Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

2.9 out of 5 stars
10
2.9 out of 5 stars
Stabat Mater - A Tribute to Pergolesi
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 12 April 2013
Antonio Pappano (conductor) has come up with a very original interpretation of Pergolesi's "Stabat Mater" and other pieces. It has something in common with many other contemporary interpretations of various works in that it can be "love it" or "hate it". Being quite different to recent historically informed performances of baroque music, it is not going to please a number of people. On the other hand, it is a perfectly valid interpretation. To my ears, it has a lot of the drama of verismo together with some baroque fireworks. Heard in those terms, both the singing and playing are exquisite. Quite clearly, Pergolesi would not have intended it to be performed that way - he wouldn't have had the instruments, the singers or the approval of the Church! We are fortunate to be living in a time when there is nothing wrong with interpreting sacred music in this way. It conjures up the sort of emotions Mary would have felt watching her Son being nailed to a cross just as well as a good HIP recording, possibly better to ears not tuned to baroque.

If you are looking for a conventional (by recent standards) recording of Pergolesi's "Stabaat Mater", then look elsewhere. If you are an ardent fan of HIP baroque, you are likely to already have such a recording, but you may also like this one in your collection as a completely different and worthy take on it. If you are a fan of Anna Netrebko, this should not disappoint as long as you are not expecting her to sing in the manner of specialist baroque singers.

Although it's a five star product for me, I've awarded it four stars so as to draw attention to there being issues that potential buyers should be aware of.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2011
Russian soprano Anna Netrebko specialised in Italian repertoire, especially bel canto, these last 5 years.
This is her first attempt at Baroque, in a much recorded and well-known sacred work of Pergolesi's Stabat Mater as the major piece.
The impression, however, is that she has not been able to grasp the musical style of post-Renaissance Italian composers' sacred repertoire.
The melo-dramatic approach to a profound work of the genre of Stabat Mater by Netrebko here is totally inapt, and musically quite disastrous.
The ensemble work with Pizzolato is also mediocre. One wonders why Elina Garanca was not chosen to partner Netrebko in this piece.
This is the second-in-a-row 'disaster' of the Pappano-Netrebko partnership following the Rossini Stabat Mater.
Surely, Netrebko is no 'sacred' singer in the like of Cecilia Bartoli. Her inability to control the musical line in a way that conveys the religious sentiment of the piece shows up the stylistic limits of her artistry.
55 Comments| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2011
This is the most awful performance I have heard (and I've heard a lot!) of this famous Pergolesi's work. Even 1 star rating is too much for it. From every point of view (soloists, way of singing, direction) it is horrible and disappointing. Netrebko's voice is absolutely not suited for this kind of music, and she lacks also the other necessary qualities to perform it. It is a torment listening to her here. The other singer is quite the same.
This is not a tribute but an offence to Pergolesi. If he could here this performance he would probably regret having composed this piece.
Fortunately I haven't bought this disc and I do advise you as well - don't waste your money on it, since there are renditions of this work that sound much better.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2011
This is one of the most beautiful pieces of music ever written and unfotunately Netrebko just doesn't know how to treat it. This music requires a pure sound - something that this paring just don't have. There are nasal qualities which make the hairs stand up on the back of your neck (and not for a good reason). You can't blame them for wanting to sing such a wonderful work but if you're looking for a beautiful recording of this I suggest buying Emma Kirkby and James Bowman's 1998 Decca version. Stick to Opera ladies...
22 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2011
I thought that this cd (I bought the prestige version) with dvd extra was just wonderful. The blend of the two voices was very close and Antonio Pappano conducts with his usual elegance and insight. Anna Netrebko seems very comfortable with this early music. The Italian contralto, Marianna Pizzolato is very much "in the zone" with this gorgeous music also and the pieces which accompany the famous Stabat Mater are very well-chosen. A great cd.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2011
What have Pappano done!
This is chocolate pudding with custard and double cream and has nothing to do with Pergolesi.
If you want a good recording then please get Emma Kirkby Soprano, James Bowman Counter-tenor, Academy of Ancient Music with Christopher Hogwood Director/Keyboard is far better and at least you have singers/musicians here that understands what this is all about.
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2011
This music just is not for Anna Netrebko. She sings as if she was singing 19th Century Italian opera and does not anywhere catch the feeling of what is Baroque religious music. I admire her greatly when she sings repertoire suited to her, but this isn't it. I agree with another commentator who remarked that the recording was an artistic mistake for the singer(s) and the conductor, though to be fair some of Marianna Pizzolata's singing is well done. This is a recording that trades very much on Anna Netrebko's name and no doubt it will sell well for that reason, but my advice would be to give it a miss.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2011
I am sorry but I do not agree about another criticism. I think that "Pergolesi's Stabat Mater" is great. It is a fantastic work. Simply buy It and enjoy a lot.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2011
I think they sang it well.
The Netrebko is very good and without too much personal deviations.
This CD is good value for money.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2011
This is a real nice work. Fantastic sing. Forget another reviews because that are simply bla, bla, bla. Pure elbowache.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)