Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
53
3.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 June 2014
Felt formulaic and stilted. Interesting as part of the canon, but it's not as good as her books, and you really can tell - very clearly - that she didn't actually write it. Too many of the stage directions have survived into the prose in a way AC never actually wrote. Shame.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2015
I enjoyed this very much. It was adapted from a stage play and retold in the novel format by Charles Osbourn. It had all the attraction of a regular Christie whodunnit novel. It's just a couple or three hours of reading and will allow you to pleasantly pass a wet Sunday afternoon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2015
I sort of liked this, but I really think you can tell it is written by someone else, not Agatha Christie herself. I didn't like the Hercule Poirot in this as much as I do in other Christie books - and there seemed too much of a love story going on, rather than pure crime. If you've read ever other Christie then you have to read this, of course. But please don't make it your first Poirot book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
Enjoyed this book as I don't think it has been on the television so I had no idea what to expect as it had been re written from the play script by a relation of the author.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2001
I didn't enjoy the book at all. The whole affair was a drag, and there was no major surprise as to the identity of the killer. A credible effort but it could be better.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2012
i don't get much time to sit down and read, audio cd's are a great way to enjoy books on the go, Black Coffee is a gripping yarn keeps you on the edge to the end, and even when you listen to it again, it still entertains.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2010
`Black Coffee' certainly feels like a novel based on a play - most of the action takes place in one room, and many of the descriptive passages between dialogue read like stage directions. The characterisations are spot-on - in particular, Poirot is his usual conceited self! In fact, the story reads just like an original Agatha Christie novel. The only criticism I can come up with for the book is that it does not have the traditional `reveal' in which all the suspects are gathered together and eliminated one by one - but this hardly matters. All in all, I would say that it is a very good read. It is also worth noting that the adapter, Charles Osbourne, is eminently qualified to produce this novelisation, since he has written about Agatha Christie, and also appeared on the stage in `Black Coffee' in the 1950s.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 1999
Although this was adapted by another author it is almost undistinguishable from the work of Christie herself. This was written by Agatha Christie as a play but has now been adapted so that a wider audience can view the wonderful plot. Poirot once again triumphs, coming up with the solution that you least expect. A treat for anyone who enjoys a crime mystery.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2009
John Moffatt does a good job of keeping this play (turned into a book) moving. It is best listened to after Christie's "Mystery of the Blue Train", since this was written shortly afterwards as a play. The book version, not done by Christie herself, came much later. If you like Hercules Poirot, this book will be satisfying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
This reads like a stage play, which of course it is. I found it very predictable. I have read so many of her other Poirot books I got the villain when he was first introduced.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse