Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
117
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£6.66+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 March 2011
considering this entire film is shot in a box with only one actor it is actually quite good. It keeps you watching and becomes quite tense at times especially at the end. You feel for the truck driver, kidnapped and buried alive in a box.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2016
shocking and surprizing right till the end
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2011
Ryan Reynolds is perfect as the contractor who awakens to find himself buried within a cramped coffin. It has to be a great director (Rodrigo Cortes) who can maintain the audience's attention while making a film that truly is fresh and relentless. It reminded me of some of the old Hitchcock films. And yes, there is a twist at the end that makes it truly compelling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2011
This is a film that is far too in love with its own cynicism. That causes two major problems, but first, the good things, which others have touched on;

The script is, by and large, pretty good.
There is a VERY tense atmosphere.
The lead and solo [visible] actor is excellent.

BUT...the film doesn't want to you to feel good about anything. Anything at all. Our hero, Paul, phones several people. He's constantly put on hold. Whilst this adds to the tension, it soon becomes clear that rather than using a jaded worldview to create dramatic effect, the writer is more interested in making his character suffer because he can't think of something else to do.

So enter the plot holes: we are presented with some incongruities that never amount to anything;

-A woman mad at Paul...though we never find out why, making his angry outburst totally unsympathetic.
-A woman knowing Paul's name then pausing dramatically before telling him HOW she knew it, making you suspect something is wrong.
-The counter-hostage guy man acting very suspiciously on the phone, again leading you to think that something larger and more devious is happening.
-A video of a fellow hostage (NOT buried, by the way) who is killed. Yet the story she gives and the story given by the people on the phone don't add up. This too goes nowhere.

And then Dramatic DevelopmentsTM that DO lead to something, namely two F-16's levelling part of the city where Paul is buried. Why are they flattening part of a city? Because the scriptwriter wants the character to suffer, logic be damned.

And so we come to the ending. I could have forgiven the flaws above- even the silly use of a Zippo lighter in an enclosed space that doesn't eat up the air at all- if the ending hadn't been so bad, so WRONG. Rather than amount to anything, even in a tragic or dramatic way that moves the story or your understanding forward, all we learn is that the [END] happens, then the film finishes.

No aftermath, no consequences; just pure, hateful cynicism for it's own unlovely sake. The sake of cheap shock. And that is why I despise this film.

It goes nowhere then stops.
77 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2015
Great item and fast delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
Its really hard to see where the £3 million spent on this went really. Waste of time, money, understanding, energy and most of all becoming pissed off. Movie makes no sense whatsoever. The story line is so blurred that it just does not make it viable for production.
Dont watch this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2011
I was hesitant about this film, i mean how interesting can 1 man in a box be for 90 minutes?? VERY!! Not at all what i expected. twists and turns and very well filmed! Ryan at his best as always! watched it 3 times in 2 days i was gripped! and the last 20mins i was just on the edge of my seat! brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2016
Simply dreadful film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2016
Purchased as a gift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2015
Hot & dark, scary
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)