Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 January 2017
When this was announced a few months ago, I was quite surprised because there had been a few reissues over the last few years of this seminal record. First, what must be said is that the sound is spectacular and better than on previous releases, even though one may not notice it first. Here we notice how incredible the Who sounded back then and what a revolutionary band they were. Also, Townshend's more experimental sides appear despite their adhering very strongly to the then in vogue mod style. This is also the Who's first record, which would be their landmark record until they went on to release further big records such as Tommy, Live at Leeds and Who's next. Other reviewers can probably better explain the historical importance of the songs. We get the whole My Generation record in both Mono and Stereo along with bonuses as wells the most interesting new thing which is the 5th disc called primal scoop and which contains Townshend's original demos. It is incredible to hear how fully formed these are/were and how well he was able to record these given the obviously more modest technical standards of the day. Only this fifth disc is worth buying this rather expensive set.

However the booklet is not as well done as the one in the Quadrophenia box and there is not really that many exciting extras besides that fifth disc. Having a small extra like a single or something would have been nice, but maybe next time.

Overall the set is quite indispensable and enjoyable, given the fifth CD and the improved sound.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2016
I received mine yesterday, and I'm on the fourth disc, and I do love it. I'm not going to spend my time picking out the places where Townshend and Daltrey may have put new touches on the stereo mix of the original album -- it's just plain fun listening, all the way through. The stereo mix is not filled with any particular revelations, but it does expose some of the individual instruments better, if that's what you're listening for. The outtakes and related single side are the real delight here -- the Who were clearly producing more good music than any ordinary release schedule could make use of at the time; it's just nice that we get to enjoy it 50 years later and that the band members (and their estates) benefit, at this late date. BRAVO to Universal, Townshend, and Daltrey for this gift!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
I took my time to buy this, as the thought of two old age pensioners over dubbing extra tracks to the original 3 track tape that Shel Talmy recorded sounded awful. But it's surprisingly good I think Pete doubled tracked guitars & vocals keeping them low enough in the mix just to be able to create a stereo mix which is not too bad. Of course the mono disc is the real deal & this remaster set sounds fantastic. The extra tracks are ok too in mono & stereo, the stereo mixes are from the 2002 Shel Talmy double cd ... but much better mastered, so you can ditch that awful cd! I hated it personally speaking. Only one thing is really missing apart from a few bootleg & radio sessions And that is the original single of Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere. Both versions here are the alternate french EP in mono & stereo. Pete's demos are ....well Pete's demos, & are always worth a listen occasionally. The book is fantastic & some tasty posters too. I got this new & shrink rapped for under £50.00 an Amazon seller what a Bargain ....The best I ever had! If you are a Who nut like me & have the other Supper Deluxe editions then you probably already have this... if not get it. All others can get the single disc mono cd for about a fiver all homes should have one!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
Very good!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
'Explosive Debut' is the kind of buzz phrase that gets bandied about a lot in the Music Industry - as does the tag 'Bad Boys of Rock'. But one look at this group of terribly nice, well-groomed and exquisitely well-mannerly British youths - and you just know you should lock up your virginal daughters and padlock the drinks cabinet. Even now - from the safe distance of nearly 50 years - The Who's debut sounds snotty and wild - like it's going to use a Royal Corgi for bow and arrow target practice. And that's before we even talk about Keith Moon. It's fabulous stuff. Here are the Union Jack Blazers and the Swinging Fa-Fa-Fa-Fade Away Microphones...

Released September 2002 (reissued 2012) - "My Generation" is a 2CD DELUXE EDITION on MCA/Chronicles/Universal 088 112 926-2 (Barcode 008811292621) and breaks down as follows:

Disc 1 - The Original Album in Stereo - 50:23 minutes:
1. Out In The Street
2. I Don't Mind
3. The Good's Gone
4. La-La-La Lies
5. Much Too Much
6. My Generation
7. The Kids Are Alright
8. Please, Please, Please
9. It's Not True
10. I'm A Man
11. A Legal Matter
12. The Ox
13. Circles

The UK album was issued 3 December 1965 in MONO only on Brunswick LAT 8616 (Tracks 1 to 12 above). The American version was released 25 April 1966 entitled "The Who Sings My Generation" on both Decca DL 4664 (Mono) and Decca DL7-4664 (Stereo). To sequence the US STEREO album use tracks 1 to 9 and 11 to 13. Note: only the STEREO mix is provided.

BONUS TRACKS (Stereo)
14. I Can't Explain
15. Bald Headed Woman (14 and 15 are the A&B-sides of a UK 7" single released 15 January 1965 on Brunswick 05926 and USA 7" single released 13 February 1965 on Decca 31725). Both tracks feature THE IVY LEAGUE on Backing Vocals while "I Can't Explain" only features PERRY FORD on Piano and JIMMY PAGE on Guitar.
NICKY HOPKINS plays piano on all tracks except "I Can't Explain"

16. Daddy Rolling Stone (non-album track, B-side to the UK 7" single of "Anyway Anyhow Anywhere" released 21 May 1965 on Brunswick 05935)

Disc 2 ADDITIONAL BONUS TRACKS - 65:23 minutes:
1. Leaving Here (Alternate)
2. Lubie (Come Back Home)
3. Shout And Shimmy (non-album track, B-side to the UK 7" single "My Generation" released 29 October 1965 on Brunswick 05944)
4. (Love Is Like A) Heat Wave
5. Motoring
6. Anytime You Want Me (non-album track, B-side of the US 7" single "Anyway Anyhow Anywhere" released 5 June 1965 on Decca 31801)
7. Anyhow, Anywhere, Anyway (Alternate)
8. Instant Party Mixture
9. I Don't Mind (Full Length Version)
10. The Good's Gone (Full Length Version - 4:30 minutes, original 4:00 minutes)
11. My Generation (Instrumental Version)
12. Anytime You Want Me (A Cappella Version)

MONAURAL VERSIONS WITH GUITAR OVERDUBS
13. A Legal Matter
14. My Generation
Tracks 1 and 8 to 12 are Previously Unreleased, 7 is Previously Unreleased in the USA (only available on a French EP)

The outer plastic slipcase has the track titles on the rear and it houses a four-way foldout digipak with the artwork for the US Decca Records cover on the inner flaps (the British sleeve is used on the front). Beneath each see-through tray are those elusive I.B.C Sound Recording Studios tape boxes dated 13 October 1965 (nice). The oversized 28-page booklet inside the right flap features three histories of what happened - first by MIKE SHAW their first Production Manager - then SHEL TALMY the Producer of the "My Generation" Sessions and finally an appraisal called "About My Generation" by ANDY NEILL. There are a few Decca Adverts for American 45s, great live photos of the band in full microphone swing as well as extensive reissue credits.

But the big news (for British fans in particular) is the STEREO versions - available for the first time in decades after protracted legal hassles (resolved for this reissue). Remixed by Shel Talmy (the original Producer) and Universal's Andy McKaie from the original three-track master tapes - the overall remaster has been carried out by one of Universals most trusted and respected engineers - ERICK LABSON. And what a stonking audio marvel all three have produced. This thing rocks - with the instruments and vocals as clear as you could ever hope for. There's no doubt it might have been smarter (and more accurate) to include the MONO mix of the album - and even the MONO singles surrounding it - but what is here is superb.

The opening treated guitar and growling Roger Daltrey vocals of "Out In The Street" come as something of a shock having heard them in Mono for so long. But it's not until you get to the superb "The Good's Gone" that it all comes together - the fabulous remaster making each instrument stand out in a song that has the real menace of The Who. The Acapella beginning of "Much Too Much" is incredibly clear and then we're hit with the anthem - "My Generation" - and all resistance is futile. What a song - and in truth - it stands head and shoulders above most of the other tracks on the album - I hope you don't die at all mate never get old. Both "The Kids Are Alright" and "It's Not True" show Townshend's double-edged songwriting talent - catchy tunes about social and personal hurt.

Outside of "My Generation" - their wild version of Bo Diddley's "I'm A Man" is a real indication of just how incendiary they could get (even in the studio). The other two covers are both stabs at James Brown - "I Don't Mind" and "Please Please Me" - but in truth they sound like lukewarm filler - or worse - plain out of place. Back to madness with the instrumental finisher "The Ox" - Nicky Hopkins on Piano trying to keep up with the full-speed-ahead drumming of Keith Moon and heavy riffage of Townshend. It's a great way to finish the album and is rightly credited to four composers - Townshend, Moon, Entwistle and Hopkins.

Amongst the unreleased "Leaving Here (Alternate)" shows off Moon's great drumming where the band sound like they've soaking up too many Marvin Gaye Motown singles. For some reason the Alternate take of "Anyway Anyhow Anywhere" is credited as "Anyhow, Anywhere, Anyway" and has a wilder guitar sound (very cool) while the Long version of "The Good's Gone" extends the album cut from 4 minutes to 4 and a half - it's excellent. The unreleased instrumental of "My Generation" has studio chatter "mucking about" and that huge bass run by Entwistle. Even cooler is the Mono version of it that ends Disc 2 - it has extra guitar overdubs that come in over the bass solo - what a blast.

"People try to put us down..." - in the case of The Who - I doubt they're going to succeed...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2012
Please note; This review is for the Classic Records vinyl edition of the album.

As far as modern releases of this album go - across all formats - this is certainly the best yet.

First the good. Despite there only being so much one could do with this album given the original primitive mix, pressing it directly from the original mono masters has made some difference. Not a vast difference, but a difference nonetheless.

This LP sounds a little more open and alive than any other modern version I've heard, with slightly more clarity. There's also a bit more bass. It's an all round positive improvement.

And now, the bad (although I must admit "bad" within this context is too much of an extreme choice of word!).

Because of the freshly unveiled layer of clarity, albeit not that huge, it becomes more obvious with this release than on any other that the songs were recorded at different sessions. On all previous releases the album (being overly compressed, peak limited or slightly murky, depending upon which version you owned) has an overall quality which left it sounding pretty much like the band went into the studio and banged the entire thing out in one go. To be completely fair, the difference here isn't majorly obvious. It probably wouldn't even catch the attention of the average listener, but if you are a serious audiophile you'll probably pick up on it....but maybe it could be considered a good thing rather than bad? It all depends on taste I suppose.

Anyway. If you want the best possible modern vinyl listening experience of this album there is no question this Classic Records release is one you need. If you're not too bothered about the slight improvement in clarity you'll probably be happy with the much cheaper Virgin LP from the 1980s, which itself is slightly better than the original MCA CD.

The biggest annoyance is that this album has never been transferred to CD with the same care and attention seen with this Classic Records issue. That would truly have made for a "deluxe" listening experience!

Now, previously I would have recommended this Classic Records LP over the original 1965 Brunswick vinyl, but the pair now seem to be drifting ever closer when it comes to pricing. So if you have the money to spare you may be better off spending an extra £20 or £30 on the original. If not, buy this. You'll certainly be more than happy with it and probably never feel the need to upgrade again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
The CD that Universal released in the '80s was pretty much a quick cash-in, which is what the major labels were doing at the time in order to get as much product out there on the market as possible. It was an LP master, sounded OK but not great. In 2002, we got the Deluxe Edition, which was a huge disappointment because of the missing overdubs. At last, we have this edition which was remastered directly from the original mono masters, and sounds exactly as the original album was intended to. While not a perfect album - the lads were really still finding their sound, adding covers amongst Pete Townshend's originals - it is certainly a great mission statement. The original liner notes, of course, tell us of the band's four disparate personalities (Moon's wildman drumming, Townshend's windmill arm and guitar smashing, Daltrey's swagger and Entwistle's calm, eye-of-the-storm presence on bass), and all of that can be heard in the music.

BTW, this is a straight remaster of the original album - no bonus tracks, non-LP singles or outtakes - so if you were hoping for any of that, you'd best pass on this and go for the Deluxe Edition. But if all you want is the Who's 1965 debut, straight no chaser, this will hit the spot for you.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2005
Shel Talmy has done a fantatstic job of re-mixing the original master tapes. Normally when old tapes are re-mixed producers tend to mix them using modern digital studio equipment and you end up losing a lot of the original sound.
This sounds like Shel has re-mixed the tapes using authentic 1960's equipment and has pushed the EQ right up to "11".
You feel as if you are sitting right in the middle of the studio.
It sounds like 1965 but oh so much clearer and louder
A fantastic job.
I wish Shel had re-mixed "A quick one" and "Sell out" as their re-mixes sound wishy-washy.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2002
As an owner of the previously available CD version it needed something special to persuade me to shell out for the latest offering, despite the extra tracks and remastering.
One listen was enough convince me! The sound is truly superb - crystal clear and just leaps off the CD to invade your space and leave your senses reeling. I was particularly taken with the awesome drumming of Moony - you can almost see him laying into the drumkit. Roger's vocals and John's bass are equally clear and impressive. Shel Talmy has achieved what sounds to me like the perfect mix. Startlingly good!
Two minor gripes - some might find the more restrained Pete Townshend sound takes a bit of getting used to, with his guitar lower in the mix and overdubs missing from a couple of tracks. However this is compensated for by including the original mono versions of "A legal matter" and "My generation" for comparison.
Also, some of the material on the second CD has previously been available and is of variable quality, although some of its belting - the previously unreleased a cappella version of "Anytime you want me" is fantastic.
If you're a Who fan who hasn't heard the 'My Generation' album (or even a non-Who fan!) then this is an absolute must, and for those of you who are already in love with the original, this is still well worth shelling out for - the sound is incredible!
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)