Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
65
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 August 2016
This show caught me off guard. I dismissed it without giving it a chance at first, but then went ahead and watched it on demand. I am sure glad that I did. Archer is an over the top raunchy fest based on the doings of a supposed spy firm. You have Sterling, an insecure guy who thinks very little, does very many, and says just enough to keep us laughing...mainly because he is so stupid. You have Malory, an unhappy boss who loves an enemy, hates being Sterling's mom at times, and has shown more than once to be off her rocker. You then have Lana(L-a-n-a), Sterling's Ex who isn't over Sterling. She is also a no nonsense, ass whipping babe. This show nails it. I highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2017
Hugely enjoyable romp through spy spoof territory, maybe not hilarious but certainly consistently funny. Extremely good on bluray but as usual for American series which they don't think will sell well in the U.K. Season 1 is region A locked. Such a shame as the quality is spot on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2017
quick delivery, good deal
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2011
Before I cover the show itself, a note about the actual discs: Even though the original product description here said the discs in this set are Region 2 PAL, they are, in fact, Region 2 NTSC. (Odd format, I know. This labelling error has now been corrected.) I discovered this when I popped one of them onto my PS2 to watch, and everything came up monochrome and striated. Confused because I saw an episode in full colour on TV, I checked the packaging, and yep: Region 2 NTSC. When I watched the discs on my XBox, however, everything was in glorious, flawless colour. Still wanting the advertised PAL version, I asked Amazon for a replacement, got a profuse apology and a promise to send out a new PAL set as a replacement . . . and got another NTSC set a couple of days later. So unless I'm extremely unlucky (and in my experience, there's no such thing as luck), it looks like ALL these discs are NTSC, but if you have an XBox or similar set-up that can play Region 0 / Region 2 NTSC discs, you should be okay. Otherwise, expect black-and-white. As for the show . . . .

Adam Reed, who brought us the tedious admin details, uncomfortable interpersonal relationships, and frequent hilarious foul-ups that can plague the day of the average supervillain / superhero in "Frisky Dingo" does the same to the superspy genre in "Archer" to great effect, except with greatly improved animation and cool 1960s Spy Film-style jazzy theme music.

Suave(ish), handsome, and deadly, Sterling Archer is the world's most dangerous spy. It also helps that his alcoholic, man-hungry harpy of a mummy runs the ISIS espionage agency where he works. Because although he's the world's most dangerous spy, he isn't the world's most EFFECTIVE spy. That title is more deserved by the unbearably sexy and competent Agent Lana Kane, who also works for ISIS . . . and is Sterling Archer's embittered ex. Archer himself, if he completes a mission, it's more as a result of sheer coincidence than anything else, because although he's highly trained and dangerous, he's as much a danger to himself and his allies as he is to his enemies. And the rest of the ISIS crew are even worse.

Malory Archer runs the agency, but only when it can fit into her busy schedule of binge-drinking, seducing men, and one-upping her neighbours. Malory's PA, Cheryl (Or is it Carol? Or Cristal? Or Carine? Whatever.) has an unhealthy fixation on Archer, as well as an unhealthy attitude towards love in general. The Head of Human Resources, Pam, takes a deep interest in the staff of ISIS and listens to all their problems, which then become workplace gossip within seconds. Cyril, the nerdy comptroller for ISIS, drives the other characters crazy with his neuroses and interpersonal relationships. Dr. Krieger, the gadget-man, is Just Plain WEIRD. And the guys in the Ops Center are uninterested and distracted at best, downright snarky at worst, which is kind of a drawback when you're in the middle of a firefight and need extraction. Whether they're fighting bad guys, competing agents, or each other, the ISIS crew will get the job done. Eventually. With lots of collateral damage and injuries.

Ten episodes (spread over two discs) filled with high-risk missions, sex, office politics, sex, explosions, weird sex, shocking secrets and awkward moments, the laughs come at you at a fast and furious pace. Bonus features include an unaired promo, deleted scenes, a behind-the-scenes Making Of featurette, and the "Original Unaired Pilot" episode, starring one of the best animated cartoon dinosaurs I have ever seen. (I recommend watching that one last.) While it's true that repeated viewings may lessen the shock value of some of the laughs, you may catch things you missed the first time around. Unless you have an eidetic memory, and give plenty of time between repeated viewings, you should still get very good laugh value from this set.

Espionage. Murder. Sex. Comedy. Stuff blowing up. And a dinosaur. Can it get any better than this? Probably . . . but not by much.
22 Comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 February 2015
This has some of the absurdist, insane feel of 'Sealab' or 'Venture Brothers', but also grounds it in richer characters.

By nature, this kind of wild, raunchy, ribald, gross, un-PC, very clever joke-a-second romp is going to be a hit or miss affair, but the batting average in 'Archer' is surprisingly high, and a lot of the wordplay is really sharp.

The show grows each season, getting ever funnier, and having the characters and situations branch out in some great unexpected ways. From what started out in season 1 feeling like it would be a one joke idea that would quickly wear out, this somehow found a way to transcend and use the audience familiarity with the characters not to just repeat the same jokes, but to walk a great tightrope of giving what is expected, but then finding a way to just push it one step further.

Another big plus here is the voice acting. The whole cast is terrific, as are the many guest stars that show up. The fun they all seem to be having doing the show is infectious, and they manage to give their characters a surprising amount of range. Special credit has to be given to H. Jon Benjamin, along with the writers, for making the egotistical idiot of a lead not only very funny, but somehow also likable enough that he never wears out his welcome.

If you like animated insanity, this is very much worth checking out to see if it's for you, and hanging in past some of the slightly weaker early episodes where the show was just finding its way.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2011
I was hesitant to watch Archer to begin with - spy shows/movies aren't my bag. Eventually though, despairing with the poor quality shows airing right now - I gave it a go, and I'm so glad I did. Archer is without a doubt one of the funniest shows on television today, and it gets better as it goes on.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2016
Not for me, watched a couple of episodes and thought it was rubbish
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 30 October 2011
You know, I don't normally put my review titles in all caps. But what can I say? This show is... well, BRILLIANT! I've always thought that there are far, far too many five star reviews here on amazon. But if there ever was a show that genuinely deserved a rave, this is it.

Archer is a wonderfully absurdist frolic for strictly adult audiences. Fundamentally this show is a giant spoof of 1960s spy thrillers; a spoof made for decidedly 21st century sensibilities. It's the show Get Smart would have been had all the characters been perpetually high on crystal meth.

In fact, the characters on Archer are all selfish, petty, and utterly and completely venal: the three great ingredients from which comedy is made. They seem to think and act more like deranged adolescents than grown-ups. Deranged adolescents with access to firearms. Add all this together and you get some idea of the flavor of the show. Archer is very much in the spirit of the original Williams Street adult swim cartoons, but is never merely derivative of them. Which of course is exactly what you'd expect, given that this show is produced by Adam Reed, whose previous producing and directing credits include both Sealab 2021 and Frisky Dingo. Indeed, Reed's voice credits go all the way back to the original Space Ghost Coast to Coast.

But while a similar sense of humor can be found throughout, Archer definitely has a flair all of its own. Visually it has kind of a pseudo-realist "ligne claire" (clear line) style that matches perfectly with the creatively anachronistic world the characters inhabit. Cell phones and other contemporary technologies may abound, but jet-age fashions still prevail, and the KGB and the Soviet Union remain major adversaries.

But the first thing long time hard core animation fans will notice is that voice of H. Jon Benjamin brings its own uniquely laconic comic genius to the title role of "Archer" himself. Many of us remember Benjamin best as Coach from Home Movies. Others may recognize his voice from various bit parts in Family Guy and the Venture Bros.. But wherever you know him from, I for one am overjoyed that a suitable vehicle has finally been found for this great talent.

Better yet, Benjamin is complemented by scarcely lesser talents such as Aisha Tyler, a standup comedian who plays Lana Kane, another top operative at the same spy agency; and Jessica Walter, who plays the head of the agency - who also just happens to be Archer's mother. However, I should stress that this rather unusual combination of relationships is never reduced to mere sit-com hijinx. Archer is the kind of show were things get genuinely disturbing. In fact, this is one of those rare shows where the entire cast is incredibly strong - and backed up by an equally strong writing team, too.

What more can I say? See it!

Theo.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2012
I'd never seen the episodes before getting the DVD. I'm glad I bought it. Each episode is funny, the characters are great and very odd. Lots of catchphrases. Some very original comedy and settings.

Three things to note. First, yes, as another reviewer said, the format is Region 2 NTSC. Beware if you don't have the equipment to watch that. At least the NTSC format doesn't seem to have affected the picture quality - which looks fine in upscaled 1080p on my set-up.

Second, there are only 10 episodes, 20 minutes each. So it's a rather short burst of fun for the price. The extras are also minimal - and the 'pilot' with a raptor as Archer is bizarre after a few minutes, to my taste, albeit funny for the first few minutes.

Third, there is a Blu-ray available of Season 1. But it's Region A locked so not playable in the UK for most people. A real shame.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2012
You'll know within 30 seconds whether 'Archer' is the kind of show for you. I fell in love with it instantly, to the point where I was so frustrated with Five's constant boast that 'Archer' is apparently a flagship show, despite the fact that they broadcast it less often than Halley's Comet turns up, that I decided to buy season one. I had intended to wait for the blu ray, which is surely due soon, but was happy to watch both discs over the course of two days.

Notwithstanding the three mutual cast members, references to 'Arrested Development' are very appropriate since if you enjoy the quirky humour of one you're more than likely to 'get' the other.

My only complaint about the DVD would be that the 'Archersaurus' episode on 'Extras' is stupid and pointless, but that in no way detracts from the regular episodes, which consistently had me helpless with laughter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)