Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
35
4.5 out of 5 stars
Body Talk
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 11 May 2017
Although I new I bought a used CD, I was not expecting a copy of the original.
Robyn is exceptional though!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2017
Great cd - great voice & recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2017
Quick delivery and a very reliable seller great cd just what I expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2010
Body Talk [Explicit]
Body Talk is the final part of Robyn's 'Body Talk' project. Part 1 and 2 offered new songs in sometimes lovely, simple acoustic settings - amidst some great beats - which have now re-appeared emboldened as much bigger, fully electronic/pop songs. She made the earlier versions while out on the road.

What a fantastic collection of tunes she has amassed here. In the spirit of Blondie, Pet Shop Boys, LCD, Giorgio Moroder, Kylie and Kraftkwerk this album sounds like a greatest hits because so many of the tunes genuinely hit it. I like pop music with an edge; brilliantly catchy but subversive. The delicate/hardcore, heartfelt words and melodies are best heard on Dancing On My Own, Indestructible, Love Kills (not the Freddie Mercury song), Hang With Me and None Of Dem - and they sound really good loud.

It's a real shame Robyn isn't as big as should she be; this album is class. If you enjoy edgy, intelligent pop music and haven't heard this yet, give it a go.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2011
"Bodytalk" by Robyn is a very exciting and catchy cd that has many high-energy songs that cover the various facets of relationships and having fun. What is great about this cd is that Robyn carefully put musical tracks that covered various facets of what can happen in life. For example, Robyn sings about keeping her guard up, and only revealing herself to the one special "nice" person in the edgy ballad that is "Indestructible". "Time Machine" appears to be about her coming to terms with her past and present in assisting her in becoming wiser. "We Dance to The Beat", "Dancehall Queen," and "Stars 4-Ever" appear to be about having fun and making the most of life. "Get Myself Together" is also a great song about striving to create more harmony, balance, and fullfillment in one's life. "Stars 4-Ever" really stood out for me, but all of her other songs on this compilation are very well-put together as well. Robyn creatively projects a strong and powerful spirit in many of her songs. It is my humble opinion that Robyn's Bodytalk cd symbolizes the creative musical growth that she has achieved since her 1990's musical days of "Do You Know (What it Takes)," and "Do You Really Want Me (Show Respect). Please understand that I do think positively of her two well known 90's songs, but this "Bodytalk" compilation showcases her talent even more. Robyn's "Bodytalk" compilation is very much recommended if you enjoy high-energy dance/pop music of a musician who projects much creativity and personal power.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2010
I only just got part 1 and 2 of body talk,thankfully only £5 each,and now having heard the sumptuous electro disco of the new version of Indestructible the only course of action that makes sense is to get this album.I don't mind so much as long as Robyn gets the money.
Watching the video to Dancing on My Own reminds me how great dark clubs can be,bopping away in your own little corner,I miss it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2010
Well, crazy times for Robyn. She released two short if not slightly rushed albums and then combined them both and added a few new songs, all in the space of a year! The good news is that it paid off, the last Body Talk offering is clearly the best. It contains the strongest songs from both previous albums plus a selection of new songs. It plays like a greatest hits collection as you will be familiar with most of the songs and most of them would be strong enough to be a single.

The new songs such as Stars 4eva and Time Machine are an excellent addition and really improve the quality of the album as a whole. This is Robyn's strongest work to date as she ventures more and more into the electro-pop-dance world. A few of the tracks are reminiscent of a soundtrack from the numerous 80's scifi shows (but with a heavier bass obviously).

All in all worth the money as it plays like a dream. My favourite album of the year. If you own the other two Body Talk albums then perhaps just download the new songs as it seems a bit excessive to have several copies of the same tracks. If you have yet to purchase any Body Talk material then look no further. Get downloading! May Robyn rule for many years to come!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2011
Having only heard one track, Indestructible, I was somewhat apprehensive about getting the album - what if I didn't like any other tracks (it has happened)? I needn't have worried practically every track is good and some are truly exceptional. Time Machine & Stars 4-Ever are two I could, and often do, listen to over and over again. I'm still not comfortable with the swearing, although I do still listen to the two tracks where it features they aren't my favourites. But, with thirteen other thumpingly good tracks to choose from I'm pleased I took a chance on this one.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 June 2011
Something quite remarkable happened last year. A Swedish electronic dance artist by the name of Robyn released three CD's. Ok, so this one - the third one, is a compilation of the first two but with new and added tracks. Little matter because all three are truly wonderful CD's. It is reminiscent of Madonna, circa Ray of Light or Music. Tracks such as Dancing on My Own, Hang With Me and Indestructable are reminders of how wonderful a 3 minute pop song can be. Although I still prefer the acoustic version of Indestructable from volume two.
Lyrics could be a complaint for some. Maybe they can be a little childish. But the sheer delight of hearing pop done so well is enough. If there was justice Robyn would be a world wide superstar.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2011
"Body Talk" is Robyn's fifth full length studio album and contains songs from Body Talk Parts 1 and 2 as well as some new tracks. The main theme for the album is dance music, but there are also some pop songs here. As a whole, the album works well and is just as good as her previous work on her self-titled fourth album "Robyn".

The album starts off with one of the highlights "Fembot", a great catchy pop song with an infectious hook. One of the new songs and third single "Indestructible" is probably one of the best dance tracks I have heard for a while, followed closely by "Stars 4 Ever", another great dance track. Other highlights include the two singles "Dancing On My Own" and "Hang With Me", as well as "Get Myself Together" and the catchy reggae influenced track "Dancehall Queen" which adds some well needed diversity to the album.

And that is the only slight flaw with this release. Some of the songs can sound a little repetitive and monotonous, such as "Love Kills" and the fourth single "Call Your Girlfriend", as most of the tracks are dance tracks. Robyn is a very versatile artist and sounds really great accompanied by a simple piano backing as demonstrated on live performances of "Be Mine" which you can watch on Youtube (as well as other stripped apart versions of some of her other songs). It would have been perfect if she had included some ballads here. Hopefully this is something that she will consider for future releases, but in the meantime, this will do just fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse