Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now



TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 July 2008
It isn't just the haunting quality of Billie Holiday's voice that captivates the listener, but the unique way she manoeuvred it between and around the written notes in a way that gave an added dimension to everything she sang, whilst respecting the songwriter's intentions. So it is here, in these late recordings, made less than eighteen months before her untimely death. It's short measure, but 45 minutes was fairly standard for an LP when these tracks were recorded, and what could you add that would not detract from what is here? Of course the voice is not the glorious instrument it once was, but to criticise these recordings for that decline is to miss the point. Here was a supreme artist, singing with a degree of poignancy it would be hard to surpass. It's part of her canon, and deserves its place in any collection worthy of the name.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 February 2014
This is one of Billie's later albums - it's not her greatest, but it is great nevertheless.

Her voice is older, wiser but still very moving. There was a beauty in her singing which comes through in these songs. Gorgeous renditions by an extraordinary talent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 February 2014
This is one of Billie's later albums - it's not her greatest, but it is great nevertheless.

Her voice is older, wiser but still very moving. There was a beauty in her singing which comes through in these songs. Gorgeous renditions by an extraordinary talent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 February 2014
This is one of Billie's later albums - it's not her greatest, but it is great nevertheless.

Her voice is older, wiser but still very moving. There was a beauty in her singing which comes through in these songs. Gorgeous renditions by an extraordinary talent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2001
Lady Day sings from the soul on this album, I have many Billie Holiday albums, but this is simply exceptional, with full orchestral support Miss Holiday pours out her soul through her voice on this album, you can feel the emotion and sadness in her voice, along with some "outtake" bonus tracks in which you can get a real feel for her mood, it makes this an album not to have missing from your Billie Holiday collection...buy it now !!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2017
One of her best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 October 2017
Wonderful album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2003
AS nearly everybody sees fit to note Billie Holiday's voice on this her favourite recording was not 'what it used to be'... However personally, this is exactly what makes this my favourite of all her albums.
There are those who want us to believe that they 'know' beauty... that it lies in some kind of technical proficiency, in hitting all the right notes or or in some kind of vocal dexterity (although one would have presumed that Ms Carey and Ms Dion had proven this to be false beyond all scientific reason?!)... they maintain that lists can be made that objectively rank the beauty of this or that song or artwork, and that on some objective level this Billie Holiday album can be dismissed as one of those unfortunate anticlimaxes to a legendary career.
If however you believe that beauty is ultimately in the ear of the listener and not purely in the inanimate object... if you believe it is the unclassifiable product of the rapport and intimacy that builds up between the mood of the listener and the mood and tone of the artist... if you believe the beauty of a song to be dependant on an unlimited number of variables such as: mood, location, memory etc... then you may find as many others have that 'Lady in Satin' provides a fitting finale to one of the most intriguing figures in 20th century music.
If you want vocal dexterity above all else then maybe you should go for one of Billie Holiday's earlier collections.. if however you think you may want to hear Lady Day wistfully croak twelve wonderful melodies (yes croak - after all Louis Armstrong croaked some of the most beautiful sounds every known!!), then purchase this album, go straight to song three (my personal fav) and sit back and get to know a whole new Billie and a whole new world...
33 Comments| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2007
Her finest hour ? No I don`t think so but a great great album . It makes me cry but I may be crying for me , she does that to you . The greatest female artist of any genre ever .
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2014
It is useless to attempt a review of these sublime performances
You either dig jazz and revel in its many different forms or you do not.
It has been said if you need an explanation of jazz then you do not dig and never will.
I consider myself fortunate to have been born when I was and to be gifted unforgettable performances such as these.
A tribute to the songwriters art,the recording technicians skill,the arrangers understanding and the ability to interpret a lyric.
Billie Holiday was a towering giant and these performances unique in her stunning catalog.
This reissue is as fine an issue of the material as we are ever going to see and Columbia Legacy deserve our thanks
I have grown up through records on 78rpm shellac through vinyl LP's Mp3 files and digital downloads.
I can remember when this material was first issued it was hard to come by and expensive.
I have worn out, loaned, argued over copies of the material countless times over the years.
I never tire of it and never will.
Nothing remotely like it was attempted before or has been equaled since.
Now the C/D can be purchased for less than a fiver but the performances shimmer now as they did way back then.
They will be played thought about argued over and enjoyed for as long as music lives
Billie Holiday has enriched my life and I for one and am grateful for the privilege
Buy the disc listen and offer Billie Holiday the homage she deserves
Keith
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)