Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
125
4.4 out of 5 stars
Just Cause 2 - Classics (Xbox 360)
Platform: Xbox 360|Edition: Classics Edition|Change
Price:£15.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERon 4 November 2014
With many Xbox games I buy at the moment, I seem to complete them, get bored and sell them on. But with Just Cause 2, this will definitely be staying in my collection forever.

Having ordered this game back in 2011, I've got to say that this game is still one of my favourite games of all times. Fair enough, the graphics might not be quite as good as some of the more up to date games, but its rare I find a game where 3 years on, I can still get hours of fun out of it.

For me, this is another Grand Theft auto style game, where even when you have completed the main story line, you can keep on playing till your hearts content. There are 100's of different vehicles you can drive, ride and fly all while taking out a few bad guys on the way!

The game involves destroying all government owned property and collecting nearly 10,000 collectables to improve your equipment, vehicles and health so even after 3 years of playing this game, I am no where near 100% completion.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2017
Would truely recomend this game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2011
If you're looking for a cerebral challenge then perhaps this is not the game for you. If however, you just want an open ended shoot em up that can be picked up and played for a few minutes or even a few hours then this may just be it. The basic format is to run around, drive, motorcycle, fly helicopters, and frequently parachute around a large island, shooting at the property and enforcers of a corrupt government. It is 3rd person, rather than an FPS, but this does mean you get a better view of the often incredible carnage caused by your exploits. Missions are available, and require a bit of effort to complete (depending of difficulty level) which add a lot to the open ended nature of the game.

The story is fun and the voice acting often amusing. The main activities involve driving fast and flying, often spectacularly crashing a wide range of vehicles. It's just a shame there's no speedometer or action replay! The option to play 1st person, especially when in vehicles, would be a big enhancement.

DLC is available but sadly there is no multiplayer component. Hopefully this will be considered for Just Cause 3.

Overall it is just a bit of fun but there is more substance than many similar games and if you like the demo then the full game is well worth the price at the time of writing.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2011
Not much to say- an updated version of the last game, more side missions and weapons and fun, better graphics, better vehicles, stunts etc.
Just basically the last game, but a fair bit better. Once you complete the not too long main mission story, you can continue the game, aiming for full completion. there is certainly plenty to do.
I suggest that if you played the last one you go for at least "experienced" difficulty, otherwise there wouldn't be a decent challenge.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2011
The plot is incredibly thin, the grahics are decent but not special, and the whole game seems to lack polish. But for some reason, long after I finished playing other similar games I still keep coming back. Why? A huge map, big explosions, endless mini games... the list goes on. I have had all of the GTA and other similar Rockstar games, as well as Saints Row and lots of others. I haven't played any for as long as this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2011
This is one of the best games i have ever played. Good enough to get to my top 3 with Halo Reach and MW2. The island is amazing and gives you complete freedom to explore or do missions. The altitude limit is also insanely high and the aircraft and vehicles are fun to use. Amazing explosion effects (HD or not). Deffinatly recommend it to anyone looking at the game
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2011
One of the most important aspects of any sandbox game is the freedom it gives you as the player to roam, mess about and cause havoc. With Just Cause 2 , Square Enix basically seems to have looked at this and decided that it will just make that the entire focus of the game. You play 'Scorpio', a predictably tough tough guy who works for 'the Agency' and looks like a grizzled Jake Gyllenhaal (perhaps under the optimistic belief the game will be turned into a movie someday). You are dropped onto a seemingly rather opulent island nation in South East Asia which is ruled by an unpleasant dictator and your brief is to bring about the fall of said dictator or hunt down a rogue agent or something. I can't really remember because, frankly, it doesn't actually matter. After a few intro missions, you are soon let loose to enjoy the true point of the game which is travelling around the truly massive sandbox arena, causing as much havoc as possible.

The storyline is probably one of the weakest aspects of the game. All of it is delivered with awful dialogue and terrible voice acting. The characters turn up, woodenly bellow out their lines in whatever exotic accent they can manage (one actor attempted an enigmatic, softly spoken and dangerous accent one might expect from a South East Asian rebel leader but curiously just sounded vaguely welsh) and then disappear again while Scorpio reacts with utter tough guy amazement at every appallingly predictable revelation. The storyline missions tend to quickly become tedious things which rapidly become chores to be endured to unlock something else rather than something to strive for. Thankfully all these things are either suitably brief or avoidable and you can just focus on messing about.

To make Just Cause 2 different from other sandbox mess-about games, the player comes equipped with a physics-defying grappling hook arm which produces a range of interesting opportunities for mayhem. Using the grappling hook and an endless supply of parachutes, Scorpio can basically hurl himself around the island like Spiderman. Also, like Spiderman, Scorpio can use his grappling hook to inflict interesting punishments and deaths on the endless supply of dictator henchmen. Pull snipers down off high ledges to their deaths or attach annoying elite guards to jet planes just before they take off. There's certainly not an infinite number possibilities but it's a welcome addition to guns, grenades, miniguns and remote explosives.

The game works best in short doses. Despite its gargantuan size, the world can certainly start to feel repetitious. There are no shortages of settlements to disrupt or military bases to systematically destroy (if all else fails, there are the storyline missions) but play for too long and you start to notice the lack of variety. Bases basically consist of the same few things that explode and count towards completion of the base in question. Find and blow up all the things, find all the hidden upgrade crates (which can get tedious), possibly kill a commander and you're done. Settlements are much the same albeit with a different collection of exploding items. The item menus could also have done with better design as they can lead to tedium but ultimately the game remains good fun and well worth the ultra low price you can now pick it up for.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2011
One of the best free roam games i have played.

Positives
- Huge different enviroments to explore.
- over a 100 Vehicles.
- Defying physics.
- lots of Weapons.
- you can move around objects.
- Grappling hook and parachute.
- Huge Map.
-Lots of villanges to take over.

Negatives
- Not a good storyline.
- AIs Are quite stupid.

All together it's an amzing game i recommend this game.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2011
Even though i've only been playing this game for around five days this is my impression of it:
Pros:
HUGE area to explore
Ridiculously fun
A lot of explosions
Can be bought very cheap
A lot of game time
cons:
constantly respawning AI
Story doesn't really take off
Overview:
Thrown into a vast island with no boundries, run riot and cause chaos! A brilliant buy!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2010
Just Cause 2 is by far the best free roaming game I have ever owned. The size of the map is unbelievable meaning the best mode of transport is either extraction or use of the aircraft.

The biggest downside to JC2 is the storyline, the faction missions seem repetitive and the main storyline is short. Also, when doing the main storyline, expect to need a few attempts at, even on the lower difficulties!

Away from the storyline, the game really makes up for it; the graphics are remarkable. the mountains on the game have fantastic texture and the sea is by far the best I have ever seen. The map is split into the snowy mountains, to the rainforests and deserts, all of which are fantastically presented. The full map is playable from the start. As previously said, the aircraft is the best mode of transport, and when flying, the controls feel real! The plane looking similar to the 737 is controlable, where the military jets are less stable (as they are in real life). When looking down when flying the map is awesome, and it feels like you are on a plane with the speed the ground moves.

The game involves destroying all government owned peoperty and collecting nearly 10,000 collectables to improve your equipment, vehicles and health so the chances of 100% completion are pretty small.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 7 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)