to take off- this is moving to the great standard of 'Tears Run Rings' or 'The Stars We Are'. As with all great songs- you don't want it to end- the fade of Almond's refrain of "I don't know which way to flow" is still electric stuff!...So, very over the top- some of these songs would be better with just piano or strings- but not uninteresting!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2012
Haven't heard this album for a number of years and it is fantastic listening to it again. Marc Almonds voice is beautiful
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2015
This is definitely a grower ,into pure perfection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
This album is a grower, it get's better and better the more you hear it, most of the tracks on this album were banned in their single versions, by deranged Radio 1 DJs. No doubt Marc wrestles some dark issues herem but there are moments of sheer beauty on tracks like "The River" and my personal favourite "The Champ" which explores the feelings of a national hero after the public forget him, Marcs voice rings with an innocent sounding hurt on this track, very moving. As always his albums are never less than interesting and if you don't want to hear interesting have a sing-a-long to Melancholy Rose or Ruby Red a rum pair of girls. Thank You for this album Marc
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.69
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)