Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
19
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 April 2017
Very happy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2015
Great series of books, easy to read, well written books with always some great adventure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
Working my way through the series. Great book again and vivid descriptions
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2014
Good all round read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2006
This is the second in the Ramage series (see my review of _Ramage_). It's even better than the first. Pope is a fine writer and keeps the pace moving along at a good clip--easy to read. Ramage has a series of adventures and finally plays a major part in the Battle of Cape St. Vincent. The real joy in these books is following Ramage's thought processes to solve the predicament he's in. Pope never gives it away, though, and the reader has to guess (just as the crew does!) at his plans. It's like reading a mystery novel. It's all good fun!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2012
A interesting introduction to the lives of sailors during the latter part of the seveneeth century and the early years of the eighteenth. A time when our wooden, "square rigged" navy was simultaneously fighting against a varying number of foreign enemies and doing so throughout many parts id the world. Creating "the wooden walls of England" it was often little more than a political pawn on a wider stage but yet managed to shape the nation for many years to come. In discovering the hardy lifestyles and tribulations of these brave and long suffering men this book forms a ready source for adventure tales of all types while still possessing historic accuracy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
Over the last 20 years or so i must have read most if not all of Dudley pope's Ramage and Ned Yorke books several times, and i always enjoy re-reading them, now of cause we can get the in the Kindle format which is good because unlike ordinary books they will not deteriorate with age.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
Here is an author who knows his subject inside out plus he is a gifted story-teller. Skilfully weaving fact and fiction the reader is drawn into 18th century naval adventures so real that it seems we are there beside Ramage as he fulfils his destiny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
brilliant writing, the descriptions of the seamanship required for these vessels is enthralling.
Storylines captivating and unexpected twists make it hard to put down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
My Husband liked to read this book he likes the era in which it was portrayed I will certainly purchase some more of the same genre in the near future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here